Essie • Sugar Daddy • Polishes

rated 4.0(148 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ziebam on 10/9/2013 10:08:00 PM more reviews by ziebam

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Very light pale pink shade. It's also very sheer. You can see the nail right through. I prefer this shade as a duo with a French manicure (white tips) rather than a solo shade. Lasts as well as any Essie shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JanaBec on 10/9/2013 8:04:00 AM more reviews by JanaBec

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

It's just a sheer light pink, flesh toned nail polish. It's a my nails but better, healthier and improved. Love it, perfect basic subtle polish!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MrMontyBurns on 9/13/2013 1:12:00 PM more reviews by MrMontyBurns

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Just got a mani with this today, so will update if anything dramatic occurs re. wear, etc. As for now, I'm loving it! I never wear anything on my fingernails, but wanted something to have around that was easy and subtle for times I want to look a bit more "done". This fits the bill! I swatched the other misc pale pink Essies, and this was the best on my light skin. Sheer but just a tad creamy. I have two coats on now, and it looks great, but with just one coat it looks even more natural, yet still noticeable. I keep my fingernails very short, and this is just the thing for a subtle, elegant look.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Meleana on 9/11/2013 12:38:00 PM more reviews by Meleana

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have pink-toned cool skin, and a comparison between this and Mademoiselle really shows how your skin tone can affect how a sheer nude nail polish appears on you. I applied 3 coats of Sugar Daddy on my nails, and I still never got any sort of pink tone from it. I think it has too much beige in it to appear pink on a pink complexioned person, and it would be much more suitable for a warm skin tone wearer, just as Mademoiselle is its counterpart for a cool tone.

On the other hand, it didn't look bad on me. It just was a total nude, a your nails but better appearance. However, after seven days when it began to chip, it also started to look yellowish and dingy. So I don't think I'd purchase it again, but I'm not going to give it away either. It may be good for a base coat for another polish.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LyndseyZ on 9/7/2013 7:05:00 PM more reviews by LyndseyZ

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Not a fan of this Sugar Daddy by Essie. I LOVED the color in the bottle, however it looks nothing like that on your nails. I have 3 coats on and I can barely see any pink color to my nails.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Caracara87 on 9/5/2013 6:51:00 PM more reviews by Caracara87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I usually look forward to buying an Essie nail polish. Normally they go on just as they look in the bottle. This one went on so thin, I would've rather bought a cheaper polish. I went back and bought Lovie Dovie by Essie instead.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sorrysoselfish on 8/24/2013 2:35:00 PM more reviews by Sorrysoselfish

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

very sheer. very shiny. very perfect. this polish looks great on my pale skin and elongates my fingers. it is great to mask imperfections in my nails also. I love it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 beautycalls09 on 7/29/2013 7:43:00 PM more reviews by beautycalls09

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I'm neither impressed nor disappointed with this. It's a very nice color for spring/summer--sheer, buildable blue-toned pink--a perfect look if you want clean, manicured but not showy nails. Very professional.

The bad part is that it chips really badly. Because of the color it's not a huge problem, but it's annoying. Dry time is faster than expected, opacity is impossible.

I wouldn't pay full price for any other Essie color because the lasting time is just not there. But this is an otherwise low-maintenance polish (don't have to let it dry, don't have to worry about mistakes since it's so sheer) so for this one, I'll get my money's worth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 kaylaaa22 on 6/21/2013 4:55:00 PM more reviews by kaylaaa22

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this nail polish, thinking it was a nice, pretty, light pink. I was wrong. This nail polish is SO thin and streaky. It's not pigmented and its thin as can be. I did not intend to use it for a manicure or anything like that. I just thought it would be a pretty pink color and this was a total let down. The first coat had no color at all, it looked like a top coat. I had to put on 5 coats to actually get a nice color out of it. Not to mention it takes FOREVER to dry. This nail polish was totally not worth $8. Essie was always my favorite brand, but after this nail polish and using another one of theirs that was exactly like this, I don't think I'll be buying anymore Essie products. What a shame. The color is pretty but it is a total let down.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rcmann on 6/18/2013 2:30:00 PM more reviews by rcmann

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Essie's Sugar Daddy doesn't really do anything for me. Like, literally. It doesn't do anything. I anticipated it being a very light pink, but with two coats it just looks kind of milky and flesh colored on me. It has so little color that there's not much of an advantage of wearing this versus just painting on a clear top coat, or even buffing your nails and not using any polish at all. It's possible that it would show up better on someone with a darker skin tone, or it could be nice for people who work in jobs that discourage colored nail polish, though. The texture of the polish going on was good, and it dried relatively quickly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Essie products

More Polishes products