Hermes Eau des Merveilles

3.8

161 reviews

64% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/18/2015 10:46:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Country singer Martina McBride wears this, according to coolspotters.com, and being a MM fan, I wanted to try it. She said, "it's fresh and sexy at the same time."

(ASIDE: Others mentioned in this article from "Nashville Style" mag, Dec 2013 (reported at coolspotters.com), included Kimberly Perry of The Band Perry, whose fave is BN9 Chinatown, Kimberly Schlapman, the blonde in Little Big Town, who wears MJ Daisy gifted by her husb because her daughter's name is Daisy, and she loves it -- and also Kelly Pickler, who wears Refuge by Charlotte Russe, which costs around $10),

Anyway, back to Martina McBride's Eau des Merveilles:

2004 launch -- notes, per parfumo.net

Top Notes - Orange, Lemon
Heart Notes - Amber, Pepper, Pink pepper, Violet
Base Notes - Oakmoss, Fir, Vetiver, Cedar

I'm wearing it on this hot sultry day with my office's A/C broken.

A sweet orange scent, esp at first -- light & fresh -- then comes a peppery tingle and a hint of light amber. That's what I'm smelling. Light, fresh, slightly sweet, tingly-peppery orange fragrance -- with a little amber. Not terribly woody or earthy, although those notes (fir & cedar) are detectable in the base and to me, make it quite unisex -- I think a man could easily wear this.

It's okay, nothing wrong with it, but I don't love it. I've never been a big fan of citrus perfumes, in general. But really, I think that for an orange-based perfume, this is good -- better than Happy or BN9 Little Italy IMHO. It's not too pungent, it doesn't turn sharp or sour on me -- it doesn't smell like Orange Glo -- well made, and for an EDT, it lasts very well. It's pretty refreshing.

Lippies off for that terrible bottle design. The silver top's design makes it appear to be a removable cap -- so I pulled it off to spray -- and there was the little hose! No, the silver top is the *sprayer* -- yes, there's the little hole on the side -- but the initial look of it is very deceptive, since it has rounded edges, like a cap. Beware -- the top is a sprayer, with no cap -- and the hole may not be facing you when you first look at it. If you pull the silver sprayer piece from the little hose, as I did, it will reattach, but then it may "drool" after spraying. **sigh** I really wish I hadn't made the mistake of pulling that sprayer off -- stupid, but an easy mistake to make with this one. At first glance, it's confusing.

Posh brand Hermes couldn't put a cap on top of the sprayer?? I suspect that a great deal of the appeal of Hermes fragrances -- as with their handbags -- is simply the name and its prestige factor.



on 8/27/2014 12:58:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I just honestly don't get where the good reviews are coming from! This scent smells completely like a typical old lady perfume to me. Reminiscent of my child hood and visiting my great grandma's house and smelling her perfume bottles. Very strong, over powering and just plain nasty. If I could give it zero lippies I would.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a Hermes perfume for the summer only because it's a Hermes. I went to a Sephora in Shanghai and could try on few perfumes, 4 of them from Hermes.
I find eau de marveilles was good, not too sweet, not too citric nor too orangy. A good combination and pretty refreshing in general.
However, the staying power is very poor, after few hours I cannot smell anything.
The price is also ridiculous, but I'm glad I had 50% off.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Smells woody and spicy on me. A lots of pink peppers too. Looks like honey and smells like Norwegian wood. Not a flowery or fruity scent at all but this makes it unique and different. Love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2014 1:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love love this scent! Woody and spicy with a splash of orange. And the scent lingers all day long.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/1/2013 8:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Ooooh, this went totally men's aftershave on me. I had really high hopes for this, since I admire so much almost all other HERMES perfumes, but here is my chemistry in all its glory, turning milk sour, again... :-( Somewhere halfway through the drydown I could get a hint of how great this could be on someone with the right skin type. Mine absorbs any sugar and all the light florals almost entirely, and in this case it is orange zest and alcohol that are left of the original composition. Maybe a bit of fresh grass rubbed in warm hands, but the amount of alcohol post-drydown is simply overwhelming. Voyage works on me, so does Jardin Mediterranee ( my forever love!! ), faubourg 24 is also not bad (although it's not as deep as on other people I suspect ). Ah well. The Jardin series is more than enough for me to keep coming back to the HERMES counter for a shot of an olfactory delight.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/10/2012 1:45:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It is interesting to read all the comments about this perfume. Some people smell oranges, the ocean, wood, musk etc. I don't smell any off those things. I got a generous sample of this from Sephora. I really wanted a perfume that would make me smell like I was living in a orange orchard, just a mature layered scent of oranges. I would think the house of Hermes would deliver on such a product, but no this does not. I barely smell any oranges, my best description of this scent is baby powder with spicy notes. I could see how this could work for other people, but it does not work with my chemistry. There is nothing sexy about this scent, it just "exists". I will say the lasting power for me is pretty high though. So in conclusion, I am highly disappointed, I expect something better from a high end brand like Hermes.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/15/2012 5:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love, love, love this perfume. It has woody and amber undertones which I love. It is expensive but it does last a while so I feel the cost is worth it. Be aware of the bottom of the bottle. It is slanted and if not put down properly it could fall over.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 9/20/2012 4:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Brown

While I was sampling Hermes Jardin fragrances in Sephora a few weeks ago, the SA recommended I try Eau des Merveilles. So I sprayed EdM on my arm and was not a fan. It came off as a very "loud" orange zest scent. The SA ended up giving me a sample of Mediterranee and EdM to take home even though I already made up in my mind I wasn't a fan of EdM. I'm SO glad the SA went ahead and gave me a sample of EdM because about 10 mins after I left Sephora to drive home, it began to get less orange and developed into an exquisitely blended woody, warm-spice scent. Then, once it fully dried down, it became very fresh (the ambergris, I believe, gives it its freshness) while not losing its warm woody-ness. I left the sample vial on my kitchen counter overnight and in the morning while packing my lunch I kept getting this beautiful waft of scent. It was so lovely, fresh woody at the same time. At that point, I was on a mission to get a full bottle ASAP...and I did! Just got my FB in the mail today and I'm so thrilled! I'm very pleased with this purchase and really can't rave about it enough. What I most love about it is that it's such a unique scent, but isn't super expensive. It's also not too common so I don't worry about wearing something that would be in many others' fragrance wardrobe. EdM is also a perfect transition scent from Summer to Autumn. It reminds me of being on a driftwood-filled secluded beach in cooler weather while being wrapped up in a light cashmere sweater. It's definitely unisex do to the lack of any floral notes. This is a great choice for women who want a classy, refined scent that could be worn daily, during the day or night time. It's such a refreshing alternative to the fruity-florals thatsaturate the fragrance market today. EdM is going to be used in heavy rotation by me this season. Even though it's long lasting, I plan to get the EdM body cream to layer. I highly recommend.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 9/7/2012 5:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I am literally BLOWN AWAY by this perfume. Years ago I had an orange-scented shampoo, conditioner, and body wash set from Hermes and decided to revisit the delightful scent by purchasing Eau des Merveilles Elixir. It is a warm, comforting, sexy, yet tasteful scent, reminiscent of curling up in a freshly laundered warm blanket with your attractive significant other. Truly a wonderful perfume. Only con is that the bottle is very strange - rather than a flat bottom, it is like the tip of an obtuse triangle - so it lays flat on either the right or left side. I am cautious every time I set it down. Best part is, it stays ALL DAY LONG. I have never in my life said this for any perfume (Lolita Lempicka perfumes have the longest lasting power that I know of, but not all day). I can put it on in the morning and when I'm showering in the evening after a long day, I can still smell the last of the lingering scent. Worth every. single. penny.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Angel
Angel
1830 Reviews
No.5
No.5
949 Reviews
Hypnotic Poison
Hypnotic Poison
649 Reviews
Pure Seduction
Pure Seduction
262 Reviews
Candy EDP
Candy EDP
227 Reviews


Back to Top