Almay Clear Complexion Blemish Healing Makeup

3.8

638 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

NEW FORMULA WITH PUMP >>> (Active Ingredient : Salicylic Acid 0.6%), Water, Cyclopentasiloxane, Cyclohexasiloxane, Butylene Glycol, Nylon-12, Trimethylsiloxysilicate, Dimethicone, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, Boron Nitride, Isodecyl Neopentanoate, Talc, PEG/PPG-18/18 Dimethicone, Sodium Chloride, Alumina, Dipotassium Glycyrrhizate, Methoxypropylgluconamide, Panthenol, Panthenyl Ethyl Ether, Fomes Officinalis (Mushroom) Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Centaurea Cyanus Flower Extract, Spiraea Ulmaria Extract, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein, Trisiloxane, Phytantriol, Tribehenin, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Silica, Methoxy Amodimethicone/Silsesquioxane Copolymer, Dimethicone/Bis-Isobutyl PPG-20 Crosspolymer, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Methicone, EDTA, Tetrasodium EDTA, Phenoxyethanol, Propylparaben, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben --- MAY CONTAIN (CI 77891/Titanium Dioxide, CI 77491/CI 77492/CI 77499/Iron Oxides, CI 77947/Zinc Oxide)


on 2/19/2015 4:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I went out of my way to write this review, beacuse I fell in love with this foundation!! I have a difficulty finding a foundation that will not leave marks looking like I'm wearing a mask, or make me look like a ghost ( between fair and medium fair), so I wasn't expecting this to be any different than the other million I've tried. So I was in complete shock when I saw how beautifully it matched :) The coverage is amazing, lasts all day, and looks so natural when brushing on its matching pressed powder. I'm definitely hoping they keep this line, will continue to use and continue to recommend!!



on 2/14/2015 8:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was my first ever foundation and I still use it! I find almay products are the ebst because they don't break me out compared to other drugstore foundations. This foundation is nostalgic to me because I had really bad acne when I first bought it and after using it (along with my Proactiv products) my skin improved. I could see the improvement when I took my makeup off at the end of the day and that's something that really made me feel beautiful!

Matte finish, can make it light-ish coverage if you use it with a moisteriser or medium if you build it. Matching powders and concealers help it last the whole day. Use it with an illuminator (I use FOA mineral illuminator) and it gives you a glow, blush stays on longer with it. I really love it, would defs recommend to any beauty babes with mild to heavy acne or pimple problemosss


on 1/29/2015 6:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

At first I liked this foundation when I had oily skin and lived in a humid climate. But now that I live in a dry climate, my skin has changed to combination/dry and this foundation does not look good at all! It is very thin and dries on my skin, revealing large pores and imperfections. Does not cover up redness very well. Not very buildable and just a horrible foundation for someone with dry skin.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing! I have extremely acne prone skin(Stage 4 acne) and I have noticed a difference after using this. It doesn't have an extremely heavy covering, which I like because I have oily skin and too much liquid foundation causes buildup. I have it in "buff" 200. The only downside was the pump, it seems to skip quite often and squirt too much out. Otherwise it was a great buy!


on 1/2/2015 1:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am a major mineral foundation fan. While I do journey out to products that aren't of mostly natural origin from time to time, my skin care and face makeup usually has to be all natural. Most liquid foundations feel horrible, and do nothing for my skin. A lot of the time, they offer less than medium coverage, and have ingredients that I try to steer clear from.

Once in a blue moon, for some reason, my face will not take mineral makeup - at all. Being acne prone, I decided to give this a go for days when my skin didn't like my normal stuff.

The first time - IN EVER - I have had a foundation MATCH ME 100%! I am pale with massive yellow undertones, and the shade in Buff is a dream! Finding a pale foundation with nearly no crazy pink undertones to it is nearly impossible. Not all of us pale girls are pink! This was a win, for sure!

This applies evenly and lightweight. It has some decent coverage too, even when it feels like a tinted moisturizer on! I can get light to almost medium coverage with this in one layer. I can get decent medium coverage if I do an extra layer over acne scars. This does not settle into dry patches, or the sides of my nose like some other foundations I have tried. This usually will not last a whole day, but I have no gripes with its lasting power.

I can put a thin layer of this on, with a thin layer of my mineral foundation on problem areas, and I have 100% full coverage without having a mask on.

However, this does nothing for my acne in the slightest. I kind of didn't expect it to, and it wasn't my main reason for buying it.

The pump bottle is just super amazing! It's so clean and easy to use. I never get out too much foundation. This is also another win for this product.

I hope they never stop making this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/18/2014 1:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This foundation is great for casual days when you really want to look natural. It controls oil very well, has medium coverage, doesn't even need a powder to set it. I did get the powder too, but it isn't necessary. I use ELF setting spray on top of it instead. It hasn't caused any breakouts. I haven't noticed less breakouts, but I feel better about putting it on daily. The only downside is that there is no SPF. It has no smell to it and I like the pump.


on 12/17/2014 4:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Before I started using this foundation, I used Loreal's True Match, and although they do offer an enormous variety, I was never satisfied. I wasn't the lightest OR the second lightest, I was in between, and as you may know the packaging for those is not that great, so it was a hassle having to mix both shades. True Match also seemed to be clogging up my pores, since I noticed that if I didn't wear it for a while my face cleared up.
Being very acne prone, especially around that time of the month, I searched online for a good foundation that fights acne. I decided to give this Almay a try and it was a success. I'm in their lightest shade (Ivory 100), and it is almost perfect for me. I do notice that it can sometimes look a bit ghostly and even too pink compared to my neck, since I'm not necessarily pale, just quite fair.
This foundation is amazing! I I think that it does help keep my blemishes at bay, and definitey does not cause me to break out more. I also have some stubborn dry patches, especially during the winter, and it can look a bit drying on my skin, but if I moisturize enough it's fine for the most part.
I like to apply multiple layers (up to 3 on specific areas where I need more coverage, like cheeks), and it builds up quite nice. I am in love with this product and do not plan on trying anything else in a long time.


on 11/13/2014 6:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have oily, acne-prone skin, and it's hard for me to find a decent foundation. So far I have been liking this one. The foundation itself is a bit runny and comes in a clear, pump bottle. The pump is sanitary and easy to use. I use about one and a half pumps to cover my face. I use a foundation brush to apply and blend. It does dry quickly, so I would suggest working fast. The foundation gives a medium coverage and is fairly build-able as well for covering redness and blemishes. I'm not sure it really helps a lot with keeping my skin clear, but it does have good coverage. This foundation almost has a liquid to powder finish and is very matte. Overall, with a bit of powder to set the make up, it lasts about four hours (6 max). One thing I don't like about this foundation is that it really gunks up my make up brush. I have to clean the brush almost every day. Also, I purchased the lightest shade because I have very pale skin, but it is almost too light. Definitely double check before purchasing a shade. Price isn't terrible, but a little pricey for a drugstore brand. Overall though, I like it and would repurchase it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Honestly this was horrible for me! I bought it to replace my elf acne fighting foundation because the shades were lighter and applied it using my buffing brush. At first I really liked the finish. After it set though it began to flake and cake. Within an hour I was really unhappy with the way it looked. It had also oxidized. I was hoping this product would restore my faith in Almay. It honestly solidified my dislike for them. I can't say it won't work for you though.


on 11/5/2014 8:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is another reason why i give up on wearing foundation and just wear concealer. EVERYTHING ACCENTUATES MY DRY SKIN. i exfoliate 1-2 times a week, and wear facial lotion and a moisturizing oil to combat flakiness. And i feel it has done a pretty good job, and i actually thought the problem had gone away. I usually only wear concealer on blemishes but i wanted to try foundation as it seems easier. Yet again, i have a foundation fail. The minute I put it on I say outloud, "Really?" and have to wash it off. Nothing ever looks natural and always accentuates my dry skin. The closest i've gotten to natural, all-over coverage is a Holika Holika Petit BB cream. oh welllllllllll.
P.S. the coverage is...meh...not so good. Could I be anymore of a Debby Downer!? haha


Back to Top