Neutrogena Active Breathable Sunblock SPF 45

4.0

54 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/27/2009 11:43:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Grey, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I flew to Florida last week, planning to buy a new tube of Breathable sunblock there so I didn't have to pack one (luggage regulations). SO upset, I could not find it anywhere! Cannot find it up north now, and am nearly out of my last tube. Is it discontinued? No one seems to know.

It is the ONLY sunblock that ever left my skin feeling like skin instead of plastic. Neutrogena's new Sheer Dry stuff is crap and feels like slime.

I don't know what I'm going to use for sunblock now -- I work outdoors and use it 8 months a year. :-(((



Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I loved this sunscreen but it seems to have disappeared. Does anyone know if its been discontinued? I loved that it made my face soft and smooth. It was the perfect base for makeup and had a really nice creamy smell.


on 4/3/2008 5:11:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a very good sunscreen that doesn't feel greasy but stays on while you're out and about. I use this for my body, and Ultra Sheer on my face since Ultra Sheer has antioxidants. You still need to reapply, but this sunscreen is really nice.


on 4/9/2007 11:16:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Just picked this up last week to wear out and about - doing yard work, running, to and from the swimming pool - and I love it. I don't think it is greasy at all. Actually I think the texture is rather silky and it dries quickly without any residual stickiness.Best part is, it hasn't caused me to break out, which is a miracle in my book. I love it so much, I just bought another bottle of it to carry with me.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

good protection coz its gott helioplex which is good ...but way too greasy for my oily and acne-prone skin...better luck with ultra sheer dry touch


on 12/28/2006 11:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am an active outdoorsy type and have experimented with several different high spf sunblocks and this is my fave by far. It rubs in easily and doesn't have an oily feel to it. It stays on for hours even after several hours of sweating and/or swimming. Contrary to others, I have not had any problems with "breaking-out" using this product.


on 9/26/2006 12:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have oily skin and this turn so matte and powdery that it was perfect for me. Went on kind of creamy and absorbed on contact. Also did not sting or seep into my eyes. But - this product is not photostable and I do not feel like reapplying all day.


on 9/4/2006 10:42:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wish I could love this sunscreen. But it made me break out horribly, and not in acne, in some weird all over face rash. Just to make sure it wasn't something else, a month later I wore it again and I consistently got the rash again. I wish I could like it because I do this it does what is says, despite other reviews. I definitely didn't sting my eyes and seemed to stay put. Definitely did not look greasy like other sunscreens, and has a nice smell. I see that other people broke out on this, so I wonder what's in it that is doing this. I will be using up my tube on my legs, but won't be buying again.


on 7/25/2006 9:04:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a great sunscreen for your body, but not for the face if you intend to sweat. I have tried many sunscreens and this one does get in your eyes after sweating. But it is a great overall sunscreen that doesn't leave you feeling sticky after applying.


on 7/5/2006 4:02:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this because I am using Retin-A for acne, and you need increased sun protection. I have mixed feelings about this sunscreen. I like the silky, powdery finish the silica provides, it's broad spectrum UVA/UVB protection, and a little seems to go a long way in terms of coverage. However... for a sport sunblock, it is NOT sweatproof and waterproof like it claims to be. I put this on, wait 20 minutes, go out in the sun, and immediately I've got stinging rivers of sunscreen in my eyes. It also stings my skin if I sweat while wearing it, but I'm sure that is the fault of the Retin-A and not this product. While I think this would probably be servicable as a body sunscreen, I will not be repurchasing it for my face. I've switched to big floppy hats and sunglasses for the time being. I wish I could afford La Roche Posay or Shisedo or something that really DOES stay put.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top