Makeup Artist's Choice (MUAC) • 55% Lactic Acid Peel • Skincare - Face

rated 4.3(78 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 shellydennis on 3/2/2014 6:28:00 PM more reviews by shellydennis

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have used this product 2x's a week for the last four weeks. Not much change in dark spots. New skin also appears to be darker. Also having small break outs. Skin does feel smoother but that is about it. Will finish out the last of the sample bottle and review again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SamuelzMom on 12/30/2013 11:55:00 AM more reviews by SamuelzMom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I started out with the lighter lactic acid peel from MUAC and I prefer that one as it's not as harsh on my skin, but both work pretty good. I now use the lactic peels on a biweekly basis to maintain my skin. It makes it look bright and radiant. I haven't had this skin since I was a kid! I swear. I have suffered from acne since I was in grade school and I'm now in my late 30's. I recently just discovered these products last year and I WISH I knew about them many years ago. It looks and feel as though my skin has reborn. So far, I love all the MUAC products. I also tried their retinol, but I did a huge mistake and used it a day or two after the lactic acid. Do not make that mistake! I was scarred for days and was afraid my face was ruined forever. I even told myself that I would take my old face back and said I wasn't as ugly as I thought. lol Luckily, the patches scabbed, then peeled away. My face now looks normal again, but these products are chemicals, so you have to know how to use them and be careful not to mix it with anything else (without knowing the consequences). Talk to the people at MUAC first if you have any concerns.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ridemebigsheIdon on 7/19/2012 1:30:00 PM more reviews by ridemebigsheIdon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Ok, I love MUAC. But this peel is a no-go for me. I've used it a handful of times, careful with the timing to avoid any burns and each time I've gotten horrible breakouts following. Yes, I understand that this might be bringing the nasties to the surface. However, I believe "let sleeping dogs lie". I have used other peels from MUAC - the fade, the radiance, and also the mandelic peel, and I truly feel that the mandelic is the best route for me. It always leaves me with gleaming, healthy looking skin. I won't be using this again, or other lactic acid products.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 strawberrygrl on 5/17/2012 11:03:00 AM more reviews by strawberrygrl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a pretty good product. I have noticed diminished appearance of red acne marks and a smoother feel to my skin. I havent yet noticed smaller pores, which i was kinda hoping for. Nevertheless, great product. Def try it!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 quotidianlight on 5/3/2012 7:32:00 PM more reviews by quotidianlight

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I used this peel for several years in both 40 and 55% strengths. While it works I had to be extremely careful of burns. I assumed this was normal and stuck with it as I read other peels were "worse". Eventually I found using a brush and NOT using the prep solution helped me avoid burns but it was still harsh.

Then I tried a lactic acid peel that didn't have as many ingredients and it was much more gentle on my sensitive skin. If this peel burns do not assume lactic acid isn't for you. Instead try a prep that doesn't have glycolic and a lactic acid peel that is JUST lactic acid and water. You may find it works as well with much less irritation.

Oh and the plastic bottles... ick. IMO, acid peels should only be stored in glass.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dandylionfields on 3/28/2012 6:34:00 PM more reviews by Dandylionfields

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

An age spot just fell of my hand. Yesterday I took a chance, took a q-tip and put a drop on the biggest spot on my hand and left it there until the next time I washed my hands, at least half an hour. There's a very slight pink spot left which I'm sure will fade over time. If you try this, keep the area you've treated covered with Polysporin or a generic equivalent. It really helps speed the healing.

One lippy off for less than adequate customer service. Canadians beware -- I purchased six tiny sample bottles for $33 (including 20% discount). MUAC charged me $17.50 for UPS shipping. When it arrived in Toronto, UPS charged me another $23+ for taxes and customs. When I contacted Kathleen to see if they could mail it next time or find some way to reduce shipping charges, I didn't receive a response. That was over two weeks ago.

Next I'm going to try one of the Skin Laboratory peels that you can purchase off Amazon. Or maybe Garden of Wisdom (they have their Canadian shipping prices posted on their site). Acid is acid, it's not rocket science.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xoxounicorn on 2/11/2012 12:38:00 PM more reviews by xoxounicorn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Purchased the sample size. I have been using it twice a week and today is my 5th time using it.

I'm using this mainly to fade the light acne scars on my cheeks and I didn't want something harsh because I do not want my skin to be burnt or peeling.

I wash my face with a soap-free cleanser (Avene), wait for it to dry completely, then apply the prep solution with a cotton pad, wait for it to dry completely, then apply the peel with my fingers. The peel is a gel consistency which is great for me, because I can feel where I have already applied so I don't keep re-applying on the same spots. I leave it on for 5mins then wash it off with Avene again. Finally, I apply my own witch hazel water toner (because I don't want to waste the prep solution).

My skin gets a bit dry & flakey (esp at the sides of my mouth) but it's nothing a good moisturiser can't fix. I do not suffer from any burns or scabs.

Firstly, I've got to say I do break out a little from this. I'm not sure if it's purging. About 2-3 harmless, whitehead pimples each time I use it, which are easy to squeeze. And I notice my cheeks get clogged with small oil bumps from this as well. I apply a lot of benzoyl peroxide on my cheeks to try to avoid this.

However, what I HAVE noticed is that after the breakouts clear (within a couple of days), my skin tone is actually noticeably more even. In other words, my acne scars really are lightening up. My face is also much smoother (after all the dead skin is sloughed off and the clogged oil bumps disappear).

Therefore, I'm willing to put up with the 2-3 harmless pimples because I can notice a bigger improvement on my entire face!

The sample size is really MORE than enough. After 5x application, the bottle is still pretty much full! However, the prep solution finishes more quickly because it's more watery and a lot gets soaked up by my cotton pad.

I am usually a very impatient person when it comes to skincare, if I do not see the results quick, I will stop using the product. However, I've consistently stuck to this product, which says that I'm happy it's working & I want to see more!

4/5 because it does take a while to get the complete results. And if your scars are much much darker, it's going to take a really long while.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ArizonaAngel on 8/11/2011 7:23:00 PM more reviews by ArizonaAngel

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

No one product has helped my melasma fade than Lactic Acid peels. I have tried everything under the sun - some worked, most didn't. But this one always works for me. I used lower strengths and made my way to this one. LA peels sting way more on my skin than Glycolic - and my skin is not at all sensitive. They also give me flaky patches for a couple days afterward. But it is worth it for great, clear skin. I spot treat once a week and do a full peel every other. My melasma tends to come and go, as I admit once it goes away I get lazy with SS. This fades it to nothing within a couple of months. Must have product for me and it makes my skin look radiant and clear and clean. Definite rebuy!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 CoCoChantel on 7/10/2011 8:56:00 PM more reviews by CoCoChantel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use this peel in conjunction with a 20% salicylic acid peel to improve acne scars, alternating the peels every three to five days. My skin scoffs at most exfoliation attempts so this may be too frequent for some. It's been abut a month and I am seeing results but it's going to take a few more weeks for all scars to be significantly improved.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* redheadjane on 4/12/2011 1:46:00 PM more reviews by redheadjane

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have done 2 peels and 1 spot peel and have already noticed a difference in the general smoothness and clarity of my skin. My skin is somewhat sensitive so I was very careful with the first application of this and left it on for about 3 minutes. It slightly stings but it's not intolerable. # minutes seemed more than enough for my skin.

My first peel yielded smoother skin and somewhat smaller pores but nothing significant in the improvement of dark spots on my face or with acne scars. The Second peel seemed to reveal a bit of fresher skin, I did it right before bed. Neutralized the solution with a glycerin soap (Ph balanced, sls free), then moisturized with Jojopba oil and a little aloe. I seemed to purge junk out of my face the next day (I am also on Rx Acne drugs which I just started). Had a new pimple but it went away very quickly as I am on aczone. 3 days later, I did a Spot peel only for 4 1/2 minutes on my Left cheek area where I have a bad indented scar. Within days it looked smoother by about 40%. I will continue to use the LA Peel once a week, with spot treatments in between. My hope is to get my skin tolerant enough to do a 12.5 % TCA This summer. So far, this is working ok and does seem to lighten and brighten my face but I think I may need to step it up a notch to get the skin I really want. The Bonus is I noticed that theNaso/Labial lines around my mouth look significantly better!!

Update4/20: I did another peel a few days ago. This time I left on for 5 1/2 minutes. My skin is pretty flaky today and I had a few spots on my face that turned dark. Basically, my face looks like crap right now. I'm guessing I left it on for too long or it's actually really giving me an actual Peeling effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Makeup Artist's Choice (MUAC) products

More Skincare - Face products