Dermalogica • Special Cleansing Gel • Cleansers

rated 3.8(411 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 rebeckylee on 10/18/2014 8:14:00 AM more reviews by rebeckylee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This is the best cleanser I have ever used! Takes all my makeup off easily, you only need the smallest bit and my skin feels fresh but not tight or dry. Its a bit pricey but the 250ml bottle lasted well over 8 months. Totally worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emileesays on 9/28/2014 1:09:00 PM more reviews by emileesays

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have combination skin, slightly sensitive. I don't have too much of a problem with breakouts other than blackheads and occasional t zone breakouts.

I love love love this face wash. I'm really into smells and this has a relaxing lavender smell to it. It is a gel but feels so smooth and creamy when you are rubbing it in. It comes to a nice lather and removes my makeup (I wear liquid and powder everyday) better than any product I've used. When using my toner after I usually don't have any extra makeup on my cotton pad. I use morning and night.

My face does feel a little bit tight after using, but it is immediately gone after moisturizing. I just use a basic Aveeno moisturizer. I don't really agree with those saying if you have acne do not use, because this usually does a great job of keeping my breakouts at bay.

I would recommend this product to someone who wears makeup on a daily basis and their main concern is getting all the gunk off.

It's a little bit pricey but I usually end up trying to find a dupe for a cheaper price and running back to this every time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 9/21/2014 2:58:00 AM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I wanted to try this cleanser but it contains sooo many sulfates! Omg.
If you use this cleanser, do not be surprised to get acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* angellove1705 on 6/9/2014 2:19:00 PM more reviews by angellove1705

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of this and I do like this product. It removes all the excess oil and grime off my face. It did not irritate my acne which is something I look for in a cleanser. It has a nice scent that is non-irritating. It can be a little drying though so a moisturizer is a must after using it. I think because of the drying propeties this would only work for me in the warmer months. This is not a bad cleanser, but I do not think it is something that would be best for me all the time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 daisydaisys on 4/6/2014 5:19:00 PM more reviews by daisydaisys

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Too drying. Won't repurchase. Has SLS in it so terrible for acne prone oily skin. Smells great though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lynnlovesyou211 on 3/23/2014 5:46:00 PM more reviews by lynnlovesyou211

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

So this is my final review. I have repurchased this product 3 times now and it's safe to say that this is my holy grail product! Wow it's amazing! The minute I got a sample I was hooked! It leaves my skin feeling refreshed and sometimes i don't even need to wear moisturizer because the cleansing is enough! My skin feels smooth and my whiteheads have been clearing up. I recommend this product to anyone who is looking for an amazing cleanser! Today I bought the 500ml one which was a huge step!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Arrosynn on 2/21/2014 3:37:00 PM more reviews by Arrosynn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

So I ended up getting this product after it was recommended to me by our esthetician at work, (I had originally bought the Dermal Clay Cleanser, which ended up being too heavy for my combination skin and made me break out with terrible cystic acne) I got a giant 16.9 oz bottle of the special cleansing gel though, and I have been using it for about two months now maybe? Huge difference! I have not had more than one zit on my face at a time, even before my time of the month when I would normally break out, I didn't! I was amazed! My skin gets a tiny bit dry after using it but it's simple enough to just through a simple unscented moisturizer on afterwards. My skin feels and looks great! Even though I still wear makeup everywhere I go (I have the worst dark circles under my eyes... If anyone knows a cure for that, PLEASE let me know!)

I would definitely recommend this product to anyone with combination or oily skin, it has an excellent foam and I really feel like it helps to get rid of excess oil. The smell is also very neutral, my boyfriend even doesn't mind it! Sometimes i'll get him to wash my back with it, occasionally i'll have breakouts on my back from going to the gym (sweating). It's made a world of difference, and you only need about a quarter of a pump to cover your face, neck and chest. This bottle is going to last forever, so even though it is expensive, in the long run it really is worth it. I don't like the pump though, you can't travel with the bottle without it spilling everywhere!

Despite the packaging though, I love this product! Awesome job Dermalogica!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MoaLoa on 2/8/2014 4:10:00 AM more reviews by MoaLoa

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Removes makeup well but it is just too drying for me unfortunately :/
This leaves my skin tight and irritated

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gialastuin on 2/3/2014 9:01:00 PM more reviews by gialastuin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

My relatives and I loved this product. The only weakness was the packaging with pump, it was certainly tricky to be brought for traveling. Foamy and soft on skin, amazing and probably lasted forever since I only used 1/2 pump every facial wash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blissful86 on 1/2/2014 8:58:00 PM more reviews by blissful86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It saddens me that Dermalogica is known as one the best beauty and skincare line... But speaking from my own experience with this product, after using for few days my skin became extremely dry and tight and itchy!

I even noticed little acne bumps appearing from this special cleansing gel, I understand some have pointed out that this product "used" to be good before but it seems theyy have changed some of the ingredients or altered it in some way that is affecting a lot of people with severe side effects. No wonder the counter lady discounted this product to me more than 50% off the retail price and I am not happy!!

What really saved my skin is going back to natural cleansing methods and now my skin has gone back to its normal state.

Will I trust Dermalogica again...? NOPE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Cleansers products