NARS • Zen • Blush

rated 4.5(123 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 PreciousCharmer17 on 6/23/2014 9:28:00 AM more reviews by PreciousCharmer17

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE!!!! this blush. I use it for my contouring shade as well as a blush/bronzer. It is absolutely gorgeous!!! It is a matte finish. It doesn't have a bit of any orange in it. It's a true matte medium brown. If I want a heavy contour, I do use a couple of more swatches than I would normally do compared to my bronzing where I only swatch it a few times.

Just so I don't confuse anyone, contouring and bronzing are completely different in my opinion. When you contour, you go for a sharper look to your face..sculpting it and shaping it to your liking...when you bronze, you're going for more a subtle tanned bronzed look to your cheeks...(right above the contour line). Hope this helps.

Anyway back to the product..I love this Zen shade because you can achieve so many looks with just one shade...contour..bronzing..blush..I mean that in itself saves you $$$. Absolutely wonderful color for any season. Def going to buy backups of this just in case NARS has an inkling of discontinuing this beauty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 caitee357 on 5/4/2014 5:29:00 AM more reviews by caitee357

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Absolutely love this, I have very pale neutral toned skin and I use this as my bronzer! Its so underrated

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* squiggles37 on 2/4/2014 5:11:00 PM more reviews by squiggles37

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Love love love. One of my staple blushes that I use almost everyday, even when I'm wearing other blushes. Amazing matte formula (can't wear shimmery shades since my skin's really oily) that acts like a very light bronzer. Gives your skin an overall healthy color (if your idea of healthy is a light tan!). Packaging is secure and comes with a mirror, although if you keep this compact in a dirty bag, the rubberized packaging will pick up all the dusty and random lint particles.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Samdoll on 12/13/2013 6:43:00 AM more reviews by Samdoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in the Adult Content blush palette (which is a palette I highly recommend as it contains essential blush colours for fair-medium tones) and I use it for contouring. It's a good colour for this purpose as it's not too strong yet not too sheer. The colour can be built up for intensity which is good as you'll have less chance of getting too much colour in one swipe. It goes well on my NC25-30 skin with pink or peach blushes and makes my face look even slimmer when used on it's own. The only downside to this is that on some days it doesn't last that long, approximately 4/5 hours. Other than that it's a great contouring shade!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 orderlyfashion on 11/24/2013 10:44:00 AM more reviews by orderlyfashion

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

One of my very favorite blushes! I tend towards colors that have a slightly brown or orange tone, and this fits in perfectly. I like to apply this as any other blush, on the apples of the cheeks sweeping up towards the temples, and then apply just a bit more at the temples besides. The dusty pink-orange undertone makes it work well as blush... it also has a bit of brown, but it's not anywhere near as brown as Nars Laguna or TF Chocolate Soleil (which are my bronzers) and doesn't really create a "tan" look so much as a healthy outdoors-y glow, like I've been hiking in the hills rather than lounging on the beach, if that makes any sense! If I want a touch more color, I like to pop a little bit of Illamasqua's Lover on top... any color that has a warm peach/orange tone matches well.

Of course, like any other Nars blush, it's very pigmented and smooth. I bought mine at beauty.com during one of their 20% sales... having used it at least 2-3x a week for 6 months now, I've hardly made a dent in the pan, so is a good deal for the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kikidi on 4/26/2013 12:33:00 AM more reviews by kikidi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this blush. I was introduced to it by a Nars consultant, saying that it is a great bronzer substitute for my skin tone (olive) and I have been totally hooked since. I use it every day for a natural look, but it's also a great base for gentle sculpting, with a touch of more vibrant blush for the evening.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 feveragnes on 5/19/2012 12:54:00 PM more reviews by feveragnes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

ZEN is a matte muted brown with dirty pink undertones. I use this to contour my face but it's too matte that it doesn't glide on my face very smoothly. Also, it can look a bit muddy and dull if it's overapplied. What's good about it is it never looks orange-y. I don't think I will buy this again with so many other better bronzers in the market. I prefer a bronzer that brings a natural subtle glow to my face.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 THEqu33nb on 5/11/2012 4:20:00 AM more reviews by THEqu33nb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Already Hit pan on my FIRST ZEN purchase!!
THIS IS MY favorite BRONZER EVER! and TRUST ME ive had my share of bronzers...
the color is warm not flat, yet matte.
gives me a healthy warmth to my face.
DOES not irritate my acne prone skin..
I LOVE THIS BRONZEr!
if IT Helps at all.. my skin tone is nc30.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ellenmd on 5/9/2012 12:46:00 AM more reviews by ellenmd

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

The perfect neutral for a fair skinned redhead!! So hard to find brown blushes, but when brown mixes with the pink in our skin you get the perfect, natural flush. This is very light, which is great. I can quickly swish it on for a very natural look and barely have to blend, or I can add a "pop" of a brighter color on the apples of the cheeks. It might look dull on a darker or olive skintone, but if you fit the category described, you will love it!! I can't believe Nars makes such loud colors with rather "descriptive" names, and then makes this perfect little neutral and appropriately names it "ZEN"!! I don't know why Sephora doen't carry it, I got it at Lord and Taylor' s Department Store. They occasionally have 10 -15% off on cosmetics, so I bought a second one long before the first was gone (it is now)! This is the first Nars blush I have tried. I then bought Madly, which they describe as a seashell pink, I think its just a shimmery, muddier version of Zen!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kloud04 on 5/9/2012 12:15:00 AM more reviews by kloud04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I have given up my beloved laguna for this. I have used laguna for years and just decided it was no longer working for me. I just felt like it looked over done and got more orange throughout the day. I decided to try Nars Zen as a bronzer and then apply Nars Gaiety on the apples of my cheeks. I read online that this was a combo being used by Nars or some runway show.... It is a beautiful natural combination that I have been using the past few weeks. Its a very classy look.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Blush products