Sephora Skin Smoothing Makeup Base

3.9

58 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Cyclopentasiloxane, Dimethicone Crosspolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Butylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben, Isobutylparaben.


on 5/8/2015 5:12:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I got this primer as a sample on stuff i got from sephora, and i fell in love with it, so i decided to buy the whole thing

It comes in a pump bottle, balm hand size, easy to use and to carry it in my bag.

Once i apply it, leaves my skin so smooth and silky, and it gets absorbed fast.

Makes the make up last longer, for sure will buy it again giving the fact that it is not that pricey



on 8/28/2014 7:04:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I bought this on a whim, just because when I was getting matched for Color IQ at Sephora, the woman used this under my foundation and I sort of fell in love with it on the spot. Although I'm not a huge fan of the consistency, I love what this stuff does, I have normal skin and putting it on before I apply my liquid foundation is a must, it leaves my skin feeling dewy and smooth. I wouldn't recommend this for oily skin because it can be a bit greasy, but other than that its definitely a product I will repurchase and it's worth the money.


on 9/28/2012 1:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I never knew what it was like to have makeup "slide off" my face. I have oily/combo skin but I can't really say I have ever had a case of the oilys that bad. Interestingly enough, a few hours after using this primer before I applied my MAC F&B...OH MY LANTA I couldn't believe what was going on. Pores exaggerated and foundation patchy probably from separating on my face. Actually looked like it was going to melt off my face! Real sexy!
So I will say the product does not claim it will mattify. But no where on the product description does it say it's for creating a dewy look (aka an "oil slick" to girls that battle excess oil).
Thankfully I only had to use it once to know it would never go on my face again. No breakouts have appeared and because I received this as a sample I didn't loose anything.
Just want to caution girls with oily skin. If your still thinking about trying this primer, get a sample and wear for a day!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Does what it says: smooths my makeup. Suprisingly it reduces the redness in my face, not much but a tad. Doesn't help my makeup stay at all, long school days without replying and with normal to oily skin, i need a great primer. This was't it. Won't repurchase.


on 2/14/2012 11:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Pro's: Did the job
Con's: Expensive, broke me out


on 10/1/2011 6:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I got a free sample of this recently. and i also used it about 6 years ago when primers became popular. This time around it felt just as nice and made my skin so smooth for makeup however a couple days later my usually clear skin broke out into cystic acne. 3 very hard under the skin pimples the kind that never pops, feel/ look more like bug bites and takes weeks to go away. I have had almost identical bouts of breakouts with other face products so maybe its the silicone or another ingredient but my skin doesn't like it.


on 5/7/2011 3:28:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It does what it says... i notice that my skin is really smooth and foundation is very easy to apply!


on 2/20/2011 10:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This is such a great primer. I've used moisturizer only before with liquid foundation and I have so so so many acne scars and I use the Revlon Colorstay and I found myself having to use 2 layers on that PLUS concealer and you would still be able to see my scars I was so self conscious. But, after using the Sephora base it was unbelievable I am so happy with this product because I only need one coat of my foundation and no more feeling heavy on my face! I suggest this to anyone and you only need a half a pump; it's plenty.
Good luck!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 6/14/2010 12:18:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this product! I got it at sephora as a gift was perfect I apply it after putting on my Mary Kay moisturizer, makes my makeup last all day I tend to b a little oily around my chin n forehead N this helps control the oil around it my makeup doesn't melt off my face N lasts me 6-8 hrs with out blotting I wld recommend to anyone!


on 6/11/2010 1:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

The price for the size of this primer is a bit off-putting, but nonetheless, I really like this primer. It does smooth out my skin and makes my pores look smaller! Anything that helps my pores look less noticible is great in my book :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top