Laura Mercier • Purple Sapphire Eye Kohl Pencil • Eyeliner

rated 4.4(27 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mllemustard on 2/25/2012 8:46:00 PM more reviews by mllemustard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been looking for a long, long time for a proper purple eyeliner. I have hazel eyes, dark hair, and fair skin, and I've very belatedly realized that I should be wearing a lot more purple overall, and on my eyes in particular. I've tried many liners that are too dark (appearing more black than anything), too pastel, too sparkly, too whatever. Since this was an option for a free gift with an online purchase, I figured, why not?

I am extremely happily surprised. It's a fabulous purple. Purple-purple, not a black purple. It's also a fairly grown-up purple: a lot I have tried have come across as something good for an 18 year-old, but not really for me or how I dress. It pairs surprisingly well with the Amethyst Caviar Stick, of which I am a huge, huge fan.

The pencil doesn't tug and applies easily. The staying power is OK: it will come off if you vigorously rub your eyes, and I don't really need makeup remover to get it off. But it usually lasts long enough.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CoonieR on 9/23/2011 9:00:00 PM more reviews by CoonieR

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this color, but as others have said, the texture leaves something to be desired.


The color itself is truly the color of tanzanite--a lovely deep purple blue. I haven't found a color like this anywhere else. It brings out the blue in my eyes and doesn't take away from them at all (as some blue tones do). It's a great alternative to black or brown--not too OTT, but colorful at the same time.


The texture is what makes this not HG-worthy. It is indeed hard and tough to blend. It does last, though, once it's on, even on my oily lids. I've used it on my waterline w/no problems, which is amazing considering that I have sensitive eyes.


Overall, even though the formula isn't my favorite, the color is wonderful.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* boombutt on 12/19/2009 3:18:00 AM more reviews by boombutt

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i will never purchase another LM liner again. i didnt even get to finish one eye because this tugged so hard it caused my eye to water. it hurt too because it was so rough. i cant really comment on the color b/c i was so aggravated by the application. i was really shocked that this line would put out such a horrible product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ellenmarie1959 on 3/23/2009 7:00:00 PM more reviews by ellenmarie1959

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Normally I wouldn't purchase a blue eyeliner, since I have blue eyes, but after reading the reviews of this pencil I decided to take a chance. Fortunately, I was able to swap for it so it didn't cost me $19.00. Well, I was right, because it just wasn't as good as I expected. For one, it's too "hard" and the color payoff is minimal. I tried it for tightlining, but it just didn't do anything for me. I would not purchase (or in my case, swap for) it again. It might work for hazel or green eyes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beffie001 on 10/20/2008 5:49:00 PM more reviews by beffie001

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I get compliment each and every time i wear this color - It brightens and highlights (almost excessively) my blue/green eyes. Granted, it's difficult to match with the proper shadow, but it's gorgeous enough alone, especially if worn on the lower inside rim of the eye and just a hint at the outer edges of the upper lid.

I like to wear this with a subtle, natural blush and lipcolor so the purple/blue liner stands alone, making my eyes look vibrant, not clownish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 INDICAN on 10/23/2007 9:06:00 PM more reviews by INDICAN

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I adore this eyeliner. I searched for this color for awhile. It's the color of a Tanzanite gem (deep blue purple). This is the color I was looking for, plus it goes on so smooth. One of my favorite eye liners. Love this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TigiStylist on 4/13/2007 3:23:00 PM more reviews by TigiStylist

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Purple Sapphire!!!!! Drool! This is so pretty. An eye opening purple, blue. Goes on very easy, and stays on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MACjunky on 3/5/2007 2:36:00 PM more reviews by MACjunky

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

gorgeous color for my brown eyes. i love this and all her kohl pencils. glides on really smooth and lasts! my only gripe is the packaging -- the caps always crack on me. still awesome ,tho!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pinkie22 on 11/18/2006 5:39:00 PM more reviews by Pinkie22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love the color (a bright purple), but the staying power isn't great on me. The purple looks great with my green eyes, but I think this is a tough color to match with my eye shadows, and its too bright to wear to work.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kathj06 on 8/16/2006 12:12:00 AM more reviews by kathj06

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

I love the actual product-for a kohl, staying power is truly remarkable. Also, the color is great. I'd been searching for the perfect dark purple liner for forever, and I usually ended up with liner that was too light or red-toned. This is perfect. My one big gripe is the packaging quality. I just purchased the product like, yesterday, and the point already broke off because the kohl's cap came off in my handbag! And if you put the cap on too tightly, the pencil will get smushed a bit anyway. Other kohls manage to stay secure without smushing the pencil, so I'd say the packaging quality is bad. Oh well, even though I wasted a lot of a somewhat pricey product, I'll still buy this again. It may be an HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Eyeliner products