Laura Mercier • Smudge Brush • Makeup Brushes

rated 4.5(15 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hippodeem on 6/16/2014 10:23:00 PM more reviews by hippodeem

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

very scratchy. the first from laura mercier. other than that. i wish it was more flatter for smudging and a bit bigger. not a keeper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 inbetweendays on 1/15/2013 11:14:00 AM more reviews by inbetweendays

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

A LM sales associate used the Smudger brush to blend a swipe of caviar stick on my eyelid and I was instantly hooked. It does a great job at both top and bottom lids for lining as well as smudging. It is densely packed natural fibers with very short, stiff bristles. Yes, I agree with all the other reviewers in that it is very scratchy. But I think that scratchiness ends up being a strength of this brush. It does an excellent job of dispersing color and if it were too soft, it might not be as effective, imo. I have used it to line my upper waterline, as well, and it is fine in a pinch (I prefer a traditional push brush for this task). I like how precise it is and how well it picks up pigment. I am extremely happy with this brush and would definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nailpolishdebby on 2/4/2012 10:42:00 PM more reviews by nailpolishdebby

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'd looked up reviews/youtube tutorials for smudge brushes.Nars,Chanel and Laura Mercier had good reviews. I went with the Laura Mercier because, I can't believe I'm saying this, @$24 (+tax and shipping ) was the more reasonably priced and looked to be the smaller sized of the 3. I wish that I had gone with one of the other 2 brands or even the MAC 214. Why? To smudge your bottom lash line, you have to use it straight on (rather then at an angle or slightly sideways) which is where the brush is at it's most scratchy.And VERY uncomfortable if you accidently get too close to the water line. Yes, I could wash it alot to get it softer or use it til it gets there. But for the price you shouldn't have to...Thank goodness the store I baught it @ has a good return policy.The quest for the perfect (or as close to perfect) smudge brush continues.

Suggestions welcome :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LibertyRose on 11/5/2011 12:13:00 PM more reviews by LibertyRose

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this brush daily since 2008 and I've never seen it shed, not even once. Very impressed. The "Laura Mercier" logo on the handle has long worn off, but the brush works like it is brand new. Actually, better than brand new, because it felt a little coarse when I first got it, but now it's been completely smoothed out. Even though this is billed as a smudger, I also use it as a liner brush. It is small and dense, good for picking up the chalkiest of shadows and distributing color to tiny corners around the eye or your lashline. I also own LM's crease brush and all-over eyeshadow brush, but this is my favorite.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 abusleb on 12/5/2010 1:03:00 AM more reviews by abusleb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Good size. Easy to use. Smudges well and you can also apply a thin line of eyeshadow with it. A little scratchy though that's why I took one lippie out. Otherwise it's a good one. I think it would last a long time...

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lauralikes on 5/20/2010 12:37:00 PM more reviews by lauralikes

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This brush is great for smudging out black liner and makng it more rocker-grungey. But when you think about it, anything can do that...even our finger. what I LOVE this brush for is to set my waterline eyeliner. It's so small and precise that it pats eyeshadow on the waterline super easily and effectively!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FoXyKiTten01 on 2/2/2009 8:00:00 PM more reviews by FoXyKiTten01

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

After much diliberation and reaserch, I finally settled on this smudge brush. I used to have the NARS smudger, but it was too "thick" and I don't really have a lot of crease space, so it wasn't really precise. The NARS brush was also a bit prickly. However, the Laura Mercier brush is fantastic in all the aspects where the NARS smudger fell short. The LM brush is super soft and is much thinner for more precise smudging. The brush also slants on both sides, comming to a "slight" point so to speak. This brush is perfect to line eyes as well as to smoke out my liner. I LOVE this brush!!! For all you gals with smaller creases, this is a must have!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* eurodivas on 10/13/2008 10:49:00 AM more reviews by eurodivas

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very good smudge brush. I use this almost every day and it is very precise and effective. I am mostly unsatisfied with the make up brushes from Laura but this brush is actually worth the price. It is soft but at the same time allows for very controlled use and application. I will not be replacing this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 10/9/2008 2:00:00 PM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The Smudge Brush is one of my favorite and most-used brushes in my collection. It's made out of an all-natural mix of pony and blue squirrel hair. The bristles are very densely packed, and the brush always holds its shape perfectly.
This brush really is a multi-tasker. It's great for smudging, obviously; but it's also great for using dark colored shadows as a liner, or for lining with loose pigments. Also, any time when you really want to pack on thick color, this brush is perfect. I frequently use this brush to blend dark eyeshadow colors into Laura Mercier's Caviar Cake liner (which I usually apply with the Flat Eyeliner brush). The smudge brush usually picks up a lot of color, and it places it very precisely exactly where you want it.
This brush is also great for adding a bit of color to your lower lash line without looking too harsh, or like overkill.



I would absolutely buy this brush again, and I consider it one of the staples of my brush collection.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TigiStylist on 5/5/2007 2:41:00 AM more reviews by TigiStylist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Adore the Smudge Brush! Makes it so easy! I'm a huge Bobbi gal, but her Smudge Brush is perfect for crease work. Laura's is the best smudger!
I don't like Laura's foundations. I only like her eyeliners, and shadows, and specialty brushes. The specialty brushes kick Butt!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Makeup Brushes products