NARS • Artist Palette - Rapture • Palettes

rated 4.3(67 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 BohemianMartini on 11/14/2011 4:19:00 AM more reviews by BohemianMartini

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Definitely my favorite of the three Nars palettes I own. For reference - I'm a MUFE F & B 32/34. It has two of my favorite blushes - Ninotchka and Sin. Ninotchka definitely reminds me of my old faithful - MAC Harmony blush. I haven't done a swatch test yet though - but it is similar. And Sin. I love it! Applied with a skunk brush - it looks wonderful with just the right amount of shimmer. This palette has four lippies - two favorite classics - Pigalle - aka - instant teeth whitener and Dolce Vita. It also has Gypsy and Bellle De Jour - both of which I rarely use. As far as the eye shadows - beautiful in the pan but I tried them out and they just don't look good on me. Lavenders and taupes tend to make me look bruised and tired. On to my cons - the darn case broke. I never travel with my palettes and yet the case broke. The front left portion of the case broke so one end of the mirrored side came loose - leaving it dangling on from the other corner. After a few more uses - the other side broke off as well. So now my palette looks super ghetto with tape holding it together. And some how between the case breaking - the Bellissima shadow shattered and came out all together. I never dropped the palette, I didn't toss it around in my make-up bag. One day I noticed the corner of the shadow had a chunk come off - but not down to the pan. I happened to set it down - apparently just hard enough and the whole shadow shattered - leaving a wake of pale shimmer on my lippies. Great. I was so bummed - I rarely used the palette after. What a disappointment. The only upside are the great blushes I got.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Lexx13 on 6/20/2008 2:30:00 AM more reviews by Lexx13

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

This is one of the most beautiful palettes I own. After a long time of lemming I finally scored one.
I think it was made for me, EVERY single color in Rapture works with my skin tone and eye color. (fair/oilve, green/blue eyes).
The eyeshadows seemed almost drab at first, but when I tried them out I found that put together correctly they create a beautiful neutral smokey eye that is perfect for day or night. Add a little black liner and your set! These colors could work with any eye color, but really set off the green in my eyes.
Ninotchka makes a perfect contour/bronzer color, and of course my favorite blush of all time - Sin - is included.
The lipsticks really surprised me, I hadn't tried nars lippies previous to this and found the quality, lasting power and texture excellent!
I didn't think belle du jour would work for me, it's a very warm peach nude, but it did. Dolce Vita is a gorgeous YLBB color. Gipsy is a beautiful wine color, excellent for a more dramatic look. Pigalle is my FAVORITE! It is the absolute perfect lip color for me.
I hate Nars packaging, and think that they are overpriced, but this is one product I will definitely treasure forever : )
Honestly, I recommend this palette to everyone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beauticonnexion on 10/6/2007 6:40:00 AM more reviews by beauticonnexion

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Have to agree with the reviewer (michellabella) that the indivdual items seemed to be not as good quality as the regular ones. Reference i am NC25 and for Sin, it feels too plummy on me and Ninotchka is too muddy on me. During summer time i get quite tanned NC30 but the bronzer still did not work for me. The eye shadows are not really pigmented enough though they work well if you like a sheer look. Charade II works well for smoky look paired off with Charade I as base. The lippies are my biggest grouse, smells chemic-kish (if you know what i mean). Quite disappointed, swapped this away. Dislikes the rubberish packaging as attracts powder stains.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michellabella on 2/21/2007 7:30:00 PM more reviews by michellabella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love NARS color line and bought this because I thought it would be wonderful to have a palette built around my all time favorite blush, Sin, and also a good way to try their eye shadows (previously I have bought only NARS blushes, lippies, and nail polish). I was very disappointed by this palette, however. I'd have to say I like the least of any other palette I've got. First of all, I hate the eye shadows. I hope this is not indicative of what NARS other eye shadows are like, because they are dry and chalky as heck, and are so sheer, they barely show up (and I'm quit fair right now--they'll be nonexistent in the summer with a tan). I'd like to think the quality of singles or duos are better, because I don't even like the version of Sin in this palette. Like I said, I love and own the single, and I swear the Sin in this palette is inferior in texture and the gold comes out in big, tacky sequins, not the subtle shimmer I love in the one I already own. The lipsticks are okay, but now I understand why people generally don't like lipsticks in a palette: for one, there is just no way to avoid getting the glitter in the powder products into the lipsticks (I tried my best to be careful, anyway), and secondly, if you don't buy the individual, full-size lipstick, it's inconvenient to touch up. I do love the lipsticks in this (in particular, Dolce Vita & Belle Du Jour), so I might buy a couple of them seperately. Otherwise, this palette is going in the bottom of my traincase. I just don't like the quality or colors as much as, say, my Tarte A-List or Prescriptives palettes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ruby_tea_roses on 3/18/2006 7:30:00 PM more reviews by ruby_tea_roses

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Rapture is a very pretty palette! The eyeshadows are neutral and sheer, so they can be worn lightly for daytime and yet also played up more dramatically for evening. The blushes are Sin (a beautiful shimmery berry color) and Ninotchka (soft sunkissed brown). Sin is a great blush anytime ... it gives a soft berry flush to the cheeks with an understated shimmer. Ninotchka is great for a "healthy" skin look ... when applied across the tops of the cheeks where the sun would naturally hit the skin, Ninotchka leaves a healthy, soft, matte, sunkissed color... almost like a very soft bronzer, but not "bronze", just "healthy". I like to use a very light dusting of Ninotchka across the tops of my cheeks and then over top of that apply a tiny bit of Sin to just the apples of my cheeks. Gives a very pretty, healthy glow. The lipsticks are very pretty rosy shades, except for Belle De Jour which is a light peachy-nude color. I like Belle De Jour and use it often to tone down or lighten-up some of the deeper lip colors for casual daytime wear. Rapture is a really pretty, neutral palette that can be combined in different ways to create many different looks. I like it a lot and use it often. Will repurchase if/when I ever use it all up!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wellington_the_bear on 12/26/2005 12:48:00 AM more reviews by wellington_the_bear

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I didn't like this palette for a very long time, which was annoying because it was my first Nars palette and I really wanted to like it. I thought it would be a good office/interview look but it was tough to make the eyshadows and lip colors show up, even though I'm very fair-skinned (NC15). But I think I've finally figured out how to wear at least some of these colors. I use Charade I as a wash and Charade II wet as a liner, with Bellissima I as a highlighter. For the cheeks I layer Sin lightly over Ninotchka, and I usually wear Belle de Jour for an everyday lip color. The result is subtle but pretty. I'm also terrible at detecting undertones and figuring out what colors go together, so it's nice to have a palette of pre-coordinated colors to make things easier. Now I think I would buy a backup if I ever ran out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Fulltiltredhead on 11/7/2005 1:03:00 AM more reviews by Fulltiltredhead

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've never been much on palettes because it always turns out I use maybe two colors and the rest go to waste. Not with this one. Rapture has four shadows - I use Charade I to define my eyebrows, as brow color, and then on my eyelid near the lash line. I sweep on Ashes to Ashes almost up to my brows. I highlight just under my browns with Bellisima, and put a little bit of Charade II in the crease, for definition. Then I use Charade II wet, as an eyeliner. My eyes are green and these colors make them pop.

Ninotchka goes down the sides of my nose and under my cheekbones, and sometimes just under my jawline -- it's a great color for contouring. Sin is a sheerly beautiful berry blush that's foolproof because it's so sheer.

The lipsticks are amazing. Each one has its own great look -- but together, you can do all sorts of things! Line them with Gypsy, then put on a bit of Dolce Vita, and leave Belle de Jour for the center, to brighten up the look. Gypsy and Dolce Vita are nice together, as are Pigalle and Belle du Jour. Etc.

There's nothing in this palette I won't use. I adore it. It makes a beautiful, sophisticated look that's perfect for just about anywhere.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Mindymandy on 11/4/2005 7:13:00 PM more reviews by Mindymandy

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to love this palette since the colors are so beautiful. I felt disappointed because the E/S are not as pigmented as the normal NARS E/S sold individually are and they creased too. I find myself really packing it on to get any pigment & I'm very light skinned & always use primer. Sin is nicely pigmented but Ninchotka (sp?) does get muddy if applied incorrectly. Lip colors were nice enuff but left a platicky/waxy taste. I'll stick to the individual E/S for greater pigmentation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* escebola on 7/14/2005 7:27:00 AM more reviews by escebola

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Gorgeous, wearable colours in this palette. Some of the e/s are a tad too shimmery for everyday use, but I wear them at night. The blushes are fantastic: Sin is a shimmery plum (but not too sparkly; I can use this every day) and Ninotchka is sooo versatile: it can be used as an elegant blush (but be careful to apply lightly; I can see how other MUAers have found its results a little muddy if applied heavily), to contour your cheeks and forehead or as a bronzer. The l/s are top notch. I love Dolce Vita (it does live up to all the hype), both alone and on top of Belle de Jour (a super classy nude tone); Gypsy is a gorgeous warm red l/s which I'll purchase full sized as soon as I finish it in my palette. Pigalle is not my fave tho (it's too dark and matte to be a YLBB l/s), but I like it anyway (specially on top of Belle du Jour, or with some gloss on top of it). They all have a great staying power (although I blieve they are all sheer l/s). Ladies, this Rapture palette.... A MUST HAVE! I'm taking a lippie off cause I'd like it to include a set of mini brushes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leonie_au on 4/2/2005 3:23:00 AM more reviews by leonie_au

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Rapture was my first NARS palette purchase and it created the foundation for my love of NARS products. I have already reviewed the individual products in other NARS categories so won't repeat myself here, but will say that most of the shades - with the exception of the Ninotchka blush (too warm-toned for me) work beautifully on my PPP/LLL NC20 skintone...and I'm a green-eyed blonde. I find the Charade II/Bellissima eye shadows, Sin (midtone plum) blush, and the Gipsy and Dolce Vita lipsticks are my most-used in this palette.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Palettes products