Essie • Sugar Daddy • Polishes

rated 4.1(153 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 BubblyDiva on 8/1/2014 7:52:00 AM more reviews by BubblyDiva

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

It's a great pink nude BUT looks nothing like the color in the bottle. I was expecting a baby bink with quite an intense hue, but this one is a very clear nail polish. With one coat on, it doesn't even give you any color, just pretty shine, so to get any color payoff, you have to put 2-3 coats on. The good thing is that it's really shiny, goes on smoothly without any streaks and gives you a professional salon look. It doesn't chip for at least 5-7 days and that was even without the top coat.
Overall, it is a great quality nude, but not for you if you're looking for a brigther pink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PurpleWing on 7/11/2014 5:59:00 AM more reviews by PurpleWing

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is such a cute and great pinkish nude! As a big fan of nail polish, I have actually only tried two other Essie polishes before. I got this from Target whilst traveling in the USA and I love it! Now, I need to give it 5/5 but I find that it could dry a bit faster. The drying time is pretty fast, but it's not amazing. It's not a problem, but that's the flaw I can find. Otherwise it is super shiny, which is great when you don't have time to apply a top coat. With two coats it makes your nails look like they have been manicured at a salon (imo) because the color of my nail has been smoothed out fantastically and they are so shiny!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Slone07 on 7/8/2014 2:58:00 PM more reviews by Slone07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great natural, pinky nude on me. Very shiny and excellent formula. Depending on my mood, I use either one or two coats...both look good, two coats is just a more "polished" look while one is more like a color smoothing top coat. Even with two coats, it's a sheer formula, so don't expect to cover your VNL with this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Angela75 on 6/23/2014 3:59:00 AM more reviews by Angela75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I usually use L'Oreal Wishful Pinking for a sheer pink but I tried this out on a whim and boy am I impressed! I don't pay much for my polishes and I guess I get what I pay for! I noticed that the Essie polish kept its glossy finish for a long time. It really seems to 'seal' to my nails and after 4 days hasn't chipped at all! I even painted over a peeled part of my nail and it sealed it up wonderfully. Can't tell it's there! Usually my nails peel or chip after only 1-3 days. So frustrating. I wear rubber gloves to protect my hands and avoid too much exposure to water. My nails are thin and quite short and they seem to bend a lot. The fact that Essie stuck around for longer than a day means I'm going to have to buy more! The texture is nice and thin and builds to a glossy even finish. The bottle is square and is easy to manipulate and the brush isn't too thick, allowing good control. Better than Nicole by Opi or the Sally Hansen that I was also using. $6.99 on sale at the Superstore Nail Bar in Canada. Really great colour choices too, in sheer and opaque.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 5/30/2014 5:28:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

One of my favorite nail polishes for clean, simple "no nail polish" look. I love it either in one coat or two. Easy and smooth application. Love the soft baby pink sheer color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 micky887 on 5/18/2014 7:24:00 AM more reviews by micky887

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

The lady at the nail salon uses this as I get a fench manicure and the colour is lovely a sheer light pink colour it's so pretty very natural looking it's not opaque so if your looking for that this is not the nail polish for you

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ziebam on 10/9/2013 10:08:00 PM more reviews by ziebam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Very light pale pink shade. It's also very sheer. You can see the nail right through. I prefer this shade as a duo with a French manicure (white tips) rather than a solo shade. Lasts as well as any Essie shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JanaBec on 10/9/2013 8:04:00 AM more reviews by JanaBec

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

It's just a sheer light pink, flesh toned nail polish. It's a my nails but better, healthier and improved. Love it, perfect basic subtle polish!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrMontyBurns on 9/13/2013 1:12:00 PM more reviews by MrMontyBurns

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Just got a mani with this today, so will update if anything dramatic occurs re. wear, etc. As for now, I'm loving it! I never wear anything on my fingernails, but wanted something to have around that was easy and subtle for times I want to look a bit more "done". This fits the bill! I swatched the other misc pale pink Essies, and this was the best on my light skin. Sheer but just a tad creamy. I have two coats on now, and it looks great, but with just one coat it looks even more natural, yet still noticeable. I keep my fingernails very short, and this is just the thing for a subtle, elegant look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Meleana on 9/11/2013 12:38:00 PM more reviews by Meleana

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have pink-toned cool skin, and a comparison between this and Mademoiselle really shows how your skin tone can affect how a sheer nude nail polish appears on you. I applied 3 coats of Sugar Daddy on my nails, and I still never got any sort of pink tone from it. I think it has too much beige in it to appear pink on a pink complexioned person, and it would be much more suitable for a warm skin tone wearer, just as Mademoiselle is its counterpart for a cool tone.

On the other hand, it didn't look bad on me. It just was a total nude, a your nails but better appearance. However, after seven days when it began to chip, it also started to look yellowish and dingy. So I don't think I'd purchase it again, but I'm not going to give it away either. It may be good for a base coat for another polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products