MAC Blot Powder - Medium

4.4

202 reviews

84% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Silica, Kaolin, Water, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Methicone, Coconut Acid, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxides


on 6/21/2014 3:03:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've only been using this for a couple of days and I'm really impressed. I normally use Chanel's loose powder in the morning when I finish my MU but wanted something to take with me in my handbag (which unfortunately I can't with Chanel, it's too heavy & bulky & messy). I read great reviews about this setting powder and finally gave in and bought it. Tha SA recommended Prep+Prime pressed powder but when she applied it it looked really cakey then. So a few days later I went back and without even trying it I bought Blot Powder. I immediately applied it in the bathroom of the mall, because it was mid afternoon and I was already quite shiny. It kept me matte, shine free the whole of the rest of the day. And natural looking matte, not powdery. Same experience the next day, although I was trying out a new fdn (Estee Lauder Double Wear Light) on my T-zone. But the combination of the two also worked fantastically. I've not been a 'touch-up' kind of gal but I hate the mid-day oiliness. I finally found the solution and now don't mind the extra few seconds in the bathroom or wherever. As long as I remember. It's great that it has a mirror. I'm perfectly happy with the little sponge it came with and glad I don't need to spend more time on a retractable brush. I just press it into my skin for instant result. I wish the mirror was a bit bigger, but it's fine.
I'm about NC15-20. Medium seems to suit me perfectly.
I might even try it sometime to use it in the morning and see how it performs during the day. That way I could maybe save a few $$ and not buy the Chanel when I run out.
My skin is normal apart from my oily T-zone, so I don't retouch on the rest of my face with it.
Can't think of anything else. Just that I'm a happy camper right now.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 1/13/2014 8:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I have very oily skin and after reading reviews here on MUA bought a MAC Blot powder for $36AUD in Medium.

I love this powder - it goes on top of my foundation and it really truly keeps away my dreaded shine. The compact comes with a cheap sponge but i don't use that, i put a little on a powder brush - a little goes a long way! The powder is translucent and doesn't seem to give too much of a white cast in photos. I haven't had any break outs or anything.. the only bad thing about this powder is the price :-(

I am so happy with it, I will be buying again when i run out!


on 6/26/2013 4:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this product! I have just hit pan and I'm already thinking about buying a backup. I brought this in medium but not only do I use it as a blot powder but also to set my under eye concealer as well. I love the sleek compact also. A great product to throw in your purse when your out and about all day and I will definitely re-purchase this. :-)


on 6/8/2013 11:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This powder is great for controlling shine! The medium colour is virtually undetectable on my face and it helps me set my concealer. I don't like using the puff that comes with it though - I like using a spongey pad instead because it's better at holding and placing the powder more evenly.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Absolute holy grail product. I will never be without this powder for the rest of my days. I've been using this powder just nearing 2 years and couldn't be more pleased with it. After trying it, I haven't used any other powder since.


Just to debrief and provide a little background information, I have terribly icky and annoying oily skin. Before this powder, I had just come to accept the fact that my face would just always be the shiny mess that it was. All foundations were terrible for me simply because I wasn't setting them with the right powders. Enter Mac blot powder: holy shizz. Honestly, I never thought that I would ever be able to find a powder that controlled my oily face the way this powder does. It's outstandingly light-weight and sheer, but it mattifies and sets foundation beautifully. I don't actually "blot" with it, I just use it to set my foundation every morning because that's all I need.


I'm not going to tell you that my face stays stark matte for the entire day, but it shine even close to that horrible way that makes me avoid mirrors. I just repurchased my thousandth compact today and felt compelled to write a review, seeing as it would be very difficult for me to live without this powder. Thank you, Mac!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/26/2012 3:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was surprised how light the medium tone was- it is too light for me in the summer, but okay for winter. (I can wear NC25, MUFE 40, DG 30, Clinique 9, Givenchy perfect praline, lancome 250 bisque W)
I like the pressed powder for its portability and it does work pretty well. I apply it as my last step before I walk out the door, and I always apply it over my liquid foundation because I dont like a shiny finish and have to set my makeup.
I do recommend getting a spray like beautysoclean and washing your brushes often to keep the powder from gunking up.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/6/2012 9:03:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Total HG for me. I've been using this product for years. I am NC20 with very oily/acne prone skin and use medium. This does not get cakey and does not build up on my skin thru the course of the day nor does it cause breakouts. I have tried many other powders and none compare to this one.


on 8/15/2012 5:47:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used this product for about a year and it was okay. Even though it isn't a pigmented/coverage powder, I didn't like the light orangeyness of the product...It did a fair job of keeping my t-zone matte and setting m foundation...but I found a cheaper alternative (Maybelline dream matte powder)


on 6/18/2012 1:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My skin is dry but I do experience oil around my nose and t-zone after wearing make up all day. I got tried of reapplying pressed and mineral powders all day long because it tends to build up and therefore become cakey so I bought this knowing it wouldn't put too much color back on but, would help keep my make up in place.

After using it on top of various foundations and setting powders I have to say this just no good. This always made my make up look so incredibly caked on in some spots in non existent in others.

I can't see myself repurchasing. Overall a bad product.


on 6/17/2012 4:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I LOVE this powder! I have gone through about three of these compacts. I never do that with any product, except for maybe one lipstick and a few eyeshadows. I'm a huge fan of Mac cosmetics and this product is probably one of my most favorite ones.


I use this powder in Medium. I have pretty fair skin during the winter months and I have never had a problem with this powder being too dark or off-color. I think perhaps unless you are super pale you will want to pick up the Medium powder.


I tend to use this as a setting powder. Until recently I've never really had a problem with my face needing to be blotted throughout the day, but now I do. I am not currently using this powder as I wanted to try out Coty's loose face powder. I do plan on repurchasing this product though and trying it out with my current foundation. I will try to update on how it functions as a "blotting powder" and not just as a setting powder. I personally recommend using this product as a setting powder that won't sufficate your skin. :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top