Avene extremely gentle cleanser

3.7

110 reviews

68% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Avene Thermal Spring Water, Cetearyl Alcohol, Serine, Cetrimonium Bromide, Coco Glucoside, Dipotassium Phosphate, Disodium EDTA, Disodium Phosphate, 0 Phenylphenol, Sodium Cetearyl Sulfate, Water


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to like this product because everything with it sounds so nice but unfortunately this is not good for my skin. I have very sensitive combination skin, prone for dryness and prone for clogged pores and pimples. So i need something that balances my skin and also is good for sensitivity but this cleanser make me so dry and it stings.. It's a bummer.

I don't use water when i remove my makeup because water makes me even more dry. So what i do is that i massage the cleanser all over my face (not the eye-area, i use another cleanser for my eye-makeup) and take a dry cottonpad and wipe it of, i do this twice and with the second cleanse i carefully massage my face to get rid of all makeup. This works fine, it's not the most effective cleanser. Everything feels good but after a minute or so my face starts to become really dry and flakey...

I really like Avene and my skin also like Avene but not this cleanser, fortunately they have a lot more cleanser that i can try for my very difficult skin!



on 8/26/2014 5:52:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have dry, eczema sensitive skin so this should be perfect for me, but it isn't. I tried it out for a few weeks and I noticed my skin getting dry and flaky, after reading the ingredients I noticed that it contains "sodium lauryl sulfate". SLS can cause contact dermatitis and aggravate eczema by weakening the oily barrier on the skin. I already have dry skin and need all the oil in the world to keep my skin looking nice, the dryer it gets the more chance I have that my eczema will flare up, and as most with eczema now it can take a long time to get it under control again! I keep buying Avene but I have to remind myself not to do it anymore because my skin seems to not like there products very much!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/9/2014 4:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I mainly use oil/balm cleansers for removing makeup and cleansing at the end of the day, but I wanted a more gentle morning cleanser and something that was lighter.

I've been pleasantly surprised by this cleanser - on days when I've used it in the evening, it removes make up extremely well, even mascara and eyeliner. Sometimes giving better results than the oil based cleansers.

After massaging it all over my face, I prefer to remove it with a washcloth and water (rather than as directed to tissue the product off), and my skin is always left feeling clean, fresh and soft but never dry or stripped.

I don't notice any fragrance and the texture is more of a lotion than a cream.

I would happily purchase this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/5/2014 6:34:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

I bought this after seeing lots of YouTubers rave about it. My skin has got more sensitive over the years and I am trying to use skincare products that will not irritate my skin, which this one doesn't.

When I first opened this product I was worried because it smelt very strongly of soap and I know soap based cleansers tend to leave my skin irritated and dry. However when I dispensed the liquid I found it to be much more fluid than I was expecting. I thought it would be like a cream but it is much more runny. I do not use it as directed, instead of applying to skin and tissuing off (which I always thought was a faff). I apply a small layer, massage in and rinse off with a flannel or muslin cloth. I then repeat the process and my skin feels fresh and cleansed without being dried out. I find this cleanser definitely leaves a residue so my advice is to always wash it off.

The only things I don't like about this cleanser are the price and the fact that it isn't more widely available. I paid £8 for this product which isn't ridiculously expensive but I don't know if it's worth that amount, about £5 would be the right price in my head. Also, I found this quite hard to find in my local stores. I find that smaller Boots don't stock this so I have to go to a larger store or buy online.

Overall, I was very impressed with this. I'm not sure if I would repurchase it straight away because I like to try new products but I probably would return to it as it hasn't irritated my skin. It has also made me want to try more Avene products!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/1/2014 4:21:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm on my second bottle of extremely gentle cleanser and I must admit, my skin has never been more beautiful. The most important tip that the SA gave me was to STOP using tap water on my face. I used the Avene water initially after wiping off the cleanser with a cotton pad. Now I use Evian mist as it's cheaper but with the same result. Just mist on the water after wiping off the cleanser and either leave it on your face or wipe that off too. I don't even need to use a lotion on my face at night anymore and my face use to be so dry I'd put Vaseline on it to keep it from itching and flaking. This is a great product but I suspect not using tap water on my face has helped enormously.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/22/2014 10:51:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this cleanser for a couple of months now, so I think I've given it enough of a test to decide that I really, really like it.
I first bought it because my skin had been hyper-sensitised by use of Retin-A and illness and was dry, flaky and sore around my nose and mouth. I was doubtful at first that a no-rinse cleanser would both remove all my makeup and not leave a film on my skin but I was desperate to find something gentle and the bottle promised that this would be gentle.

I was amazed by how efficiently this removed makeup, even tenacious eye makeup! I use approximately a tablespoon of cleanser, rub it into my face with my hands, wipe off with cotton pads, then rinse. I occasionally follow up with Avene thermal water, but most of the time I just apply my Retin-A or a moisturiser. My skin is clean (I've tested it with Avene's Micellar cleanser to see if any makeup is left after cleansing and there is none! My skin also feels fresh, soft and there is no discernible residue or filmy feeling like there can be with cream cleansers.

I'm now on my second bottle of the Extremely Gentle Cleanser and my skin is very happy. Much more balanced, soft and I have far fewer breakouts than I did before. This has enabled me to cut down on the frequency of my Retin-A use, which means my skin has become less sensitive. This cleanser has been a great find for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Terrible ,terrible and terrible product,doesn't remove anything,leaves residue,burns my skin...I wish I had never bought it,even nivea cleansers are much better,it's extra gentle but burns my skin more than classic cleansers.


on 5/9/2014 6:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

In Spring time my skin got very sensitive so I tried using this Avene cleanser. Surprisingly even if I had to rub my eyes (to remove eye make - up) it did not irritate my skin.
However I noticed that my pores got bigger (although my skin is dry and I rarely can even see my pores :)
This product might be good as an emergency treatment but I dont see myself commiting to it longterm :)


on 4/24/2014 12:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I bought this cleanser because last two cleansers I bought (cerave and triderma cleansers) gave me a horrible rash and I had to get a steroid shot and pills. It is a great cleanser. Leaves your skin feeling clean and fresh and more importantly I did not have a bad reaction. Highly recommend for hypersensitive skin!


on 1/11/2014 10:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This cleanser is too emollient for my combination skin. I need something that cleans better. I guess it would be good for dry skin types. It is gentle, yes, but it also leaves a sticky film behind. Not for my skin type, I guess.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top