Yves Rocher • Luminelle eye shadow • Eye Shadow

rated 2.8(18 reviews)

Average Rating.2.8
Would buy this product again.38%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 incognito on 12/18/2011 10:02:00 AM more reviews by incognito

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have this e/s in several shades, and I love it! I'm very picky about makeup so that's saying a lot! I love the application - just a few swipes with a fingertip and you're done. It's a cream that turns into a powder. Great staying power. My favorite shade is the grey/silver shade - brings out my golden brown eyes, and has just the right amount of shimmer. I also have the lilac, purple, and pistachio green shades, and I like them all. I returned the rose/pink shade (which I bought based on a review below lol) as it was just too light and blah on me. The packaging is sturdy, though can be hard to open at times, and it's very pretty. Costs about $6!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ButterFlo on 5/20/2011 5:16:00 PM more reviews by ButterFlo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have a luminelle eyeshadow in the shade dragee d'argent, a pearly taupe colour and I adore it. It's very well pigmented, it goes on smoothly and stays on well. From swatching the testers in the store I'm pretty sure that not all the shades are as pigmented, however with this one I am really pleased.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glowww333 on 9/2/2010 10:38:00 PM more reviews by glowww333

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this eyeshadow in Europe for about 6euro in #74 Rose Sucree (medium pink) and #76 Pistache irisee. They are all made in France and they have this oval packaging (the best for eyeshadow I've ever had) and they are wonderful. Very shimmery and creamy but not annoyingly so. Since they are very pigmented, they go on to create this wet effect. The two shadows, being a medium pink and a pistachio green blend very well and look like an easy artistic look. If the colors weren't so basic that it would create doups in my collection I would have gotten every single one of them. Now, I know that some people here criticized it as being bad, but I think that maybe the formulation is different in the US because mine is just heavenly in terms of color payoff. One last thing: somebody here said that you have to invest a lot of money for good e/s - I must say it is not always the case. I have Nars and I have e.l.f - a good brand and a good product formulation is good or bad regardless of the brand. swatch everything and I mean every shadow you buy inside your hand (pale side) to see how it will look on your face in winter time and on your palm to see how it would look when you are tanned.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChildOfTheMoon on 7/4/2009 8:54:00 AM more reviews by ChildOfTheMoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have this eyeshadow in:
51, Taupe: a gorgeous tanned beige/light taupe that works wonderfully with black liner. (looks darker/brown in the pan) It's perfect for smudging & softening dark colours. Truly one of my favourite e/ss for this purpose. Will definitely repurchase.
56, Violet pimpant: looks bright medium purple in the pan, but goes on almost transparent. Not a favourite of mine, won't be repurchasing.
and finally 53, Blanc Nacre, a light whitish nude that works nice as a highlighter, not just for the eyes, but also cheekbones & between the peaks of the upper lip. Not an original shade, but considering the price I might repurchase.
This eyeshadow is quite powdery and on the dry/matte side. It's best applied with a finger- that will get the best out of this product. For some reason it won't stick onto the e/s brush, and gives about zero pigment that way. Applying with a finger makes _huge_ difference.
The pan is adorable, yet simple and no fuss.The price is very agreeable. I'm looking forward to trying more colours in nude/brownie tones.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iheartsu on 5/26/2009 12:33:00 PM more reviews by iheartsu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in a baby blue with a little shimmer inside and in a neutral brown tone. The color doesn't show AT ALL. When I first used this, it was OK, but after the second use it just dried abnormally and became really hard, with both of them. My brushes were deformed while I was trying to rub it into the pan, trying to get some of the color on the brush. Will never buy this again. TERRIBLE product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bobbictx on 12/8/2008 3:14:00 AM more reviews by bobbictx

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This does not show up on application at all. It's like putting nothing on your face. Totally translucent/transparent - useless.

So far, I have ordered several makeup items from YR, and have been satisfied with maybe 10% of their makeup products.

Many of the creams, lotions, perfumes, and body products are great, but the makeup is like makeup for little girls. If you want to buy your 5 year old daughter some dress up makeup, and you want her to look like she put nothing on, then this is perfect. For women, however, it's useless, as are most of their makeup products.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LittleChiuffy on 11/5/2008 4:07:00 PM more reviews by LittleChiuffy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is a review for the new Luminelle Péché mignon Eyeshadow in the color Rose Lactée. This one is a staple pale pink of mine. It is the absolutely most fantastic delicate milky pink color, with a very subtle and interesting pinky irridescence to it. I cannot really explain, but it is the kind of "shimmer" you do not really see unless up close, but you sort of suspect it is there LOL. It is beautiful for a natural makeup as a wash with a brown, plum or grey liner. I am a green eyed ppp, and this one works amazing. Gives me a perfect and simple eye look that has become my signature look. The texture is improved. It is silky and pleasant, the color payoff is great. Cannot tell about creasing, as I always wear eyeshadow base.
The package is still simple with a clear plastic lid, but it has this cute "bubble" design and the bottom of the package is also irridescent milky pink. It does not seem to be sensitive though, has not broken.

I can highly recommend this, (and the other colors as well (there are some very nice ones in the new line). The price is very low, and the shadow is actually great. I am definitely repurchasing this color as long as it is available! It is one of the very few YR items I love and use.

EDITION, NOV 30, 2008: OMG! I can now say that this one has become my absolute HG. The absolute dream ideal for an eyeshadow to me. I do not wear anything else anymore, in fact, got rid of all my shadows except one Sephora palette. I love it! And in the shops, I find none that interest me at all. This one is so subtle but complex at the same time.
I recently (finally!!!) figured out that I really only enjoy wearing the classic wash of eyeshadow with some eyeliner and mascara. Nothing more elaborate than that. And this one achieves that perfect look for me. It looks like dreamy pink clouds on my lids LOL. I apply this eyemakeup, some pink blush and mlbb lipcolor, and I glow! Every single time. I guess that is why it has become my signature look, and this my only eyeshadow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Kalium on 9/22/2008 8:20:00 AM more reviews by Kalium

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this eyeshadow in "Vert Paradis" shade. It's pistachio green with a wee bit of yellow removed. The packaging looks a bit frail, to be honest, as if the lid can be broken off very easily.
The eyeshadow itself, however, is one of the better ones I could find in Turkey. It is much more rigid and stable than the other brands I have tried. It's texture is a bit different from standard eyeshadows, but that is understandable since this is meant to be a wet/dry eyeshadow. Speaking of which, this eyeshadow is much better when applied wet; not only does the colour become more vibrant, but also it seems to last longer. It also gets a pleasant creamy feel if applied wet. If it weren't for the over-the-top taxes for imported products in Turkey, it would be dirt cheap too, but even with taxes, this eyeshadow is quite versatile for its price. Last, but not least, I would advise fellow members to buy this eyeshadow in darker shades since those would look even better with wet application and still look good with dry application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xcoco on 9/16/2007 5:24:00 PM more reviews by xcoco

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

They have nice colors but they arent pigmented at all. Its also a bit pricey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kat2004 on 7/5/2006 7:43:00 PM more reviews by Kat2004

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

The trick to these eyeshadows is to apply them with your finger, it will show up so much more. I got the Shades Melon, and Vert Paradis. Melon is exactly the shade it is named it looks exactly like the color of a cantaloupe, Vert Paradis is a pale mossy green with yellow/gold tones in it. They work well together if you use melon on the brow bone and vert paradise on the lid...looks great with a tan too. doesn't seem to crease but i'll update after wearing it for a full day. I will also try applying them wet too. UPDATE: I never wear these anymore, colors are too bright.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Yves Rocher products

More Eye Shadow products