Avene • extremely gentle cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.8(101 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 sciencegeek on 1/11/2014 10:20:00 AM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Negative aspects about this product:
- Despite being advertised as 'extremely gentle' it contains o-phenyl phenol...
- The container is not very practical, as I always ended up pouring more cleanser than needed.
- The ingredients are not listed on the container, so as soon as you bin the box it comes in, you no longer can check the ingredients without going on-line
- Thick consistency but very runny, goes everywhere...
- Doesn't remove make up well. I had to cleanse my face a few times and use up a lot of cotton pads and yet I use little make up!
- Doesn't remove eye make up. It can't handle even cheap non waterproof mascara.
- Leaves a film on the skin
- After a few months of using this morning/evening I started to have clogged pores, breakouts... I believe that happened because it doesn't cleanse well....

Good aspects:
- Doesn't dry out my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Merryweather on 12/8/2013 6:44:00 AM more reviews by Merryweather

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Leaves a lot of make up on your skin Does not clean well.It is soft for the skin but that's about all it does

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TurtleMoon on 6/22/2013 2:34:00 PM more reviews by TurtleMoon

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

My only reason for purchasing this was as shortcut to makeup removal in the evenings, as I'm notoriously lazy where this is concerned and am guilty of going to bed with my makeup still on. But yuck - what a horrid product! This was awful to use. It felt horrible, smelt horrible and it left my skin feeling horrible.

In terms of easy and quick, this should have been the perfect product. Avene describes it as a cleanser and eye-make up remover 'specifically designed for naturally sensitive skin', but this left mine feeling far from cleansed or comfortable. Instead it felt dirty and tight, and the only option after using it was to throughly wash my face with my usual cleanser to try and rid my skin of any trace of it (despite the instructions on the bottle telling you not to rinse with water).

I did try this a number of times before admitting defeat and finally accepting the fact that when it comes to effective makeup removal, there is no such thing as a quick fix.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hollyblue92 on 6/9/2013 7:00:00 AM more reviews by hollyblue92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

well... ive been using this cleanser for about a month now. It appealed to me as its an extremely gentle cleanser and i have very sensitive skin! I occasionally get a breakout and dont agree with anything to abrasive for the skin. after using this for a few weeks, i cant really notice a difference..which may be a good thing as i don't have any side effects with this cleanser, most cleansers either leave me with a tight face or a burning face! i don't remove with cotton pads i use a muslin cloth as it acts as a gentle defoliator and removes all my makeup. Will keep using till i run out then i will change to Liz Earle and see if i notice a difference.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dusice on 6/5/2013 9:33:00 AM more reviews by dusice

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first no-rinse cleanser I've tried, and I like it. My skin's become dryer over the years, so I need a more moisturizing cleanser. This slightly fragranced cleanser did the job well. Or so I thought. After a week or two of using it, I noticed some clogged pores on my cheek (but, to be fair to this cleanser, that could be from a new moisturizer I was trying out at the same time). I'm not sure that I like no-rinse cleansers. They might be alright for people with extremely sensitive skin that doesn't even tolerate water, but, for me, I'd rather get the feel of rinsing with water.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 5/27/2013 2:26:00 PM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have extremely oily acne prone skin, but I needed something to remove my eye makeup and the foundation around my lips, where I usually am drier.

This is really nice and soft, no irritations. But it doesn't REMOVE the makeup!!! I rubbed a few minutes around my eyes, but after that there still was a LOT of mascara and undereye concealer left everywhere, and it had moved to my chins - mixed with my extremely oily skin it only became a mess that sat there completely stuck!!

I had to take a real eye makeup remover to remove all this.

I don't think that this is for extremely oily skin....cause it doesn't remove makeup on me...

I guess it suits more normal skintypes.....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Snosand on 5/13/2013 7:20:00 PM more reviews by Snosand

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have really bad rosacea. Enlarged pores, redness so bad my nose looks purple. Because of the nose inflation I get constant white heads from the blood vessels. To top it off my oily skin started becoming dry but still oily with thick skin peeling.

I have tried tons of options from Dove sensitive soap to prescriptions. Nothing has worked and most make it worse. If finally dropped the money for Avene but I given how my skin responds I went with the gentle cleanser. This has changed my skin. I still get flare ups but it is nothing like it has been and my nose looks almost normal.

I apply this to wet skin and then use a wash cloth to remove it.

I can't tolerate scents. This has a slight smell but is not a fragrance. The scent is really nothing and does not bother my nose.

As for the ingredients, I'll admit I wasn't crazy about certain ones but I've not had issues and the relief just for my nose is to me such a peace of mind that I can over look the ify ingredients.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 leviosana on 5/9/2013 11:52:00 AM more reviews by leviosana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My skin: when I started using this, my skin was quite dehydrated and irritated by a few previous products. I had a red, dry rosacea patch under my nose. But my cheeks were quite oily, with a few clogged pores/whiteheads.

First impressions: the cleanser is not scented, the consistency is very creamy (almost like a runny lotion). The application was smooth, it did not sting or leave a burning sensation (like some other cleansers) and my skin did not feel tight. It does not lather at all, which made me feel like my skin was not being cleansed.

How I use it: I now only use this in the morning, to refresh the skin and softly remove moisturiser residue. The instructions tell you not to use water to rinse it off, but I wipe my face once with a damp cotton pad; I have a very intensive moisturiser and I don't want an additional layer of product underneath it. I think my pores would get clogged if I used it as a night cleanser (instead I use Dr. Hauschka's Cleansing Cream).

Overall opinion: a great product for sensitive, dry skin. I don't think it does a thorough job of cleansing my skin, but I have not had any new breakouts since I started using it. I will be going back to my old cleanser, because for me, warmer weather always means oilier skin, however I will repurchase it and use it as a fall back product - for an instant relief in case of unexpected irritation or dryness.

Additional: The bottle could really use a pump. I end up using much more than needed. Some people have had bad reactions to the spring thermal water, so make sure your skin is ok with it before purchasing a full range of products :)

Customer service: The people at Avene (in the UK) are nice and helpful. They answered my questions quickly and were able to provide me with samples of the products I wanted to try. I definitely recommend e-mailing them and getting a sample if you are unsure about the product.

If you have any questions, feel free to message me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SkinEU on 4/14/2013 11:03:00 AM more reviews by SkinEU

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Since my skin was upset I thought I would try this one again, I remember briefly using it years ago.
I like several of Avene's products so I thought it would be a good choice.
However, it stripped my skin like if I was using soap, it did not feel very gentle and my skin seemed even more upset.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 george3b on 1/29/2013 5:09:00 AM more reviews by george3b

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I just bought a full bottle of this after trying a sample as I felt that water was really drying my skin out. This is my 2nd day of using it and it feels extremely gentle.

Method 1: I apply this on to dry skin and massage it around my face to let it dissolve makeup and other grime. I also do that gently around my eyes. I then take it off with a flannel that was soaked in warm water and squeezed out.

Result: Not that great at removing makeup but most of these gentle cleansers are like that anyway (i.e. LRP physiologocal cleansing gel). Using the flannel, it does take most of my eye makeup off (i dont wear much but I do wear quite a bit of eyeliner and NWP mascara) but I did get a lot of gunk into my eyes which I try to wipe off. I repeat the process of applying and removing with flannel and it then removes all my makeup (note I always double cleanse). I however dont like the idea of having to rub around my eyes to remove makeup. My skin instantly feels soft and moisturised. It doesn't feel tight. There is a slight moisture on it left by the cleanser. Skin looks radiant and feels soft.

The Morning After: Next day I wake up with a couple of pimples on my nose and one on my forehead. Cleanser residue maybe? Perhaps better rinsing it off? We'll see. I will try a different method today and update my review.

Update: OK, I've persisted with this and my flannel. I now remove eye makeup using micellar water so that it doesnt swirl all around and into my eyes. I didnt try the rinsing off method but it still left a little bit on my skin which comes off better with the use of a hot cloth. My skin feels lovely, clean and comfortable at night however in the morning I do have a few bumps and spots which weren't there the night before. This has been happening since I've used this product. I havent changed anything else in my routine so I am pretty sure this is the culprit. My skin has never looked bumpier than this. It's like little tiny bumps all over my face and its especially obvious around the skin, there are some redness and uneven surfaces, spots appear out of nowhere on my forehead, around the mouth, chin and cheeks. It's strange really... What a shame :( I really wanted to like this as it is so gentle and feels so good for my skin but obviously it isnt. I'm gonna fix my skin with the cleanance gel for a few days and then maybe go back to LRP's physiological cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Cleansers products