NYX Single Eye Shadow - Opal

4.2

10 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Oh no. Just, no. I had no idea this was like a duochrome, vellux pearl sort of finish, not "frosty" which is the official finish. It does not look it in the pan. I should have read the MUA reviews first. I really, really don't like that type of e/s. It totally has the flash of blue-ish purple. Just awful on me. And I don't normally put too much stock in NYX's colour names, but they were right on the money on this one: picture an opal, and you have this e/s. It reminds me of really old fashioned, dated e/s from another era.



on 12/8/2010 4:34:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I adore this eyeshadow in the spring and summer. It's an ethereal sheer white shadow with a lavendar duochrome effect. I've been obsessed with anything opal since my teens, so I had to have this. I don't care how age-inaproppriate it becomes, I will wear this Opal shadow for the rest of my years :)


on 9/22/2010 9:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm so impressed with this product. I had been to every MAC counter in the area, searched eBay, google, everywhere to find MAC's Vellum, which is an icy white color with a blue/lavendar/periwinkle duochrome sheen. I read tons of reviews and luckily my MUA girls never fail to deliver. This is an identical product at a third of the cost. Looks absolutely gorgeous with purple eyeshadows, or alone with black liquid liner. I'm so happy to have found this and I would def repurchase again. If you're like me and usually only buy MAC eyeshadow, this was worth the risk.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/23/2008 3:44:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This was really dusty. It was just 'ok' for me. Probably wouldnt buy it again as it was far to dusty and did not stay put.


on 12/9/2007 3:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This applied sheer but I could build up the color. It had that 'holographic' effect to it, which was kind of neat...not quite metallic, not quite irridescent. It's cool stuff. This came in a kit with a very wearable stone color and 'Luster,' an olive green.
It looks lovely on it's own, but my preference is to use it as a highlighter on brow bones and inner corners along with the other colors in the kit.


on 4/1/2007 4:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Lovely shadow! This is exactly like Mac's Frozen White pigment in my opinion. Opal is a highly pigmented white shade that flashes bluish lavendar. I use this with nearly all my lavendar/ purple & gray eyeshadows. Now that I've discovered this, I doubt I will ever buy Frozen White pigment again. Retails for $5.00 at NYXCosmetics.com

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/18/2006 10:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

Gorgeous gorgeous. Scored this for $5.99 at the local SDM... wish they carried more MYX stuff. This shade is a frosty white with a bluish silver sheen (like MAC's Pink Opal pigment which is white and shines pink-gold). Other reviewers compared it to MAC Vellum, which I haven't tried.


on 2/23/2006 9:11:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't believe I haven't reviewed this yet. Opal is a dead-ringer for MAC's vellum...it's basically a white (but sheer enough to be used easily) color that flashes blue/lavender. Very pretty paired with either blues, grey, or black colors...I like this with MAC't tilt and Knight Divine. Useful color...and quite unique

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/8/2005 12:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Opal is a very nice off-white "opal" shade with iridescent lavender and blue shimmer. Soooo pretty! Great as a base and highlight shade, this looks hot paired with the 2 it comes with in the trio: Luster and Platinum Silver. As usual, NYX quality is exceptional for the price: pigmented, long-lasting, no creasing, soft texture. I love NYX!


on 7/15/2004 9:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a dusty white indeed. It's a great color to cover the entire lid, maybe as a base and work the drama with other colors.


Top Rated NYX Products

image

Black

191 reviews
Back to Top