NYX Black

4.6

192 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Mica, Diisostearyl Malate, Talc, Mineral Oil, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Butylparaben. May Contain: Polymethyl Methacrylate, Methylparaben, Zinc Stearate, CI 19140 Yellow 5 Lake), CI 42090 (Blue 1 Lake), CI 77007 (Ultramarines), CI 77288 (Chromium Oxide Greens), CI 77289 (Chromium Hydroxide Green), CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499 (Iron Oxides), CI 77510 (Ferric Ferrocyanide), CI 77742 (Manganese Violet), CI 77891 (Titanium Dioxide), CI 16035 (Red 40 Lake)


on 6/23/2015 1:32:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Terrible.
This eyeshadow is very messy and, If you accidentally touch it, It is VERY hard to clean off.
Even If I used a makeup remover wipe, the product was all over the place.
Since this eyeshadow is actually dark grey, you must brush over with more product several times in order to make it black. This causes the eyeshadow to rub off and land on your cheekbones which is normal. However, the amount of product that falls off is ridiculous.
Also, I bought the single eyeshadow and the packaging is no bueno. The clear top broke IN MY BAG and spilled all over my stuff.


TL;DR: This eyeshadow is very hard to blend and VERY messy.
After seeing all the good reviews, I realize I MAY have gotten a bad batch.
However, I will not be buying this again after having this terrible experience.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/4/2015 12:10:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the best black eyeshadow ever! I've used from cheap to expensive brand and they all come of as dark gray, but never true black; and I really need true black; you see my main use for the eyeshadow is a setting powder for my eyeliner on the waterline. So with this eyeshadow you will get intense color and for a great price. In general NYX eyeshadows are very pigmented and lasting, they are a great buy. But when it comes to black, NYX is the only brand that counts!


on 7/13/2014 9:29:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love most of NYX products, their always great quality products and i really enjoy their eye shadows very much. It's the perfect black shadow, it's VERY pigmented and it stays on so well and applies very smoothly! A++ Product !


on 2/19/2014 5:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

great stuff! more pigmented than UD Perversion & Mac Carbon for 1/3 of the price!


on 2/16/2014 11:40:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Already tons of reviews so I don't need to reiterate what has already been said. Definitely one of the most pigmented "black" black eye shadows out there. Smooth and easy to work with but use a light hand! If you're in need of a black, this is your baby.


on 2/2/2014 5:21:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I really love gel liner, but it tends to smudge on me if I don't set it with a black eyeshadow. I have matte black shadows in palettes, but I wanted a single eyeshadow to take with me in my makeup bag. I finally found the NYX Black shadow at some random Korean store, so I got it. It's so pigmented and dark, just like my Urban Decay shadow in Creep. For only a few dollars, it's just as good as my higher end black eyeshadows, so I would definitely recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/16/2013 11:00:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

It's a pigmented eyeshadow, lasts a long time, however it's creases and goes under my eyes. :/ overall it's like a 3.5 ish kind of eyeshadow. I prefer my wet n wild matte black shadow over this one :)


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

When I realized ALL my black e/s were sparkly, I ran across this at ULTA and am in love. I had been checking out MAC black shadows but this is exactly what I was looking for. NYX single shadows rarely fail to impress.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2013 8:35:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I must have gotten a dud. There's no explanation for why this product has 4.6 when the product I received swatched a charcoal gray that I couldn't build up to black. I was hoping this would be a great replacement for Mac Carbon, but it is not. Even weirder is the fact that mine had some sparkles. My Sonia Kashuk black shadow is far, far superior to this mess. Immediate return.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2013 4:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is the best black eyeshadow I have tried so far. It is truly matte and super pigmented. It makes my eyeliner last longer and doesn't smudge at all. Packaging is cute and it is dirty cheap! A true bargain.




Back to Top