Avene Gentle Eye Makeup Remover

2.9

40 reviews

37% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water (Aqua), Triethanolamine, Sodium Chloride, Poloxamer 188, Acrylates/C10-30 Alkyl Acrylate Crosspolymer, Phenethyl Alcohol, Sorbitol.


on 8/27/2015 7:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Really disappointed with this eye make up remover.

I didn't find it works well at all, and more annoyingly the gel formulation was just a pain to use. If you apply it on a cotton pad, the gel sits on the pad and doesn't absorb. So you either apply a blob of gel onto your eye (having to scrunch up your eyes to stop it actually getting into your eye!) or you have to rub it into the pad then apply.

An alternative would be to apply it with your finger tips then massage.

I've ended up using mine as a light all over face cleanser. But even then it doesn't really cut the mustard.



on 7/30/2015 9:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am surprised to see so many low ratings. I have very sensitive eyes, and I was desperately looking for a make-up remover that would not make me 'cry' or leave me with burning eyes.

I have finally found what I was looking for with this product. I must admit I never wear waterproof make-up, so I cannot tell if it also removes this kind of make-up gently. But for removing normal mainstream eye make-up, it works very well.

For me it stands the test and I will definitely repurchase (and recommend to everyone with sensitive skin/sensitive eyes).


on 11/15/2014 3:00:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product is great for what it claims to do and it is unfortunate that there are such mixed reviews here. I don't wear any waterproof eye makeup so I can't really comment on the efficacy of the product for that. On a daily basis my eye makeup consists of covergirl brow pencil, MAC eyeshadow, MAC fluidline gel liner and covergirl lashblast mascara. I put the eye makeup remover on a cotton pad and then hold it over my eyes (closed of course) before I start wiping away the makeup. It's not magic in terms of dissolving all of the makeup in just one wipe. I do have to wipe gentle a few times before it is clean enough for me to feel confident that my cleanser will remove the rest. However, I also feel that if a makeup remover were to dissolve makeup really quickly, it would most likely be really abrasive and harmful to the delicate skin on my eye area and my lashes. I'm happy with this product and will continue to use it. I'm not sure if I would repurchase it though, since I feel like the Micellar lotion does a pretty decent job at removing my eye makeup already. I only bought this because I thought it might make removing my eye makeup easier, and for the most part it does, but not so much that I would call it amazing or even HG.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2014 4:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Should have read the review before buying….. I bought this because I wanted an alternative instead of my usual facial wipes.. Would I buy it? no…
It's too expensive for an eye makeup remover… better invest in eye cream instead.


on 9/18/2013 1:19:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Fantastic product! I wear contact lenses and have sensitive skin. I use many Avene products. This eye make-up remover is gentle and it works really well. I get my cotton pad a little wet with water and then apply the remover, my mascara comes off without my having to rub my eye too much. (I do not use a waterproof mascara). I highly recommend this product! I love all of the Avene products.


on 7/26/2013 5:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

i have to be honest. this eye makeup remover does not work. i asked the chemist for a remover that can get down waterproof mascara. she told me she'd get hers off easily with this product and highly recommended this.

well! the mascara (and even non-waterproof eyeliner) stays on! first, i thought i use it in a wrong way. but as it said on the bottle to simply remove the eye makeup with a cotton pad and the product, there can be only so many ways to do this .... i tried to use a generous amount of it. i tried soaking the pad and leave it on the eyes for a few minutes, so that i can loosen the makeup.... well.......... no effect whatsoever.
but with little (to none) removing effect comes more rubbing and this i need to avoid at all costs.

the worst is: it irritated my eyes. the product has a slightly "slimy" texture, like a light gel. so it "creeps" into the eyes easily and then it started to itch and to burn a little.
and in the morning i woke up with foggy sight and quite an amount of slimy dirt in the inner corners of my eyes.
i had to rinse them with eye drops to even get my contact lenses in.

since i haven't changed the mascara in the last year and had no problems with other removers, i blame it on this.

and for not working and hurting my eyes it is just to expensive, cost about 16 euros at the pharmacy (i live in Austria).

i now switched back to garnier's sensitive 2-phase make-up remover.
it works like a charm in comparison and is a lot cheaper (about 5 euros but it's 200 ml).


on 1/30/2013 4:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use Avene extremely gentle cleanser on my face and I find it good for cleansing and not drying. However I cannot use it on my eyes as it irritates the hell out of them. Why therefore I thought that the eye make up remover would be OK I don't know.
I bought it because I like to use products from the same brand but within minutes of using this product on my eyes I felt the familiar gritty feeling.
It's fine on my skin it's inside my eyes that get uncomfortable, when I blink it feels like I have bits of dirt in my eyes and it brings me out in white bumps under my eyelids.
I wear contact lenses and maybe this is why but I always take my contact lenses out before I remove my eye make up and Avene say this product is good for people that have eye problems or wear lenses.
I have used other eye make up removers and while some are more drying on the delicate skin none of them leave me with gritty eyes so I have no idea why a product marketed at sensitive skin would do this.
I have learnt my lesson now and will not be using any Avene products anywhere near my eyes. I would not buy this again.


on 12/29/2012 8:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

To be honest, I am a bit surprised by the so-so reviews for this product. My experience with it has been wonderful - after sampling many different eye makeup removers, this has emerged as my favorite by far, and I recently purchased my third bottle of it. The Avene brand is specifically targeted at sensitive skin and this part of the line is no exception. I find it that completely removes my eye makeup easily, and without irritating my eyes or the delicate skin around them whatsoever. If you wear contact lenses, however, I would definitely recommend removing them before using this product. Highly recommended, and since a bottle lasts at least six months, well worth the price.


on 12/7/2012 3:31:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love Avene for the most part but unfortunately this product fell flat on its face for me :( I use Avene for sensitive skin and this gave me one of the worst allergic reactions I've ever had and made hives develop around my eyes. After all of that it barely even removed my non waterproof mascara. You can get other makeup removers for so much cheaper that work a million times better. Save your money on this one.


on 12/4/2012 9:32:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I've always used Purete Thermale by Vichy as a makeup remover and i thought about giving this product a try since I've been using avene creams for quite awhile now and been happy with those.. Well this product didn't meet up my expectations.. It never removes all my makeup and I don't even use waterproof mascara or liner.. It is gentle but in the bottom line it doesn't fulfill its purpose so I will stick with my previous makeup remover..


Back to Top