Revlon • Norell • Fragrances

rated 4.0(25 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 SuzieH on 11/15/2011 6:39:00 PM more reviews by SuzieH

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

There seems to some confusion about this fragrance. Which bottles are the original 1969's formula bottles and which are the newest Five Star bottles. Unfortunately, you can't go by the advice given in countless reviews on this page. Both the original Norell and the Five Star version have vertical lettering on the Cologne Spray bottle. Norell was originally only available in the cologne or Perfume concentrations. Any bottles in other concentrations are NOT the original formula. BUT just to make things really interesting, the cologne and perfume concentrations are available in both the original and the newer versions of Norell. When searching for vintage or original formulas you won't find them in retail stores, unless the fragrance has been newly discontinued. What you find in discounters, drugs stores and other retailers are the new cheaper, usually not as well liked versions. If you want the real thing, look on eBay, Tias and other vintage perfume sites ON LINE, NOT in retail stores. Do some research first. Look at old advertising , seen on eBay along with your search of the perfume name. But beware! Many, many sellers on eBay in particular, claim to have the original version(and don't) and you must be very careful to ask the right questions before buying. Unfortunately, many of the regular high volume fragrance sellers (not individuals selling small quantities) regularly make these claims and know them to be false. You have to ask before you buy and do some looking to become familiar with what you are looking for. Be especially careful about buying open bottles( partially used or splashes) as they are easily adulterated. Spray bottles are more difficult to tamper with. Going forward, with continuing changes in European regulations on fragrance ingredients,( banning many natural but possibly irritating components), look for more and more less subtle and less long lasting fragrance introductions and many more classic fragrance producers modifying the formulas (while swearing no changes have been made) that made their perfumes so precious to so many vintage perfume enthusiasts. There is a reason that perfumes from past decades are so very evocative.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kahou79 on 8/14/2011 7:22:00 PM more reviews by kahou79

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First off I purchased a new bottle of this and was disappointed with the staying power so I picked up an older bottle on ebay. The older formulation is *so* much better and wears all day on me. The newer formulation turns "soapy" on me if that makes sense. It's ok but the older version has a richness that reminds me of Gloria Vanderbilt which is another classic fragrance. I will say with the original version, which has the lettering running vertically down the bottle, can be *very* strong so be sure to only spray on a little. I gave my mom, who has never been sensitive to fragrance whatsoever, a headache while wearing it for I put on a bit too much. lol I've already picked up a backup of the original.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CoconutCutie on 7/2/2011 7:40:00 PM more reviews by CoconutCutie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I'm really enjoying this scent. I got a bottle with the letters running vertically of the eau de cologne but the bottom sticker still says Five Star, so I don't really know which formulation I have, but I'm assuming it's the re-do. I still like it. At first spray it's a bit intense and you think you aren't going to like it and then about 10 minutes later you think, "What smells so good? Is that me?" You sniff your clothes, and yup, it's you. Love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chamuda on 10/25/2010 8:15:00 PM more reviews by Chamuda

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Nice solid square bottle and great price. This review is for the pre-reformulated version, not sure if it's been reformulated since.
At first spray, it's a strong aldehyde powder green scent, a bit bracing and overpowering.

However after waiting 30-60 minutes, the drydown is much nicer. There is still some green, and citrus, and powder, and oakmoss I'm sure. I feel like there's a very subtle fruity note in there too on drydown, maybe a soft peach.

It reminds me a little bit of Cristalle, which is also offputting at times, but dries down and melds with the skin, a bit more feminine.

I do think with Norell, it depends how it melds with your chemistry.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CecileCecile on 12/20/2009 5:47:00 PM more reviews by CecileCecile

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I suspect I sampled the new formulation - I don't know if the lettering was vertical or horizontal but it was at a retail store and the bottle looked quite new... Anyhow, the opening phase of Norell to me was very similar to those of L'air du Temps or Wind Song, which on me are dry green florals. It dried down to a not-unpleasant though barely-detectbable base on me in about an hour. I'll take a pass on this one and just wear my L'air or Wind Song when I'm in the mood for such a scent. No Sale on the reformulation, but will update if I come across the vintage in my travels.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youdroppedabalmonme on 2/12/2009 10:37:00 PM more reviews by youdroppedabalmonme

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

A true classic, instantly recognizable. The quintessential soapy, bright "green floral"-- if you like Ivoire or Chanel No 19 or Charlie, you might like Norell. It has real presence, and has a slightly sharp/smoky edge if overapplied. I have a vintage bottle of the cologne spray and even in that strength, Norell is best used with a light hand!



**Please note** to really appreciate this scent you need to find a vintage bottle on eBay (they're cheap). You can tell the original version because the letters on the bottle go down vertically, not across. The "remake" by 5 Star Perfumes has the letters going across and it is a PALE imitation IMO. It smells soft and inoffensive, like hand cream, and for that price you may as well buy hand cream. But the original Norell is a real masterpiece.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 1/30/2009 2:45:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely vintage-style perfume. It starts with that slightly metallic edge aldehydes impart to fragrances, with floral notes and an unobtrusive base. It falls into my 'tea party' fragrance category: perfect for tea parties, afternoon weddings or church. Y'know, somewhere you'll probably wear a skirt but not a full formal. Somewhere you want to smell nice but not turn heads with your fragrance. The waiter is the only one who leans close enough to sniff you and he looks pleased. That kind of fragrance. This is a tea party fragrance with quiet class and elegance. I like it more than I thought I would for a fragrance of this era. Lovely.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lizzy666 on 1/27/2009 12:04:00 PM more reviews by lizzy666

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

First, I would like to thank the lovely ladies on here that recommended it, and helping me get the courage to try it. Thank you!! I'd also like to give a shout out to The Bombshell Manual of Style, which is what planted the seed of "must have norell" in my head. I bought the version by 5 star, which bought it from Revlon. I have never smelled the original but my mother went crazy when she smelled this, telling me how all of her mothers glamorous friends would wear this, my sin, and arpege. she said to me "Elizabeth, it smells old, but it smells glamorous. Bring it back, baby!"
And honestly, I do FEEL glamorous wearing it. It doesn't smell completely unique, and the bottle cap is a bit cheap, but there is something about it. Every time I get a whiff of it I just want to swoon and sashay. I've already had 4 ladies ask me what I was wearing, and when I told them their face went from puzzled to knowing, to excited. I'm in love with it. They say :This feminine scent possesses a blend of green florals, oakmoss, amber, musk, jasmine and rose. Whatever it is it's a winner for me. It was 19 dollars for the 2.3 cologne, not EDT.
I can certainly see why some would not like it, and honestly since I bought without smelling it, I thought I would not like it either. It isn't very trendy or sweet. It's really mature but not in the old woman sense, but in the doesn't smell of cotton candy and latex sense. I thought my boyfriend would despise this, because it's so different from my usuals (fracas, princess, insolence, etc), which he doesn't notice or comment on anyway. He FREAKED when he got close to me, it's like he was a blood hound smelling steak, he would not stop smelling my neck and asked me what I was wearing. He said it smelled delicious and familiar, he couldn't quite put his finger on it (probably his mom when he was a kid). It's just that my other perfumes cost in the 80's and this cost in the teens, and this one gets reactions.
Faye Dunaway used this. My bombshell manual says this scent is good with eyelet, charmeuse, and strapless white gowns.
I might make this my signature, I just wish it would stay strong all day. (or maybe my nose is just used to it.) My next bombshell scent I will try is L'heure Bleue.

15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Animimi on 8/21/2008 8:15:00 PM more reviews by Animimi

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Well I happened to be at Tuesday Morning today and found that they have stock of this lovely, classic fragrance.

I had read some reviews here, so I picked it up. I'm so glad I did...I had no idea that this was my grandmother's fragrance but it brings back so many memories! The scent has already been described, but this is truly an elegant and timeless perfume. For me, the first blast is a bit too powdery or floral, but the dry down is perfection.

I'm not sure if this is old stock or new, since Tuesday Morning has closeouts and discontinued items, but it was quite a find! Eau de Cologne was only $16 for 2.3oz.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 8ball on 8/10/2008 9:15:00 AM more reviews by 8ball

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

As someone responded to my post on the fragrance board, this brings to mind mink coats and diamonds. Add a limo and a night out on Broadway. This is ***class***. I only tried the vintage Norell, and immediately hoarded two bottles. I believe it is eau de cologne but don't let that fool you - it's strong! The predominant note is a spicy, teasing carnation. At first I thought it was clove or allspice but no, it's carnation. But it has that strong, floral old school aura. Even in edc it's possible to overdo it because it's strong, lasts a long time, and has noticeable sillage. If you love old school classics like Caron French Can Can, run don't walk and find Norell. BTW, the vintage has the letters running vertically. The recent has the letters going horizontally. I haven't tried the recent so I can't speak to that but the vintage isn't hard to find.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Fragrances products