New York Color Sparkle Eye Dust- Opal Sparkle


33 reviews

96% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $


on 2/18/2015 10:22:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Very pretty eyeshadow with ridiculous packaging. I'm not sure what they were thinking when they decided to use a tube with a doe foot applicator for loose powder eyeshadow, because it just doesn't make sense. 9 times out of 10, when I pull the applicator out of the tube, some of the powder falls out because the applicator scrapes against the inside of the tube as it comes out. Either way, the shadow is pretty and you can just tap your shadow brush on the applicator to get shadow on your brush, and apply it like you normally would. The price is great.

on 6/10/2014 8:12:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Lovely white eyeshadow w duo chrome, I collect white eyeshadows so I had to add this to my collection, but I agree that the execution of the packaging could be much better!! I paired this w black eyeliner. Looks good on its own if you use a white base like NYX (not NYC lol!! I kno!!) white or NYX pearl white. It's similar to a Mary Kate And Ashley duo chrome white eyeshadow they has out at walmart a few years back, it has that same wand deal & it wastes a ton of product & gets everywhere it shouldn't be..... This e/s packaging is good for travel but a pain to work with.

on 5/22/2014 9:06:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Fantastico! Best as a highlighter. my fave :)

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great product worth awful packaging. I've found a lot of uses for this product, very useful and well worth the purchase...just expect to use different brushes.

on 5/6/2014 12:43:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I use it in just the inner corners of my eyes. Its very brightening

on 12/30/2012 5:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

Really pretty opalescent white. Looks different in all kinds of lighting, especially in my favorite highlight spots (browbone, cheek, tear duct). Packaging is a joke, heaven help the person who came up with that. I'd buy it again though :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Other, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

My eyelids are too oily for this to be on my eyes.......

But I use it as highlighter and it gives my face a beautiful mysterious glow!!!

The packaging just sucks!!! The brush is so cheap and sheds!!

It's also difficult to get product out.....

on 9/23/2012 2:40:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I really really really like...! I bought this as an extra eye brightener and it turned out to be such a pleasant suprise! I used this on homecoming and it dramatically brightened my eyes with a slight purple radiance to its opalic white. Very, very pretty. Will buy again. P.S. I suggest looking for it at target, it's easier to find there.

on 12/20/2011 3:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this on a whim and I can't believe I've gotten so much use out of it. Like others have said, this is such a versatile product! I was looking for a highlighter, actually. So many highlighters are gold, pink, champagne, bronze, whatever, that I was thinking outside of the box to find one that had a cooler tone to it, because I'm pretty light and look better with cool tones. I inspected this very closely in the store, praying to the makeup gods that this wouldn't be glittery and it's not glittery at all. With delicate application and blending, it looks gorgeous on my cheekbones. The packaging is cute but a little clumsy. You screw off the cap, and there's a little brush that you pull out by the handle; I can't see anyone actually using that goofy brush for application. It's too big and gives you no control whatsoever. But I tap a tiny bit of product into the cap, swirl ELF's professional bronzer brush around and tap off the excess to apply as highlighter. It's very sheer so beware if you're looking to use this as an eye shadow. I've used it to layer over shadows and eyeliners but it's just not pigmented enough to really use as shadow. But it's a really nice, inexpensive multitasker.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

on 12/9/2011 4:44:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

...WOW. This is one of the most shocking, wonderful, versatile products I've come across. You can use it alone, over another eyeshadow, as an inner corner highlight, or even a highlight down the center of the nose.
Alone on the lid, it comes off as a sheer, sparkly lavender. It has a very iridescent quality to it; shimmering different colors in the light.
Over top of a black eyeshadow, it comes off as a deep, sparkly blue EXACTLY like MAC's Deep Truth eyeshadow. It's a beautiful, royal blue.
Over top of a purple eyeshadow, it comes off as a bright pop of purple, like a more shimmery version of MAC's Parfait Amour eye shadow.
Over top of a brown, it transforms into a dusty rose color/ a soft taupe. It almost reminds me of Sable from MAC.
Down the nose as a highlight, it creates a beautiful pink sheen.
I don't really like the packaging, but I can deal with it. I prefer to use my own brush instead of the one provided.
Get this! :)

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top