Fresh • Umbrian Clay Treatment Bar • Masks

rated 4.0(92 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 toohautetohandle on 9/22/2014 12:49:00 AM more reviews by toohautetohandle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was so underwhelmed with this bar. I loved the concept of one simple ingredient in a bar that would be gentle enough to apply as a daily mask, and all of the rave reviews on it gave me high hopes. But alas. It did nothing to reduce inflammation or otherwise calm redness. I don't break out much so maybe I would have noticed more of a difference if I had acne, but I was hoping this would improve the redness of my skin and maybe diminish the noticeability of my pores, but it really did nothing to my complexion. I have dry skin and was worried this would dry me out, as it is a clay, but it didn't. For me, that was the one pro of it, but if you have oily skin and are hoping it will reduce oiliness, you may be disappointed.

There are quite a few products that I've used in which I've noticed a discrepancy between what should happen, scientifically, and how my skin actually responds. I think I just have very fickle and sensitive skin. I'm torn on whether to recommend it to reduce oiliness, because this should work for that. If you have oily skin and that's the main reason you're looking into this, I would give it a chance. That is the only case in which I would recommend it.

Quite a few users have commented on it being a pain to apply. I'm a results kind of girl, so if a product is effective, I can deal with messy application, inconvenient packaging, that kind of thing. But if you like the ease of squeezing a mask out of a tube, you may be annoyed with having to apply it from a bar. It does get messy and it does feel like you're wasting a lot of product. Keep in mind that you want the bar to dry out during the day. I wouldn't leave this in the shower because it won't dry, and the clay will continue to drip, gradually wasting a lot of product.

I let this sit on my skin for about 10 minutes every evening for a couple weeks before I gave up on it. Yes, I know that's not all that long for a skin treatment, but considering this has only one ingredient whose properties should go into effect upon contact with the skin, I felt that two weeks was a long enough trial run. It would be different if this was a retinol product that I was using for hyperpigmentation, but this is a lot more basic than that and I hadn't noticed any difference.

I'm giving it two lippies because it had no adverse effect on my skin. But otherwise this was meh for me and I returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aklobastova on 11/18/2013 11:33:00 PM more reviews by aklobastova

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I stumbled upon this product when searching for natural remedies for cystic acne. Needless to say, this isn't a miracle product, but it helps clear up inflammation and redness like no other! I usually use it once or twice a week, usually for 30 minutes or so. The application isn't ideal, it's messy and you definitely will have to clean either your clothes or your counter afterwards. However, once I rinse it off, my pores feel tight and clean and my skin is smooth and has a noticeable glow to it! Again, not a miracle product-- can't say if it did anything for my acne. But as a treatment for redness or oiliness, or if you feel like treating yourself to a mini-facial in your own bathroom, this is a great product. Bought it about a year ago (less than half of it has been used up!) and got one for my mom for Christmas. She loves it too.

If you're looking for a (much) cheaper but somewhat similar product, Queen Helene's Mint Julep Masque is your go-to. Doesn't do everything the Fresh bar does, but you still get that nice tight skin/clean pore feeling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hoku on 10/29/2013 10:59:00 PM more reviews by hoku

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Overall: 4
Price: 4 ($44 CAD for a bar!)
Packaging: 2
Buy again: yes
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

I came across this product when I was looking up reviews for the matching Umbrian Clay oil-free lotion (which I also have) and I was curious. I have combo/oily skin that is breakout prone when I'm really stressed or use the wrong products. I love clay masks, but I often put off using them because of the mess and it can sometimes be a pain to remove. Plus I like the idea of just having a bar of pure clay that I can apply to my face and not having to worry about the "wet" ingredients in a tube of mask to dry out or expire.

Let me just say: the price. WTF. So expensive. I've been reading online that some people say this bar is the exact same thing as fuller's earth and some people who say it's completely different - I don't know. Even if it is the same thing as Fuller's earth, I like that this is a compact, mess-free bar.

It's pretty easy to use. I use it like most people on here do; I hold the bar with a dry hand, and rub it on my wet hand to make a thin paste and then apply the paste to my damp face and let dry. I let it sit from 5-30 minutes (depending on how forgetful I am) and then rinse.

I love that my face doesn't feel like it's uncomfortably tight or cracking like when I use other clay face masks. In fact it feels like I have nothing on my face at all. It rinses easily, and leaves my skin feeling very soft and clean afterwards, not dried out at all. I tried it on one of my small blemishes and it helped get rid of it almost instantly! Amazing.

I will keep trying it over the next few months and will update if I have any new revelations.

EDIT (11.10.2013):
I tried using it today by rubbing the short end of the bar on my wet face after washing it - it works much better that way! It basically creates the mask paste right on your face without having to wet your fingers (I keep the clear plastic on my bar so I stays pretty dry). I like this way the best. I let it dry for 5-10 minutes and then rinsed, and my blackheads/pores on my nose were pretty invisible, and my skin just felt clearer and less congested. Love this!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beachesatnormandy on 1/16/2013 11:28:00 AM more reviews by beachesatnormandy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This clay bar has been my favorite skincare item I've ever purchased. I am so glad I decided to splurge on it. I use it about 1-2x week and it has lasted me at least 6 month and I still have more than half of it left. This is why I don't think the price is too much, because it lasts so long. Whenever I am having a really bad breakout or a bad skin week I just use this bar and my skin clears up shortly after. I have very oily skin, so this bar doesn't dry me out instead it keeps my oil under control. It also does wonders for my black heads. If they are getting inflamed, I use this bar and they calm down. It is also very good for sensitive skin, I've never had a bad reaction to it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 makanag on 11/19/2012 10:20:00 PM more reviews by makanag

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for about a week now nightly after my cleanser. Not entirely sure if it was my switch from my cleansers containing BHA to a mild cleanser and this clay or if it was the work of the clay entirely but my skin has not been this good in a long time. I have recently been breaking out with whiteheads and cystic-like acne around my jaw, but ever since I made the switch all has been dramatically decreasing. In order to use, I just use a spray water bottle on one end and rub on face. A little is a lot when it dries. The only problem I have is that I recently fell asleep with some on my face as a spot treatment; however, it was very difficult to take away with my cleanser and water. (Reason why I did not give 5 stars)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jessicalanelle on 6/20/2012 9:02:00 PM more reviews by jessicalanelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love this product. It really helps to keep my skin under control. I use it a couple of times a week in the evening after washing my face. I moisten the bar, slather on a good amount, and let it dry on my face. Sometimes I leave it on for up to 30 minutes. It seems to really help with oil control, and makes my pores tighter. I have had the same bar for about a year, and it is not even halfway gone.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EmbalmerBabe on 4/7/2012 1:45:00 AM more reviews by EmbalmerBabe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Picked this up at Sephora today been wanting to try it out. I should have read the reviews that this is a *ROYAL PAIN* to use. I do not prefer the bar method of application of all. You are supposed to moisten the bar and gently apply it to your face, this is very difficult as it dries all most immediately so you have to constantly re wet the bar to get a decent layer of this on your face.It feels like your rubbing a super dry mud brick on your face, I don't like the feeling of it. I will return it for the product that is in a tube, which is essentially the same product but with the ease of a creamy mask in a tube.I was expecting this to be creamy and easy to apply from the bar, NOT! This is way too expensive to be such a pain to use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* riyeu on 2/6/2012 11:02:00 PM more reviews by riyeu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Amazing product but messy to use. I made a mess on the bathroom counter...

I think it's worth it to pay the extra $ for the one in the tube. It's hassle free! It's the same product but mixed with rosewater...

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeeCube on 10/29/2011 2:21:00 PM more reviews by TeeCube

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I wanted to try this bar, but NOT for $38 after finding out that it is ONLY Fuller's Earth, so I went to Zerbo's and bought a half pound of powder Fuller's Earth for less than $7. Storing in a beautiful glass jar. Now this I love. Wet your skin, put about 1/8 tsp into something you can add water to (little plastic cup or something), make a paste and apply to your face and let dry, 10-15 min and then uses as a scrub as you're rinsing off. So nice. Does not shrivel up and pulsate the way Aztec Healing bentonite clay does, they're different. I like them both. I will purchase plain old Fuller's Earth again when I run out. If I had money to burn, I'd buy the Fresh bar just because it's luxurious.

Fresh is laughing all the way to the bank on this one. Brilliant marketing.

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Indothang on 10/11/2011 1:38:00 PM more reviews by Indothang

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is by far the best skin care purchase I have ever made, i saw results by day 2, i used as a five minute mask both morning and night, saw a reduction in my redness around the nose and chin, pores looked smaller too, but skin felt sooo smooth, not drying at all. It is expensive but i think it will last me a good while, and plus cheaper than getting a facial and way better results! i absolutely love this bar and will repurchase

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Fresh products

More Masks products