MAC • Russian Red • Lipstick

rated 4.6(618 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.87%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 nicolebailey on 1/28/2015 10:39:00 AM more reviews by nicolebailey

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My favorite red lipstick and go to for any night out! Buying this shade will be one of the best make up related decisions you'll ever make.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AuroraSom on 1/16/2015 7:32:00 PM more reviews by AuroraSom

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a sort of... Dark red but not maroon. Just a shade or two darker of a standard true red.
I would disagree about those that say it's blue based. I think they only look at the depth of the color an assume it's blue based. It actually.. Isn't. I'd say it's quite neutral, maybe a tad bit warm.
Compared to Ruby Woo it's a bit darker but when you look at Ruby Woo you can see that it has a blue undertone whereas Russian Red, it doesn't have it.
It's quite creamy for a matte lipstick but still matte if that makes sense?
Creamy when you put it on but not glossy and it's super pigmented.
I find that this color would work for a lot of people.
I'd say it's universally flattering whether you're fair or have a very deep complexion, cool toned, warm toned, neutral etc
Depending on your lipcolor and undertone it can look different.
I find on skin with more color, like my cousin who's an NW40 both Ruby Woo and Russian Red look the same.
Russian Red is an amazing color to have in a collection.
Definitely need to get it :)
I'll post swatches of it compared to Ruby Woo and Lady Danger

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jazzmiss122 on 1/12/2015 11:02:00 AM more reviews by jazzmiss122

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'm finally a big girl with a big girl job and big girl money so I thought it was about time I splurged and bought some big girl cosmetics so I visited my local MAC store. Up until now NYX was my go to supplier of matte lipstick because they were cheap and highly pigmented and Alabama was my favorite red lip, I doubted it could get any better. That is until I tried Russian Red at the counter and holy crap, why haven't I had a MAC lipstick before?! It has a beautiful matte finish and the deep blue-based red pairs beautifully with my complexion (dark brown hair, pale skin and blue eyes). I wore it to work the day after I purchased it and got compliments from everyone, from the barista at Starbucks to my main supervisor. It is a little drying but not nearly as badly as other matte lips I've tried, and the color pay off is worth it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Adi96 on 1/6/2015 12:19:00 AM more reviews by Adi96

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Other, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My best friend got this for me as a Christmas gift along with Cherry lipliner, and I seriously cannot be happier. I range from NC40 to NC44, and throughout the skin tone changes, this lipstick manages to look gorgeous. To me, this seems to be the grown up version of Ruby Woo; it is a deeper, more sumptuous red in comparison to the bright, cool toned red that is Ruby Woo. If you are looking for a more classic red, Russian Red will not let you down in the slightest :D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sjess on 12/30/2014 8:18:00 AM more reviews by Sjess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

Why, oh why, haven't I bought this sooner!?! I already own Ruby Woo and Lady Danger, and I love them both dearly, but man oh man, Russian Red just swooped in and blew them both out of the water, what a gorgeous red! It's a real classic red, very pigmented, matte and it lasts forever, what more does a woman want..?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MorenaC on 12/25/2014 4:34:00 PM more reviews by MorenaC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect staple red for my NC-44 skin and stays on forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ravenn on 12/25/2014 12:43:00 AM more reviews by Ravenn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love Russian Red! It's the perfect red for my NC40-42 skin tone. It's moisturizing and lasts for hours. I use it with MAC lip liner and it looks fab.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makeupbyhina on 12/20/2014 4:07:00 AM more reviews by makeupbyhina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is the most beautifil shade of Red ever! I guess it flatters almost all skin tones..

even though the texture is a bit drying, a exfolition would very well fix that.

Overall, i love it!

http://makeupbyhina.com

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 suesuesu on 12/20/2014 3:32:00 AM more reviews by suesuesu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

OMG, this is such a beautiful colour!!

I tried it in store at 10am with prep + prime lip and Brick lipliner. It lasted the whole day! I came back to the store at 6pm to buy it, because it still looked perfect on my lips.

The most beautiful red i've ever seen. Looks so pretty and glamorous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kizzycat24 on 12/2/2014 11:54:00 AM more reviews by Kizzycat24

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Yes, yes, yes and more yes. I love this red lipstick! It's thick, highly pigmented and really lasts. I'm so impressed with this colour that I wish I tried it a long time ago. Definitely my favourite shade of red. If you're looking for an intense red, I recommend this colour.I will be buying this again, it's my holy grail of red lipsticks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products