NYX • Single Eye Shadow - Opal • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(10 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NerdyLibrarianGirl on 7/15/2012 9:03:00 PM more reviews by NerdyLibrarianGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Oh no. Just, no. I had no idea this was like a duochrome, vellux pearl sort of finish, not "frosty" which is the official finish. It does not look it in the pan. I should have read the MUA reviews first. I really, really don't like that type of e/s. It totally has the flash of blue-ish purple. Just awful on me. And I don't normally put too much stock in NYX's colour names, but they were right on the money on this one: picture an opal, and you have this e/s. It reminds me of really old fashioned, dated e/s from another era.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* oscarnabby on 12/8/2010 4:34:00 PM more reviews by oscarnabby

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I adore this eyeshadow in the spring and summer. It's an ethereal sheer white shadow with a lavendar duochrome effect. I've been obsessed with anything opal since my teens, so I had to have this. I don't care how age-inaproppriate it becomes, I will wear this Opal shadow for the rest of my years :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Live4Beauty on 9/22/2010 9:09:00 PM more reviews by Live4Beauty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm so impressed with this product. I had been to every MAC counter in the area, searched eBay, google, everywhere to find MAC's Vellum, which is an icy white color with a blue/lavendar/periwinkle duochrome sheen. I read tons of reviews and luckily my MUA girls never fail to deliver. This is an identical product at a third of the cost. Looks absolutely gorgeous with purple eyeshadows, or alone with black liquid liner. I'm so happy to have found this and I would def repurchase again. If you're like me and usually only buy MAC eyeshadow, this was worth the risk.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Monica368 on 4/23/2008 3:44:00 PM more reviews by Monica368

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This was really dusty. It was just 'ok' for me. Probably wouldnt buy it again as it was far to dusty and did not stay put.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sparky17 on 12/9/2007 3:11:00 PM more reviews by sparky17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This applied sheer but I could build up the color. It had that 'holographic' effect to it, which was kind of neat...not quite metallic, not quite irridescent. It's cool stuff. This came in a kit with a very wearable stone color and 'Luster,' an olive green.
It looks lovely on it's own, but my preference is to use it as a highlighter on brow bones and inner corners along with the other colors in the kit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* keahi on 4/1/2007 4:28:00 PM more reviews by keahi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely shadow! This is exactly like Mac's Frozen White pigment in my opinion. Opal is a highly pigmented white shade that flashes bluish lavendar. I use this with nearly all my lavendar/ purple & gray eyeshadows. Now that I've discovered this, I doubt I will ever buy Frozen White pigment again. Retails for $5.00 at NYXCosmetics.com

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jananaz on 4/18/2006 10:42:00 PM more reviews by jananaz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Gorgeous gorgeous. Scored this for $5.99 at the local SDM... wish they carried more MYX stuff. This shade is a frosty white with a bluish silver sheen (like MAC's Pink Opal pigment which is white and shines pink-gold). Other reviewers compared it to MAC Vellum, which I haven't tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Auryane on 2/23/2006 9:11:00 PM more reviews by Auryane

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. Opal is a dead-ringer for MAC's vellum...it's basically a white (but sheer enough to be used easily) color that flashes blue/lavender. Very pretty paired with either blues, grey, or black colors...I like this with MAC't tilt and Knight Divine. Useful color...and quite unique

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SunsetRodeo on 5/8/2005 12:04:00 AM more reviews by SunsetRodeo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

Opal is a very nice off-white "opal" shade with iridescent lavender and blue shimmer. Soooo pretty! Great as a base and highlight shade, this looks hot paired with the 2 it comes with in the trio: Luster and Platinum Silver. As usual, NYX quality is exceptional for the price: pigmented, long-lasting, no creasing, soft texture. I love NYX!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sugarmartini on 7/15/2004 9:05:00 PM more reviews by sugarmartini

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a dusty white indeed. It's a great color to cover the entire lid, maybe as a base and work the drama with other colors.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products