Ole Henriksen Aloe Vera Deep Cleanser

3.3

53 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Myreth Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycol Stearate, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Symphythum Officinale Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Tocopherol, Panthenol, Allantoin, Lecithin, Benzyl Alcohol, Eucalyptus Globulus Leaf Oil, Citric Acid, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Yellow 5 (Ci 19140), Blue 1 (Ci 42090).


on 9/20/2014 8:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I gave this baby a full 6-month trial because I wanted so badly to believe in it after coming off of an 8-year stint of ProActiv (I know, I know). I was promised a gentle cleanser that would help my acne while nourishing my skin and got... nothing. Literally nothing.

My skin didn't get ~~worse~~ per say, but it sure as heck didn't get any better. I have super oily hormonal-acne prone skin with dark-spot-scarring, and like I said - this did literally nothing to help any of the above.

For the price especially it's 100% not worth your money. I have recently switched to Boscia's Clear Complexion Cleanser and have experienced more results in a week than I did with 6 months of Ole Henriksen.



on 6/27/2014 3:15:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this product for my acne-prone skin. My skin is quite sensitive, a bit oily in the t-zone and has dry cheeks. Even though I do not wear a lot of makeup, I feel like this doesn't remove all of it (bareminerals foundation). It didn't do much for my face skin. I've used it for about 5 months now, and my skin is pretty much the same. On my back, on the other hand, I love it! It keeps the skin totally clean and breakout-free. Thumbs up for that!


on 5/10/2014 12:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Finally I have a found a cleanser that really helps with my oily, sensitive skin that is prone to acne. It cleanses very good and doesn't dry your skin like all other cleansers for oily skin do! It doesn't irritate my skin and really helped me with my redness. The only thing I'm unsatisfied is that it is very liquidy and goes away fast:( but it really helps. Also U might not like the smell at first but when u see the results you will get over it. Try it, u will fall in love. But I didn't like the toner that goes together with this cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/16/2014 9:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I love this stuff. I'm not going to go into specifics here, because there seems to be quite a few reviews. What I would like to say is that despite loving this stuff and possibly buying it again in the future, I hate the packaging and the consistency is on the thin side. Because of this, it doesn't last long at all. I ran out of this faster than any other face wash I've ever had and I'm just not up for repurchasing right now because of that. If there was more product for the same price in a better bottle, this would be my new favorite. I'm going back to Clinique Mild Liquid Facial Soap for now.


on 2/24/2014 2:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

First of all, my skin is combination. My skin is prone to oiliness, pimples and some dry patches. I chose the Ole Henriksen cleanser because I was using Sephora's product matcher and found this aloe vera cleanser to be the one with most of the things I was looking for in a cleanser. As well, it has positive reviews on Sephora. The bottle is seven ounces so it can last me about six months (just a guess). You do not need a capful like they say on the label (I think) because one capful is way too much! I use two or three small squeezes of the cleanser and it is enough to clean my whole face. I concentrate on the oilier bits of my skin, the t zone and my chin. The cleanser is not drying, very occasionally does my face feel dry after using the cleanser. If your cleanser is making your face very dry, that cleanser is not for you! A cleanser should not leave your face dry, it should leave it feeling not too dry or too oily. The smell of the cleanser is like grass or a medicine smell. I can't put my finger of the exact smell. Anyways, onto the price, I bought it for $26 at Sephora. I'm willing to spend extra on skincare because you only have one face, so treat the face nicely! :) Now, does it deliver what it says? Yes! I'm getting less pimples, my face is less dry after cleaning it (I used soap before *shudders*), and I like the ingredients it uses such as aloe. I will buy this cleanser again once I run out. I may also buy the matching toner. Oh and one complaint is I wish the cleanser had a pump. It's easier to control how much product is coming, so I took a lippie off of the packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/14/2013 2:14:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

So far, so very good! I have been using this cleanser for a year now and it is amazing!
It cleanses my oily/acne-prone skin nicely without stripping the skin of moisture.
The smell is amazing and very refreshing! The product seems very effective, so I also think that it is worth the price and it is worth trying.


on 3/31/2013 2:56:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I was given a sample of this cleanser by a Sephora associated. I used it for about a week and it was very drying to my skin. The cleanser has a nice texture and it foams well.


on 11/12/2012 2:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this cleanser a lot! I have tried a lot of different cheap and expensive facial cleansers but this is by far the best of my life and here's why:

I realized I have sensitive skin and CANNOT for the life of me use anything with benzoyl peroxide or salicylic acid for very long. I end up breaking out like crazy. I bought this because I thought it would be gentle but effective, and that's exactly what it does for me. It doesn't dry me out, it cleans my skin well, and it lasts for a LONG time.

I don't use a whole bottle cap, but instead I get like a quarter-sized amount on my fingertips and massage it into my skin. It does feel a little dry after I wash it off but I always use moisturizer. For what it's worth, it's an insignificant trade-off.

I recommend for anyone with sensitive and problematic area. Give it a try at least. I've already bought my second bottle this year and that's because I lost my first bottle of it. Otherwise, I would probably still be trying to finish the first one. It lasts a really long time so it's worth the price of $30.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have combination, acne prone skin, and at the time I was having problems with frequent breakouts. I decided to try this because it promised to clear up breakouts and keep oil under control without drying out my skin.
It is a light green gel cleanser that lathers up nicely and has n offensive smell. It leaves my skin feeling clean and fresh. I used it morning and night and it cleared up my breakouts within a month, although I noticed improvement in my blemishes and the texture of my skin shortly after I started using it. I never had problems with redness, dryness, irritation, etc.
I usually like to switch up my cleansers, and although I repurchased it, when I'm finished I'll probably try another cleanser.
It's a great cleanser, it's worth the price, and it does as it promises. I'll see if I can find something to top it, but that might be difficult. :)


on 3/21/2012 11:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I picked up a sample of this @ Sephora and used it for 3 days straight (am + pm) & followed up with the grease relief toner. My goal was to treat the active breakout on my cheeks + chin. This cleanser soothed and toned down the redness and sensitivity of my breakouts but it did not do much to reduce my acne. On the 4th night after seeing no results I used my bioderma cleanser for acne/oily skin and when I woke up all my blemishes were half as large as they were throughout the week. I'm glad I only picked up a sample... I wouldn't put $$ into this. I can't speak to a reduction in oil because I'm not to concerned about my oil I wanted it solely to target my acne. On the bright side this product is not drying at all and you get used to the weird smell.


Popular Face Skincare Products


Turmeric Mask
180 Reviews
Fix+
1280 Reviews
Rosehip Seed Oil
101 Reviews
Rosehip Oil
278 Reviews
Unblemish
38 Reviews
Grapeseed Oil
143 Reviews
Back to Top