La Prairie Age Management Balancer

4.3

15 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Ethoxydiglycol, Butylene Glycol, Peg-4, Glycerin, Lysine Pca, Algae Extract, Glycoproteins, Panax Ginseng Root Extract, Equisetum Arvense (Horsetail) Extract, Peg-12 Dimethicone, Lactic Acid, Pyrus Malus (Apple) Fruit Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Cola Nitida (Kola) Seed Extract, Peg-60 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Extract, Ppg-2-Isodeceth-12, Propylene Glycol, Fragrance, Linalool, Hexyl Cinnamal, Hydroxycitronellal, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Geraniol, Citronellol, Benzyl Benzoate, Butylphenyl Methylpropional, Evernia Furfuracea (Treemoss) Extract, Imidazolidinyl Urea, Dmdm Hydantoin, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Red 33, Violet 2


on 8/5/2015 5:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using La Prairie skincare for years, including both their Cellular Refining Lotion and Cellular Oil Control Tonic. I have combination skin and have tried dozens of toners, yet I always look for something better. I tried this toner hoping it would be a happy medium, with the added benefit of anti-aging properties. Unfortunately, it falls into the non-keeper category.

While not completely unpleasant, the scent is strange. At first it smells like grape, then almost takes on a chemical note. It's not abrasive yet doesn't exactly feel hydrating. Everything is just a bit off.

I've come to realize that one toner doesn't fit all– meaning I need to use two toners on my face; one for my normal/dry areas which include my forehead, cheeks, neck, and chest while I need another for my oily/acne prone areas which are my chin and nose. This toner isn't going to satisfy either of those needs. Perhaps it's best suited for those who are older, but my 39-year-old skin doesn't like this product.

I've gone back to using La Prairie Cellular Refining Lotion on my normal/dry areas and their Cellular Oil Control Tonic on my oily and ace-prone areas. While expensive at first, they both last a long time since I'm only using very little of each product twice a day. I get about six months using two toners. Sadly, the Age Management Balancer is being returned after two dissatisfying weeks.



on 9/22/2012 3:46:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I bought this toner after having already tried the La Prairie 'Refining Lotion'. I wasn't too impressed with the refining lotion, which although gave me a clear complexion it didn't do anything to minimise my pores and I ended up with quite a few blackheads. I decided to try this 'Age Management Balancer' because of its 'retexurising' properties, which I was hoping would exfoliate my skin to remove any blackhead forming residue, so far so good and my skin looks lighter and brighter.
This product is alcohol free (which was the main reason for me spending so much on a toner to replace my great, but alcohol containing, Nina Ricci toner) and I was a bit disappointed when I first started using this, it smelt so chemically strong and felt drying on the skin, it didn't feel like the natural kind of product I was expecting as the refining lotion toner had a much more natural feel.
I think you get a good amount of product for the price, £64 for 250ml bottle, as I only need to use one dab on a cotton wool bud for my entire face. I reckon one bottle will last me an entire year! The down side, is the fact the bottle is glass and so big makes it not particularly travel friendly. Plus, even though you get a good amount of product for the £64, it is a lot to spend only to find out you don't actually like the product. I think it would be better if they sold travel size versions, as well, so you could spend less to try the product and have travel friendly ones for when you need them.
Still on the search for my HG alcohol free toner.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I love my toners but this is my collection's crowning glory.
Exfoliating but gentle. Extremely high quality ingredients. Leaves a moist, clean non-filmy after-feel. Addictive scent. Gorgeous glass bottle. Generous fill. Perfect.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2009 2:10:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Excellent toner. My skin is sensitive, and this toner cleans well, but is neither irritating nor drying. It's pricey, but worth the cost; I've been using it for years.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/17/2008 8:14:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This toner cleanse very well, I can feel that my skin is clean and very smooth after that.
The only problem was the smell - like some kind of permament hair colour staff. But at the moment after a month I just start to like it :|)

I had the foam cleanser and was happy , because I had it for about a year, so I thought this product will be this same.
This is big size and the bottle is huge, but after a month I passed the blue line , so I think it gonna last for about 3-4 months - hopefully not :( I am using this every night.

Two minuses for the bottle - can't imagine what if I drop it ? And another for the price.


on 5/18/2008 4:44:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the Age management balancer to improve my skintone and cleanse my pores more thoroughly. The elder I get, the thinner my skin becomes and more sensitive. It reacted badly lately to harsh treatment like mechanical peeling - I can't use the retexturizing serum nor the scrub, they make my face just red. But this toner is a very good solution: It removes the last residue of my cleansing milk pm and am I use just the toner. My skin looks more even-toned after 4 days of usage. A little goes a very long way, the bottle will probably last for a year. A plus is that all moisturizers I apply just after this, seem to sink deeper into the skin. I use the hydrating serum pm and the anti-ageing emulsion spf 30 am. My skin looks still fresh and glowy in the afternoons. Will definitely repurchase, but use this only pm in the winter.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/5/2007 4:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I ADORE this toner...is so good for my prone,combo skin...seconds after i apply it my skin look much more brighter and smooth. .I don't react well on many of La Prairie poducts but this one seems OK.
UPTADE.24/10 seems like this toner clogh my pores i really break out!! STRANGE


on 7/8/2006 1:01:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Replacing Glycolic DDF toner with this. Skin needed something a little gentler. Did try years ago but preferred the blue refining toner. My now 41 year old skin loves this. Was breaking out a little - that has since subsided. Also feel that pores are less clogged and therefore have the appearance of being smaller. Smells good, feels good and is so so gentle compared to other AHAs. Combined with the foam cleanser. Still using DDF EP3 moisturizer as I love it. Always liked La Prarie mositurizers too (especially skin caviar cream) but... they are very pricey but the Balancer lasts so long that it doesn't seem to be too bad a price to me. I did order some retexturizer booster too.

ps: I actually love the glass bottles ;-) They look and feel so clean and opulent ;-)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/18/2005 7:52:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I got a 30ml deluxe sample of this from a friend. And the only thing I could say is "superb". This removes any last trace of cleanser from your face with mild exfoliation and nice moisturizing effect. The NT$2,500(US$75.76) is quite reasonable comparing to my current whitening toner.(also from La Prairie, NT$4,500(US$136.37), Asia only) But I wish they can remove the unnecessary colorant and fragrance from this.


on 8/8/2005 2:43:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I just love this toner. I have combination skin and at night I don't need any other moisturizer but this great toner. I wake up with skin perfectly hydratated and kindly exfoliated (it contains AHAs). Since i started using this my skin seems smoother and blemishes have disappeared. The only thing I don't like is the smell but that's something you can get used to with time. This is expensive but a bottle lasts for a long time. I will definitely repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top