New York Color • Waterproof Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.7(51 reviews)

Average Rating.2.7
Would buy this product again.41%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 ecall1 on 11/7/2014 1:07:00 AM more reviews by ecall1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My first waterproof mascara! How did I live 35 years with washable, smudgy, smeary raccoon eyes?! It lengthed, volumized, and darkened enough that I looked like I had mascara on and came off easily with Clinique's eye makeup remover. I want to find another waterproof mascara with a little more WOW factor so I'll try some others, but I'll come back to this if I don't find something better. Wait until it goes on it's frequent 40% off offer at RiteAid and give it a whirl so you can experiment for a few dollars.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 junipurr on 6/24/2011 11:00:00 PM more reviews by junipurr

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

This has become my go-to mascara. It holds a curl like a dream,which is hard with Asian lashes. It stays put-to be honest,it's a pain to remove without eye makeup remover,none of my face washes have ever gotten this off. it's nice and dark and gives me decent length and volume. It's not amazing;people won't ask if you're wearing falsies,but it's incredibly efficient for a killer price. when i want more oomph i'll layer a lengthening mascara over it,but i'm hoping to eventually find a drugstore product that can hold my curl like this and give me drama.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bjet on 12/26/2010 11:02:00 PM more reviews by Bjet

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My first waterproof mascara. Back then i didn't know about clumpyness but I do remember not liking this mascara because whenever I put it on I always saw a black glob or line in my peripheral vision. I thought all mascaras globbed on like that. Plus I didn't know the existence of waterproof eye make up remover back then and remembered using tons and tons of my mother's estee lauder eye make up remover to "remove" the mascara. After that I did not like mascara and did not use mascara again unless it was for special events. After trying some other brands of mascara in my last year of high school i realized not all of them was not has bad as this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GaPeachy on 11/12/2010 7:25:00 PM more reviews by GaPeachy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Whenever I run out of mascara and don't want to spend more money on Maybelline Full n' Soft, I always buy this mascara. It stays on all day without budging or smearing and gives good volume and curl. My only complaint is I prefer the black-brown shade and haven't been able to find that for months since Wal-mart carries the Jet Black shade only now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Dee652 on 10/3/2010 7:12:00 PM more reviews by Dee652

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I just needed a generic waterproof mascara for nights I go out or sweaty days- it holds up fairly well and rinses off easily with my face wash and make up remover and is dirt cheap so lippies for that. I find it pretty clumpy/messy, though, and not particularly thickening or defining for my straight long Asian lashes. Holds my curl better than nonwaterproof mascara, but still not the prettiest effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 455smile on 8/9/2010 10:00:00 PM more reviews by 455smile

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Even though it was "waterproof" it kept on smudging, even when my eyes made no contact with water or my hand. :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 heyitslena95 on 7/30/2010 11:00:00 PM more reviews by heyitslena95

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

THIS MASCARA IS AWESOME. You may think it looks cheap and you're gonna get what you paid for, but that is NOT THE CASE. It defines my lashes and does not clump. Great for everyday makeup: doesn't clump or make lashes spidery, defines and darkens them to make them noticeable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 healthcrazy23 on 7/15/2010 3:25:00 PM more reviews by healthcrazy23

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Worst mascara I have ever tried
! The price is really good but I got what I paid for. Even though it was "waterproof" it kept on smudging and dripping, leaving me with racoon eyes. Plus, it clumped alot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MissCrow on 7/1/2010 10:02:00 PM more reviews by MissCrow

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good mascara, especially for the price -- I think I payed $1.75 for it. It works well to define my lashes and make them noticeable from beneath my glasses. You won't get much volume or length from this, so for special occasions you might want to go for something else -- but for my everyday needs, this mascara is perfect. This product lasts all day with little to no smudging, holds the curl all day, and removes easily at night.

When I purchased this, the formula was rather dry, so I had to dampen it with a few drops of water. But after that, the mascara went on smoothly without clumping. Also, the packaging is a bit messy -- I tend to get mascara all over the mouth of the tube. The brush itself is wonderful, but a touch messy; sometimes I get mascara on my lids.

Overall, this is a really great mascara for everyday purposes. I'd recommend this to anyone with a busy schedule who wants a simple look without touch-ups.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 imagin4sian on 5/6/2010 12:32:00 AM more reviews by imagin4sian

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is an okay mascara. It did clump but it does a great job darkening the lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More New York Color products

More Mascara products