Yardley • English Lavender Soap • Gels/Soaps

rated 4.1(26 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* garstrieper on 9/26/2013 3:58:00 PM more reviews by garstrieper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know if I got a dud or what...I purchased this at Walgreens with very high hopes, as it smelled amazing in the packaging. But the bar has almost no scent, and the soap is extremely trying. Will just be using as a hand soap. Oh well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 5/21/2013 10:54:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My mom had the liquid pump soad of Yardley English Lavender in her powder room circa 1977 - 1983. Nostalgic for me - a sweet single-note lavender scent. Also came in a lotion. Classic.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MadisonBryan on 1/26/2013 12:15:00 AM more reviews by MadisonBryan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I just love Yardley soaps. I ESPECIALLY love the Lavender variety. I have lavender everything (Bronners, shampoo and conditioner, and deodorant) and I guess you could say I have come to know that a citrus-y lavender is my favorite. This is it. I wish they made this in perfume :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NatanYah on 6/29/2012 3:27:00 PM more reviews by NatanYah

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

All of the Yardley soaps are fragrant and luxurious, albeit it a bit drying ( use a good creamy lotion afterwards). I love to keep them on the bathroom counter and allow them to scent my restroom area. English lavender is perfect for night time showers or baths because the laverender scent really relaxes you. I buy several whenever I visit the DollarTree.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cleo777 on 6/29/2012 3:02:00 PM more reviews by cleo777

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this one! What a great fresh, herbal scent. At our local fair in the summer there used to be a lady who sold fresh lavender by bulk, in sachets, etc. My Mom and I would have a field day buying up this stuff and making our own sachets for our own drawers or gifts. I could roll in it! LOL! It's a really nice little soap with a great scent. Yum! *sigh*

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bloodymerry52 on 6/29/2012 10:28:00 AM more reviews by bloodymerry52

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I got this soap as a two-pack at Big Lots for $1.00. I liked the lavender scent. The soap comes as a HUGE bar! I think one bar lasted me a little over a month. It is a little drying but nothing some lotion can't fix.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 NiteOwlGrl2 on 6/28/2012 4:02:00 PM more reviews by NiteOwlGrl2

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I got this soap for 60 cents. It smells sooo good. Just like lavender. It's so relaxing to use in the bath or shower. BUT it kind of leaves a waxy residue so idk I would just buy dove or something instead. Maybe use this as a hand soap not a body soap...!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Flossie2 on 6/17/2012 12:12:00 AM more reviews by Flossie2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love the smell of lavender and this soap has a very nice lavender scent. Very much there but not overwhelming. I use it in the shower and find it's great as an overall body soap though I wouldn't use anything perfumed on my face. I was amazed to find this in a dollar store and cheap to buy. Definitely would buy it again. In fact I bought 8 bars yesterday because it's so popular it's often sold out. This isn't the real English Yardley soap though. It says clearly on the box that it is made in the U.S. and I'll bet the formula is different. That's true with Pear's soap too which is now made in India if you can believe it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 illbefloating on 6/10/2012 6:38:00 PM more reviews by illbefloating

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is awful!! I live lavender so I thought I'd give it try. It leaves some kind of weird scum on your skin. I ended up getting right back in the shower to wash with something else. Yuck yuck yuck. Smells nice though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ellizam on 11/24/2011 8:12:00 AM more reviews by ellizam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I adore Yardley's English Lavender soap! It was the first scented soap I ever got. It never irritates my skin, cleans beautifully, and I adore the scent.


I'd like to add a small proviso: in my early 30's my nose underwent a wierd short-circuit and the scent of lavender became a B.O. smell to me. One of the few lavender products that went "off" was Yardleys EL. It isn't a matter of natural vs. synthetic, either, as I've had same problem or lack of problem indiscriminately.


This is a clean lavender to my nose, soapy, coolingly refreshing in summer, snuggly in winter. The soap lathers well, lasts forever, and is astoundingly inexpensive. They do not stint on fragrance in the soaps and opening a drawer filled with these bars is a pleasure.


EDIT: smelled recent version from dollar store and doesn't smell like the YEL I remember. I'll track down another bar for comparison. While different to my memory, it was still pretty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yardley products

More Gels/Soaps products