MAC Frost - Deep Truth


201 reviews

81% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$


on 10/18/2014 6:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Gorgeous shade just don't like the formula.It did not go on smoothly,evenly or blend as well as many of my other MAC eye shadows. I use it as a smoky eye but found a better dupe, Sally Girl Indigo(Sally beauty supply brand) & its only $1.I ended up giving Mac Deep Truth to my sister thats how much better Sally Girl Indigo was.Sally Girl also has the color Navy if you can't find Indigo.Color looks great with Mac Stars n Rockets,Steamy, Vibrant Grape.

on 10/10/2014 10:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Pretty shade and pigmented (with eyeshadow base though). Just not practical for work or school. My advice would be to skip it and go for a neutral shade. I don't know what I was thinking. I could've bought a cheaper blue eyeshadow for that one new year night. Never wore it again.

on 2/10/2014 8:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really don't like Deep Truth. It's the only eyeshadow from MAC that creases on me even with an eye primer. I have no problem using it in the outer corner or on the bottom lash line but whenever I use it as an all over the lid color, it creases. It's somewhat dry and goes on uneven. The color is pretty but there are a lot of dupes with a better quality. I wouldn't repurchase.

on 1/21/2014 12:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a lovely dark blue with lots of shine. The texture isn't the best, but isn't the worst either. It's dry and somewhat stuff, I get quite a bit of fall out from it. It's not a unique shade so I'm sure you could find a better quality one, but I don't use it often enough to mind the faults.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 1/5/2014 3:29:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Absolutely gorgeous on my dark brown eyes, light olive toned skin. Super soft, finely textured, highly pigmented. For such a dark shadow, the smoothness with which this goes on is controllable and consistent. I use a bit in my outer v or outer crease and it makes my eyes pop. If applied lightly it's subtle enough to darken the crease and add a slight blue tint without screaming, "hey, I'm wearing blue eyeshadow!" (Especially important at my very conservative workplace). Go get it already!

on 11/13/2013 3:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Love using it on the bottom lashline (by it self or on a black eyeliner to make it spark) or as an eyeliner in the the top lashline (not in the water line!). It also blends great :) I think won't buy it again and try contrast instead.

on 5/19/2013 2:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It's pretty, but the texture is hard to blend and the color payoff is quite poor. My least favorite Mac shadow I have even though when you do get it on and blended it can look amazing

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Black

I think MAC carries one the best arrays of blue shades. The entire blue to green spectrum can be found in their line.

Deep Truth is a metallic deep true blue shade. I don't find it to have any other underlying tones. It's totally and utterly blue <3

Normally am a brown smoky eye kindda girl, but I bought this since I wanted something to break the pattern and am glad I got it.

The pigmentation is good, you need to pack it though and blend it out well since it can get a bit patchy. I didn't experience much fallout with this one. And blending is just a teeny bit difficult. But the awesomeness of the color makes it all worth it. I think it's not just a shade you can easily find. Blue shades are usually hit or miss. This one's definitely hit!

I've paired this with shades like Print, Typographic and Carbon but I'm really looking forward to trying it out as a liner as well as with purple shades cuz I think it'll be drop dead gorgeous!

You can also layer Deep Truth on top of a white pencil eyeshadow like NYX Jumbo Pencil in'll just give it this wonderful dimension and brightness ;)

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

on 9/21/2012 2:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am NW15 with light brown eyes and blonde hair. I like to do a neutral eye (Shroom on lid, Omega in crease) then using a wet 266 brush, I line my upper & lower lashlines in Deep Truth. Blues and purples really compliment brown eyes. I feel like you need to use it wet to get the truest vibrancy.

on 8/10/2012 1:00:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

No matter how I used this it seemed to apply patchy and uneven. It is a gorgeous deep blue shimmer with medium pigmentation. Needs to be patted on, and would probably work best when wet. It isn't as intense as it looks in the pan.
(Wet n Wild blue had me at hello palette has a dupe of this in it that i think is better than the original).

Back to Top