Avalon Organics Botanicals • Therapeutic Lavender Facial Wash • Cleansers

rated 3.9(65 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 starsdotu on 4/24/2012 11:33:00 AM more reviews by starsdotu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This didn't work too well with my skin. It broke me out :( My face does feel really refresh and clean afterwards. Unfortunately my skin is just too sensitive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MissK4012 on 11/30/2011 4:07:00 PM more reviews by MissK4012

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have only been using this cleanser for about a month, but am really liking it.
First the bad:
I couldn't give this cleanser 5 lippies, simply because it is marketed for sensitive skin and I don't think it would be a good idea if your skin truly is sensitive. It is a bit drying and contains lavender essential oil - most people I have heard of with sensitive skin really can't use most EO's and lavender is an especially astringent one. This would probably sting badly if your skin is sensitive to any of the ingredients. For me, it's fine - my skin is highly sensitive to most chemical ingredients and all comedogenic ingredients but NOT to most EO's or plant products, not thin and not physically sensitive.
That being said, we move on to the good:
I purchased this hoping for a light, gel cleanser that would take off all my makeup at night, not dry me out or break me out, and figured the lavender would be an added bonus since it is anti-microbial and might help clear up my existing acne.
Makeup removal is awesome with this product - I can even take off my eye makeup with it (don't try this if you are sensitive to EO's!!!) and nothing at all comes off on the cotton ball when I apply my toner after cleansing.
There is some noticeable drying action, but nothing too much for my skin, so I just apply my usual toner and moisturizer after and it's fine.
My skin has definitely cleared up noticeably. I don't know if this is the anti-microbial action of the ingredients, or simply the fact that I am finally going to bed completely free of makeup, but either way it's working great!
It also smells wonderful (real lavender rather than you're typical lavender-like synthetic fragrance) and leaves my face soft and very refreshed looking.
OVERALL: If you're not sure how you react to lavender, licorice or essential oils in general you should definitely patch test first. If you're skin is dry and/or highly reactive to strongly astringent products you should probably just avoid this altogether. If, however, you're like me and you have combination/acne-prone/anti-chemical skin that gets either oily or dry depending of how you treat it and you need a quick, easy way to take off all your makeup (and your eyes are not sensitive to soaps in general) then this cleanser is something you should try.
***UPDATE*** I had been using this only at night to wash off makeup before bed, but I ran out of my usual AM cleanser and was being too lazy to make more so I started using this cleanser both morning and night. BAD IDEA! Within days my face was cracking and peeling it was so dry, then to compensate for the dryness my face started producing more oil, resulting in cystic acne all over my chin and cheeks (where I don't normally break out at all). I will keep using this at night - as I have switched back to just once a day it's helping my skin look beautiful again but will definitely never use it so often again. This definitely really drives the NOT-REALLY-FOR-SENSITIVE-SKIN thing home though. Do not use this if your skin dries out easily. It says it's for normal to oily but I would avoid it if I had normal, rather than oily skin.
Yet another UPDATE: Down one lippie and changed to would NOT buy again. Having used this at night for another couple weeks I find that my face is breaking out worse again. I think it's just too harsh for me, or maybe one of the oils isn't compatible with my skin. Also, the dehydration lines on my forehead and fine lines around my eyes are getting more and more noticeable and defined. I am using this up as a brush cleanser (it works pretty fantastic for that) but won't be buying again and am really disappointed that this would be labeled for sensitive skin - especially now that it's been too harshly drying AND caused some breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Musoukakitty on 11/12/2011 6:19:00 PM more reviews by Musoukakitty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This face wash in my opinion is more for normal to oily skin, or acne skin. Its the only thing besides Oxy that has ever helped my acne and I love it...its just a tad too expensive. Overall I think currently I would pick it over Oxy just because my skin is alot drier than it was as a teenager.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 peggym on 7/16/2011 11:10:00 PM more reviews by peggym

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was excited to try something natural and organic without SLS. So I headed to Wholefoods and decided to give this one a try because it said for sensitive skin and it was on sale too. Just after a couple washes, I noticed my skin felt dry and my cheeks were developing red dry patches. During the day my skin was peeling like never before especially around my mouth and chin areas. I now have to use it as a body wash and so far that is ok. I'm sticking with my Clearasil wash and it has reduced all the redness caused by this cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Katie411 on 3/15/2011 4:52:00 AM more reviews by Katie411

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this when I was trying to use more 'natural' products and it was a big mistake. It stang my face and generally was not a good cleanser for my skin type. I'm wondering if I'm actually reactive to lavender, so it might not just be the cleansers fault. It was very drying and simply did not suit my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 janacoke on 1/2/2011 7:51:00 PM more reviews by janacoke

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was really excited to get this- It has natural ingrentents, organic, and no parabens. As an added bonus it's suppose to be for sensitive skin. WRONG! I used this for 3 months and in that time, I broke out with whiteheads on my chin and checks. At first I thought it was my foundation (MUFE) . But once I switched to a plain old Cetephil anti-bac soap bar, my skin started to clear up. Since I have majorly sensitive skin and allergy issues, I think the natural ingredents were a little too natural for my hyper sensitive face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Klervie on 12/31/2010 1:15:00 PM more reviews by Klervie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this cleanser on and off for about 6 years. I really really like it. The pump is great, the smell is great, the ingredients are great and i LOVE that it is not tested on animals. About a month ago I got a Clarisonic Mia and I use it with this Cleansing Gel and it is AMAZING! I will not ever switch from this product again.

I have heard that people are discouraged from using the Avalon Organics Lavender line because it feels as though it is burning your skin but that his just the lavender. Lavender is a antibacterial/antifungal just like Tea Tree Oil. And I assure you that the warm sensation does not last long and as you continue to use it it stops completely.

My face is clearer, softer (with help from my Clarisonic) and more even toned than ever! It stays beautiful and radiant ALL DAY!

For a all natural product I highly recommend this, will continue to buy it (along with the whole line, the enzyme exfoliator is excellent as well) and it is gentle enough to use everyday when ever you need to without all of the harsh and toxic chemicals other products use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Prissbella on 8/10/2010 9:09:00 AM more reviews by Prissbella

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great cleanser for a great price. It smells lovely cleans really well and best of all is organic. I've used this on and off for many years and continue to purchase it. I use this in combo with jojoba oil and alternating works like a dream for me. I have sensitive break out prone skin. This does not break me out. I love using different skincare lines, but have found the less I do the better my skin is. This cleanser and a simple moisturizer keeps me clear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 teanut on 3/6/2010 5:30:00 PM more reviews by teanut

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I have sensitive dry skin, and I was pleasantly surprised at how well this product was able to remove make-up and keep my face moisturized. Specifically, it did very well in removing my waterproof mascara. The lavender scent remained strong in the months I've been using it, and I liked the convenience of using the pump dispenser. **EDIT** I recently found a thick creamy concealer which provided good coverage, and it did not come off with this Facial Wash. Bumping this rating down to 3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Nanders19 on 8/6/2009 3:52:00 PM more reviews by Nanders19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Aww I hate this soap! It made me break out in a rash all over my face, and neck! This soap gets a grade F!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Avalon Organics Botanicals products

More Cleansers products