Essie Sugar Daddy

4.1

162 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/22/2015 8:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

when i bought this i had no idea that it was translucent/intended mainly for french manicures. after swatching it i was a little disappointed and i didn't use it for a few months, but a few days ago i decided to go ahead and try it. so far i'm really pleasantly surprised. it doesnt go on streaky like other essie polishes. i used 3 coats (you can see what it looks like in the picture) and it made my nails look very glossy and healthy. this polish is actually so glossy that you don't need a topcoat unless you're planning on wearing it for a long time. i cannot stop touching my nails because they feel so hard and smooth compared to how they normally are when i've painted them. sugar daddy has a very nice barely-there pink tinge that mutes the yellowness of my natural nails. i've had it on for 4 days and not noticed the slightest chipping. this is not a color i would normally choose, but i am sooo pleased with it, and sugar daddy is now my go-to manicure when my nails need to be painted but i won't have time to touch up later.



on 1/27/2015 4:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a very sheer pink. Even with multiple coats it remains sheer. It's best for if you don't want to look like you're wearing nail polish but you want to even out the color of your nails and make them glossy - kind of like a BB cream for your nails. Ultimately I was disappointed because I was hoping for it to be a slightly more opaque baby pink so I could at least see the polish on my nails.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/10/2014 11:40:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Iam not a fan of nude polish but have been trying to make my nails a stress free adventure lately so I bought several nude colors from OPI to Essie. Most nude polishes makeup nails look bland and dull or yellow. Then entered Sugar Daddy and one coat my nails look super clean and shiny with just a hint of pink! Luv this color!!! By far the best nude ever!!!! Update: bought Another Essie sheer Hi Maintenance to try but did not like the white streaking formula. Nothing compares to Sugar daddy!! Again I realize this is by far the best sheer polish out there. Not to white or grey just a stunning sheer pink that makes your nails look classy clean and polished!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/31/2014 5:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this nail polish. The colour is pretty decent and natural, it lasts for me at least 5 days, so I am very happy with that. The application is vry easy and it dries very quickly, I will definitely repurchase this nail polish. I like the natural long lasting effect, it looks perfect on my nails.


on 10/22/2014 4:21:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this! It applies very easily and dries more quickly than others Essie nailpolishes.It is very natural sheer pink hue. Easy to apply no stries. I love it on my hands. Clean and polished look. Love it!


edit: Essie polishes stain my nails yellow. Since this color is sheer, it doesn't look as good after a while because it stained yellow underneath. I will use it on my toes but not anymore on my hands. I only use Dior glow nail from now on.


on 10/12/2014 10:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am a long-time devotee of Essie Mademoiselle. It's my go-to shade whenever I need a quick fix to make my nails look like better versions of themselves.

Why am I talking about Mademoiselle in a Sugar Daddy review? Because despite the fact that Sugar Daddy looks like a denser light pink in the bottle, they are basically indistinguishable on my nails. They both dry to the same exact shade of sheer, barely-there pink - I honestly am not quite sure why Essie decided to make this color, if it's basically one of their iconic shades duped. I picked this up at Target without doing any sort of research, which was my mistake - it's very misleading both in the bottle and in the swatch that they have displayed on the shelf to give you an idea of what the color looks like.

Sugar Daddy is a very sheer, very light pink. It's not going to give you any sort of opaque color on your nails, unless you do three or four coats. I would say that the one difference between it and Mademoiselle is that Sugar Daddy's consistency seems to be a bit thicker - Mademoiselle is very thin and settles onto your nails like a natural sheen, while Sugar Daddy is slightly glossier. I'd say that it looks more gel-like than Mademoiselle, and it's staying power is pretty impressive. I've gone for four days without a chip. Packaging is your typical Essie deal.

I definitely do like the color, I'm just a bit annoyed that Essie would make two separate shades that are nearly identical. Last time I pick up a nail color without looking at the reviews.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/17/2014 4:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

My favourite nail polish right now. The colour glides on easily, streak free, nice brush, dries quickly. Two coats gives me "your nails but better", looks natural and healthy. It is a bit expensive for what it is (basically a nail enhancer) but oh well, it's too lovely not to have in my stash.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/12/2014 11:47:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

It's a very sheer pink. It's classy. I wear it a lot. Again, very sheer. Even 2-3 coats, very sheer. It's kind of a glorified topcoat in a way that gives your nails a nice sheen and tint. I really like it. Caution: I originally bought this from Zappos and it was a completely different color, the bottle was fake. Why people are counterfeiting nail polishes blows my mind. But I was able to get the real one from Walgreens and just adore it!


on 8/19/2014 1:21:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my go to color when I need to clean up my nails, but want to maintain a professional look with a sheer wash of color! Don't be fooled by how the color appears in the bottle, which would make it look like it will be an opaque baby pink color. It's more of a sheer pink, needing 2-3 coats to get a noticeable color but it still looks good. I've been using this so much because it really does a good job of giving you a nice, clean look. Definitely would repurchase when I finally run out!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/1/2014 7:52:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

It's a great pink nude BUT looks nothing like the color in the bottle. I was expecting a baby bink with quite an intense hue, but this one is a very clear nail polish. With one coat on, it doesn't even give you any color, just pretty shine, so to get any color payoff, you have to put 2-3 coats on. The good thing is that it's really shiny, goes on smoothly without any streaks and gives you a professional salon look. It doesn't chip for at least 5-7 days and that was even without the top coat.
Overall, it is a great quality nude, but not for you if you're looking for a brigther pink.




Top Rated Essie Products

image

A-List

29 reviews
image

Watermelon

49 reviews
image

Lady Like

65 reviews
image

Chinchilly

134 reviews
Back to Top