Rimmel • Soft Kohl Kajal Eye Pencil in Jet Black • Eyeliner

rated 3.6(199 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 7/12/2013 3:20:00 PM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Rimmel says their Soft Kohl Kajal will give you "soft, smudgeable lines. Fade resistant colour pencil gives dense colour application which can be blended into the lid of a softly smudged look. Very easy to apply formula." Rimmel offers a total of eight shades, I have Jet Black. I got this eyeliner essentially for free, it came in a value pack along side Rimmel's Lash Accelerator Serum. The value pack sold for $9.99, the price of the lash serum alone. Rimmel's Soft Kohl Kajals contain 1.2 grams of product and sell for $3-5 each, depending on where you buy. This eyeliner is ophthalmologist tested. Rimmel is owned by Coty Inc, a company with a questionable animal testing policy. This product was made in Italy.
Rimmel's Soft Kohls are standard, traditional pencil eyeliners. The barrel is wood and coated to match the color of the product. Luckily, the wood is smooth and doesn't seem to splinter when sharpened. A black plastic cap sits firmly in place atop the pencil. The Rimmel logo, product and shade name are printed on the pencil in silver lettering. I guess there isn't too much else to say about a plain old kohl pencil.
When Rimmel called this eyeliner the "Soft Kohl", they weren't kidding, its almost too soft. This eyeliner glides along the lash line, depositing a pigmented, black line. This eyeliner seemed really promising, initially, but right away I noticed some problems. Rimmel's Soft Kohl is so soft that it bits break off during application and sharpening. At first I thought I was applying too much pressure, but really it seems like this liner is crumbly by nature. Because of this texture issue, this pencil liner needs to be sharpened after just about every use. Kohl eyeliners are supposed to be easily smudged, and Rimmel's Soft Kohl certainly is, it smokes out with little effort but maintains it's color well. Jet Black stays black no matter how much you smudge it. My real problem with Rimmel's Soft Kohl Kajal is that it never fully sets, causing it to smear all over my upper and lower eyelid. I only get about two hours of wear from Rimmel's eyeliner before it begins to melt down my face and eventually fade away. I don't suggest using Rimmel's Soft Kohl on the waterline, it doesn't show up well, nor does it last for more than half an hour.
Rimmel's Soft Kohl Kajal Eyeliner in Jet Black has some strong points, but it also has a lot of negatives. This affordable pencil liner is a breeze to apply and blend. The color payoff is great and the Jet Black shade is a nice, deep, velvety, matte black that stays true even when smudged out. The problem is that this eyeliner never stops smudging, it ends up everywhere. If, by chance, you like the raccoon look, grab Rimmel's Soft Kohl, but otherwise skip it. The Rimmel ScandalEyes Waterproof Kohl Kajals are worth the extra buck or two.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lilil95 on 7/12/2013 11:35:00 AM more reviews by Lilil95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This eyeliner is so hard it hurts to put it on and once you do it smudges everywhere! I returned it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 SonnyCat on 5/31/2013 8:53:00 PM more reviews by SonnyCat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because I realized that I had been using nothing but liquid and gel liners for quite some time due to my oily lids, but I thought I should have the option of a slightly softer look. I heard that these were pretty good, relatively inexpensive liners that stayed put well.

For a pencil, this has really good colour payoff. It goes on black and opaque. The staying power on my lids is just ok. It tends to run at the outer corners of my eyes by the afternoon and I just don't have the patience to deal with that. The other problem is that it won't stay on my waterline for even a minute. I also find that the pencil is difficult to sharpen to a nice point and I definitely waste a lot of product. All in all, the staying power seems slightly better than other drugstore kohl pencils I've tried (Revlon, Maybelline) but I'm not satisfied so I don't tend to use it much. When I do use it up, I will continue my quest for a truly long-wearing soft pencil, if that exists.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clouer03 on 5/28/2013 8:54:00 PM more reviews by clouer03

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Pros: Goes on really easy, really good for smokey eye Cons: smudges right off on water line, smudges overall, I go through the product fast too

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 krstnl on 5/1/2013 1:24:00 AM more reviews by krstnl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

The best thing about this is that it glides so smoothly it doesn't irritate my (sensitive) eyes at all. It's okay for tightlining but NOT for the waterline &it's pretty pigmented. This product smudges pretty easily (which isn't what I personally want but it's good if you want to create a smokey look) but I guess the good thing is that when it smudges, it doesn't go all over the place underneath my eyes. I won't be buying this product again but I will continue using it until it's gone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 windypoint on 2/22/2013 11:45:00 PM more reviews by windypoint

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Been using one version or another of this since I was 8 and raided my sister's makeup bag. Soft, heavily pigmented, smudgable, inexpensive. If you're just starting out in makeup and have the coloring to use black eyeliner I strongly recommend this as a first purchase.. Make sure you've got a strategy for removing it or you'll be panda eyes in the morning.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Veyaria on 12/21/2012 3:32:00 PM more reviews by Veyaria

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really love this eyeliner.


The consistency is lovely and glides on smoothly. Smudges well but also holds a nice line. I am terrible with using pencils to line my upper lid, but often use this pencil on my waterline and to tightline.


It stays put for hours and looks great. The black is very dark and opaque and stays that way.


This pencil comes with a cap and must be sharpened, but the tip is thin and smooth when sharpened. My only caution is to be careful putting the cap on--if you really shove it on, it can smoosh the tip of the liner and make a large mess. You do not need to shove the cap on for it to stay firmly. I have never had the cap come off in a makeup bag.


I also have the White. I use it under colorful, bright shadows to make them pop. I swipe it lightly across my lower waterline to give my eyes a wider, brighter effect when I don't wear other eyeliner.


This is a quality eyeliner for the price. I will be purchasing this again and again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TrisHermioneKatniss on 11/18/2012 6:46:00 AM more reviews by TrisHermioneKatniss

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This eyeliner is my baby. With very little effort, you can create a perfectly smudged smokey eye. It's also great to put in your waterline. It's pigmented, it's a flawless texture, it's just amazing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 apinchofspice on 10/16/2012 6:59:00 PM more reviews by apinchofspice

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love how this eyeliner is really soft and that's the main reason why I have re purchased it, its great for tightlining. However I have found that it does smudge and fade from my waterline :( I'm sure there are better liners out there for waterline but for the softness of the pencil, I would buy it again for tightlinng! (Something I can't leave the house without doing)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SnappyLeeLee on 10/5/2012 11:08:00 PM more reviews by SnappyLeeLee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

In my opinion this is the best Pencil you can buy. I have never had a smudging problem and it lasts for a long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Eyeliner products