Olay • Total Effects-Fragrance Free • Moisturizers

rated 3.6(159 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.59%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 SelenaSerena on 3/10/2014 6:56:00 PM more reviews by SelenaSerena

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I didn't like it at all despite my high expectations. I have dry reactive sensitive thin skin that gets aggrevated in extreme conditions. I used it on my better days and still it made my skin feel so dry and oily at the same time. It layed a membrane of sleek oily film on the surface of my skin so I could not even imagine using any makeup on top of it effectively. I washed it away after some time as I could not stand the feeling of oily dryness if you know what I mean. This is exactly the effect a looser moisturizer will give you if you have a dry skin and try to quench it. It just makes it worse. Good news is that it is scent-free and did not cause any rush or reaction on me but I no longer use it as it went straigh to the bin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sunkissed0327 on 2/12/2014 10:15:00 AM more reviews by sunkissed0327

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Update: I've been sticking to this for a while and it still doesn't give me any breakouts. The wrinkles below my eyes which I've been worried about before have been gone already cause of this too. Really love this stuff.


I think I love this product. I've switched from age defying sensitive skin night cream to total effects fragrance free and within three days I'm already seeing an improvement.for those who had acne and were left with acne scars or dark marks pls don't miss this stuff cause this really works thought at first I didn't think it would since my skin is so so sensitive I have always broken out with all the moisturizers and creams I've tried except from this. It may be expensive but I think it is definitely worth the price. You will get to wake up to a brighter face with less redness and firmer skin. I never thought I'd be able to find a moisturizer that suits me which has always been my problem which caused me more problem since I've been using aha cleansers but isn't always able to moisturizer that has always left my skin dry , dull and prone to breakouts. But thank GOD I found this. I just needed this so much having gone thru acne and left with red marks and scars which now I'm greatful about since I'm now clear because of the proactive repairing treatment lotion which has been the only product I use from their line along with a change of cleanser from harsh ones to dove cucumber n green tea body wash and most especially this olay stuff that I know is one of the greatest factor my skin has started to show some dramatic changes I've never experienced before with other stuffs. So please try it, if you're a little doubtful that it may cause bad reactions like breakout, try it first on at least 1/4 part of your face like the lower half part of your cheek or forehead or chin for at least three days.thank God and olay for this. Great treat stuff.:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tatcuya114 on 1/20/2014 10:36:00 PM more reviews by tatcuya114

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow. I just realized that out of all the reviews I've written, I probably gave this one the highest score. I'm on my second bottle, and I think this is going to be a staple product in my skincare routine. There's nothing fancy about this product--although the 7 in 1 claim probably drew people into the product in the first place. This is just a well-formulated moisturizer with antioxidants and ingredients that are meant to strengthen the natural protective barrier of your skin. The texture is smooth and elegant. It's not overly moisturizing and is therefore suitable for combination skin like mine. I find that one of the key ingredients in the product, ceramides, works really well on my skin. I have used other products that contain ceramides (i.e., CeraVe moisturizing lotion, and Curel intense moisture care face milk), although they also work well, the Olay one somehow works the best. I think it could be due to the other ingredients that are present in the product (e.g., anti-oxidants and vitamins). I've put the product on when I experience skin irritation, and it stops the redness and itchiness and makes my skin feel comfortable instantly.

I also love the air-tight pump packaging, especially how you don't have to worry about getting the last bit of the product out when you are near the end. Such kind of packaging also keeps the anti-oxidants from deteriorating, which is vital for it to live up to the anti-aging claim.

I don't hold the unrealistic expectation that any moisturizer will stop me from aging--I think aging is a natural (and beautiful) process that every human being must go through, but you can slow down the aging process by taking care of your skin in the correct ways (e.g., putting on sun screens religiously, and use skincare products that contain anti-oxidants and no skin irritants, etc.). This moisturizer gets the job done for me. Overall it's great value for the amount of money you spend (you can get it online for about 15 dollars). I would highly recommend people with all kinds of skin types to give it a go, if you are looking for a basic inexpensive moisturizer that makes your skin happy.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mammie on 1/3/2014 8:13:00 AM more reviews by Mammie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Just a very good moisturizer. Makes my skin smooth and soft and doesn't cause break-outs. I'm already using my second bottle. Good hygienic packaging. Price is a bit high (in the Netherlands), 20 euros, but there's a often a dicsount.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ladushka on 5/24/2013 4:49:00 AM more reviews by ladushka

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Olay Total Effects fragrance-free sensitive skin protection spf 15 moisturizer is a good moisturizer for sensitive skin. It moisturizes well and causes no breakouts, irritation or redness. It leaves my skin soft without making it greasy. However, unlike my favorite regenerating serum (Regenerist), it does little to the texture and the tone of my skin, so it hasn't improved my skin either.

Update:
I am on my second tube of this moisturizer. I have mixed feelings about this one. It does actually improve both the tone and the texture of my skin. It solves redness issues and calms my reactive skin. On the other hand I know that Olay has better formulas since this cream contains far less niacinamide than many other Regenerist or Total Effects creams. Niacinamide is listed the sixth ingredient on my tube (they change their formulas very often making it even more confusing). Also, my formula includes a synthetic sunblock which is not really good for a sensitive skin. Parabens are on the list as well. But so far so good my skin really likes this stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aessop on 5/21/2013 7:39:00 AM more reviews by aessop

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Well, I've been using the Clarins sensitive skin range for two years and now that I've hit my 30s I thought it was time for a change. I've struggled and used countless anti-aging samples and my face suffered with irritation and rashes. They've just launched the Olay Total Effects Sensitive Skin Protection SPF15 in my country (not sure if its the same as this fragrance free version) so I decided to bite the bullet and buy it. And all I can say is Wow! I'm using this for the past 2 weeks and although Clarins is good Olay is sooo much better. My face is glowy, soft, even, smooth, hydrated- you name it. It delivers whatever it says on the box. The first time I used it, it looked like I had on foundation. And as time has gone on, my skin is slowly improving. I just recovered from bronchitis and while I was sick and feeling crappy, I still managed to look nice and presentable by smothering my face with some of this stuff. You could barely tell that I looked sick. The ingredients are impressive and what i love most is that there is finally a serious anti-aging product out there for sensitive skin. The pump bottle packaging is incredibly hygienic. Pricing compared to Clarins is way cheaper. What would I dearly love now is if Olay were to launch a Total Effects night-cream for sensitive skin. Please Olay, please make my wish come true!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 b3rrycherry on 4/29/2013 5:06:00 PM more reviews by b3rrycherry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It smooths out my face but it still leaves my skin feeling dry and tight. My skin also reacts negatively (itchiness, red hive-like bumps) five minutes after I apply it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 skincarenightmare on 4/9/2013 11:05:00 PM more reviews by skincarenightmare

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use this cream from when it first came onto the market all those years ago until Dec 2012 when my skin changed ( or did the product change?). I was always told how much younger I looked than my age(I still do but not so much). I used to splash this product all over my face with no allergic reactions and for some reason it was no longer not rich enough to moisturize my skin. I have tried other Olay products but they are not right for my skin. When I get brave enough I will give it another try for sure

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ElleDuncan on 3/13/2013 11:32:00 AM more reviews by ElleDuncan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was on the fence about this one for a bit. I'd used it before thinking it broke me out in red welts only to realize that my dairy intake was the culprit. This is what I'm using over drier areas over my Neutrogena retinol cream during both day and night and using copious amounts on my decolletage and neck - partly because I can afford this stuff, and to see if it breaks me out.

I've been using it for two weeks now: no breakouts that I can see, and in fact it noticeably CALMED the redness from my cheeks after I inadvertently got some retinol on there and upset them. I have mild rosecea on the cheeks and need to be careful washing them, too.

This wears well under my sunscreen (Lise Watier sunsmart spf 30) and makeup (just a bit of concealer and physicians formula talc free powder to set ).

When this is on sale and / or with coupon, it's really a good basic lotion for the price and amount, hence the 3 for price. the packaging is base; whatever, fine by me. And as far as ingredients go, there are plenty of good ones that appear in WAY pricier lotions in far less amounts. If you aren't a huge anti-everyting (paraben, blah, blah, blah) type, this is great. If you are looking for super pure, then of course you'd not go into anything from Proctor and Gamble to begin with and probably wouldn't even read this review!

So far this year I am really amazed and impressed by two drugstore products, this being one, and the other being my Neutrogena retinol one. ANd for what it's worth, as I don't always agree with her, Paula likes both of the ones I am using and influenced my decision to try them.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 vickster524 on 3/8/2013 10:01:00 AM more reviews by vickster524

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

The stuff was OK, I do have hormonal acne and it didn't cause that to flare up or break me out, So this definatley did not cause breakouts. However I was looking for a little more than what this cream gave me.....I have dry combo skin, in the winter my skin is very dry so to me this did not help that at all... I also didn't notice any brightening at all and my pores did not shrink. I think for someone in their early twenties with good skin this product would be great.... but if you're looking for something where you are going to see results this is not going to work out for you....Dry skin will not benefit from this at all....That bieng said what works for some doesn't work for all......

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Olay products

More Moisturizers products