Avene • extremely gentle cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.8(109 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FakeLashes on 8/26/2014 5:52:00 AM more reviews by FakeLashes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have dry, eczema sensitive skin so this should be perfect for me, but it isn't. I tried it out for a few weeks and I noticed my skin getting dry and flaky, after reading the ingredients I noticed that it contains "sodium lauryl sulfate". SLS can cause contact dermatitis and aggravate eczema by weakening the oily barrier on the skin. I already have dry skin and need all the oil in the world to keep my skin looking nice, the dryer it gets the more chance I have that my eczema will flare up, and as most with eczema now it can take a long time to get it under control again! I keep buying Avene but I have to remind myself not to do it anymore because my skin seems to not like there products very much!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chooky12 on 7/9/2014 4:22:00 AM more reviews by chooky12

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I mainly use oil/balm cleansers for removing makeup and cleansing at the end of the day, but I wanted a more gentle morning cleanser and something that was lighter.

I've been pleasantly surprised by this cleanser - on days when I've used it in the evening, it removes make up extremely well, even mascara and eyeliner.

I'll admit that I prefer to remove it with a washcloth and water. But my face is always left feeling clean, fresh and soft.

I would happily purchase this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* madeupmary on 7/5/2014 6:34:00 AM more reviews by madeupmary

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I bought this after seeing lots of YouTubers rave about it. My skin has got more sensitive over the years and I am trying to use skincare products that will not irritate my skin, which this one doesn't.

When I first opened this product I was worried because it smelt very strongly of soap and I know soap based cleansers tend to leave my skin irritated and dry. However when I dispensed the liquid I found it to be much more fluid than I was expecting. I thought it would be like a cream but it is much more runny. I do not use it as directed, instead of applying to skin and tissuing off (which I always thought was a faff). I apply a small layer, massage in and rinse off with a flannel or muslin cloth. I then repeat the process and my skin feels fresh and cleansed without being dried out. I find this cleanser definitely leaves a residue so my advice is to always wash it off.

The only things I don't like about this cleanser are the price and the fact that it isn't more widely available. I paid 8 for this product which isn't ridiculously expensive but I don't know if it's worth that amount, about 5 would be the right price in my head. Also, I found this quite hard to find in my local stores. I find that smaller Boots don't stock this so I have to go to a larger store or buy online.

Overall, I was very impressed with this. I'm not sure if I would repurchase it straight away because I like to try new products but I probably would return to it as it hasn't irritated my skin. It has also made me want to try more Avene products!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Elmohr on 7/1/2014 4:21:00 PM more reviews by Elmohr

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm on my second bottle of extremely gentle cleanser and I must admit, my skin has never been more beautiful. The most important tip that the SA gave me was to STOP using tap water on my face. I used the Avene water initially after wiping off the cleanser with a cotton pad. Now I use Evian mist as it's cheaper but with the same result. Just mist on the water after wiping off the cleanser and either leave it on your face or wipe that off too. I don't even need to use a lotion on my face at night anymore and my face use to be so dry I'd put Vaseline on it to keep it from itching and flaking. This is a great product but I suspect not using tap water on my face has helped enormously.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fionahz on 5/22/2014 10:51:00 PM more reviews by fionahz

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this cleanser for a couple of months now, so I think I've given it enough of a test to decide that I really, really like it.
I first bought it because my skin had been hyper-sensitised by use of Retin-A and illness and was dry, flaky and sore around my nose and mouth. I was doubtful at first that a no-rinse cleanser would both remove all my makeup and not leave a film on my skin but I was desperate to find something gentle and the bottle promised that this would be gentle.

I was amazed by how efficiently this removed makeup, even tenacious eye makeup! I use approximately a tablespoon of cleanser, rub it into my face with my hands, wipe off with cotton pads, then rinse. I occasionally follow up with Avene thermal water, but most of the time I just apply my Retin-A or a moisturiser. My skin is clean (I've tested it with Avene's Micellar cleanser to see if any makeup is left after cleansing and there is none! My skin also feels fresh, soft and there is no discernible residue or filmy feeling like there can be with cream cleansers.

I'm now on my second bottle of the Extremely Gentle Cleanser and my skin is very happy. Much more balanced, soft and I have far fewer breakouts than I did before. This has enabled me to cut down on the frequency of my Retin-A use, which means my skin has become less sensitive. This cleanser has been a great find for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sheidadentist on 5/16/2014 5:17:00 PM more reviews by sheidadentist

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Terrible ,terrible and terrible product,doesn't remove anything,leaves residue,burns my skin...I wish I had never bought it,even nivea cleansers are much better,it's extra gentle but burns my skin more than classic cleansers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lauralove on 5/9/2014 6:53:00 PM more reviews by Lauralove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

In Spring time my skin got very sensitive so I tried using this Avene cleanser. Surprisingly even if I had to rub my eyes (to remove eye make - up) it did not irritate my skin.
However I noticed that my pores got bigger (although my skin is dry and I rarely can even see my pores :)
This product might be good as an emergency treatment but I dont see myself commiting to it longterm :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nancycho2 on 4/24/2014 12:46:00 PM more reviews by nancycho2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I bought this cleanser because last two cleansers I bought (cerave and triderma cleansers) gave me a horrible rash and I had to get a steroid shot and pills. It is a great cleanser. Leaves your skin feeling clean and fresh and more importantly I did not have a bad reaction. Highly recommend for hypersensitive skin!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sciencegeek on 1/11/2014 10:20:00 AM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This cleanser is too emollient for my combination skin. I need something that cleans better. I guess it would be good for dry skin types. It is gentle, yes, but it also leaves a sticky film behind. Not for my skin type, I guess.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Merryweather on 12/8/2013 6:44:00 AM more reviews by Merryweather

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Leaves a lot of make up on your skin Does not clean well.It is soft for the skin but that's about all it does

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avene products

More Cleansers products