LUSH Celestial

3.8

232 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Vanilla Water (Vanilla planifolia), Almond Oil (Prunus dulcis), Almond Milk (Prunus dulcis), Glycerine, Fair Trade Cocoa Butter (Theobroma cacao), Fresh Dove Orchid Extract (Dendrobium), Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, Triethanolamine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben,.


on 3/19/2015 12:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Lush products have completely changed my skin. I purchased this about a year ago. It's such a great moisturizer to put on before makeup. I use this during the day or for a special event at night. It smells so good too! I have dry skin but somewhat oily t zone (with makeup only) and this makes my skin nice and supple. I love Lush! My makeup would cling to dry spots and just look at hot mess with other moisturizers. I tired them all, Clinique MAC Murad etc. At night I use another moisturizer ( Skin's Shangri LA) If you have sensitive skin/ combo skin try this. The Lush girls are always helpful and generous with samples. I would drive about 45 miles to get to my closest Lush wouldn't complain because the products are that awesome.



on 3/17/2015 3:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got a sample of this because it is a bit pricey and I used it once and I could already see a difference it made my skin look so smooth and feel so soft and you only need the smallest amount to cover your whole face I also love that it didn't have a ton of ingredients it's nice and simple. Also to me it didn't have a scent and that's fine is just creamy and good


on 3/6/2015 4:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Smells great. It is thick to apply but doesn't make me break out even though I have normal-oily skin. Although on hot or humid days it can feel too much. I tend only to use it in winter. I haven't noticed much of a difference for my skin by using it but it's better than supermarket moisturizers .

I give it a four because it's pricey and only okay, but still better than moisturizers I've tried. I'm not blown away by results though


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow! I'm pleasantly surprised by this moisturizer. I've been skeptical of Lush skincare products for years, because I have very sensitive skin and products with plant extracts and essential oils often produce some sort of irritation. I popped into the Queen Street location the other day in my quest to be open-minded (I was looking for a new moisturizer) and the whole experience was fantastic. The service was great! The sales associate was very patient and took time to explain the difference between the various products as well as give me a demo of a few of them. She offered to give me some samples instead of me having to purchase the product in case of any skin reactions. I've now used the Celestial twice and I already see a difference in my skin! It's difficult to explain in words, but I will try...

The texture of this moisturizer is creamy, but not greasy. It doesn't claim to do anything other than moisturize so I wasn't expecting some anti-aging miracle. It absorbs quickly and leave like this velvety feel to my skin. It's just beautiful! And the scent is heavenly--like a marshmallow/vanilla mix. No breakouts, not irritations, just soft, supple, bright, hydrated skin. My makeup is even applying on better.

Just got back from purchasing the full size for $24, which may seem a little pricey, but a little goes a long way. And I love that there are no chemicals in this stuff. More importantly, it's not tested on animals, and I'm an animal lover, so that's a huge bonus!

If you've never tried this line before, and you're looking for something natural, preservative-free and fantastic, check out the store and ask for help, the staff are great! Yay for my new go-to day/night moisturizer!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2015 10:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was loyal to this moisturizer for a long time, but recently broke up with it. It has a lot of oil in it which is both a pro and a con: it's great for keeping skin moisturized, but not helpful on acne-prone skin. I decided to try a non-comedogenic brand, and I'm glad I did, but Celestial is definitely not without its merits!

Pros
-By far the most moisturizing product that I've ever used. I used it primarily as a night cream, and I was set for the entire next day.
-Never made me look "oily".
-It smells amazing!
-Because it comes in a tub, you can use it down to the last drop.
-Natural ingredients that never irritated my skin.
-Works well as hand/body cream in a pinch--it's great for traveling.
-LUSH is socially conscious, dedicated to protecting the environment, and vegetarian (and often vegan!). They also only use recyclable/compostable/previously used materials for packaging, and they never tests their products on animals.

Cons
-It was extremely difficult to clear acne while using this product, as the oil contributes to congestion. My skin cleared up very quickly after discontinuing use, and for me that's reason enough to move on from my love affair with this product.
-It tends to get stuck around the sides of the lids--it's not a huge deal because you can just scoop it out, but it's a bit irritating.

Here's my advice: if you have dry skin and little to no acne, I would definitely give it a shot! If you're like me, though, and you're struggling to keep your skin clear, I would pass.


on 2/3/2015 5:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Celestial offers a balanced moisture level and lovely light vanilla scent


on 1/28/2015 4:50:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a beautiful moisturiser! It is completely vegan and contains natural ingredients. It smells like a vanilla cheesecake which makes it a pleasure to use. It is fairly thick but absorbs very easily - you do not need a lot of it at all. I have combination skin which is fairly sensitive and this moisturiser has not exacerbated oiliness nor caused breakouts. This moisturiser leaves my skin feeling cool and soft. I would highly recommend this moisturiser for those with sensitive skin. This is a very nourishing moisturiser and is a must-have for me.


on 1/16/2015 11:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I really wanted to like this one. I used it as a night moisturizer, and after the first couple of nights, I awoke with glowy, really soft skin. I actually really liked the smell and feel of this, even though it is a bit greasy.

The problems began after about a week of use. I started developing much more acne then I've ever had before. I hadn't change anything else in my routine, so I decided to take a break from it. About a month later, I gave it another try, hoping the breakout were simply a coincidence. Unfortunately, they weren't.

This might be a great choice for people with very dry skin who aren't prone to acne, but for me, it just didn't work. Also, the price is just not reasonable for what you get.


on 1/15/2015 10:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For the past year I've been using raw honey as my cleanser and moisturizer but I decided to try the Celestial moisturizer. LUSH markets itself as providing "natural" and "organic" ingredients, which is what drew me into the store. Upon using the moisturizer, my face felt so moisturized and was just glowing! I was so impressed. But it turned out to be too good to be true. I was so disappointed to find methylparaben, propylparaben (sp?) and triethanolamine in their "natural" ingredients. All of which are toxins. "According to OrganicConsumers.org, Triethanolamine can cause allergic reactions including eye problems, dryness of hair and skin, and could be toxic if absorbed into the body over a long period of time." This wouldn't have irked me so much if LUSH didn't promote their product as being natural and organic, it's deceiving.

PROS: Left face looking and feeling fresh, moisturized and glowing.
CONS: Parabens and toxins

Overall- The latest beauty trend now is all about organic and all natural ingredients. LUSH uses this trend and markets their products as being natural and organic, however this is just a facade. Despite my skin looking great upon using, I treat my skin like gold and will only use good and all natural ingredients. That said, I will not by this or any moisturizer from LUSH again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/15/2015 4:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is the most balancing moisturizer I've ever used. I was acne prone, combination, and sensitive. First month or two I started with a tiny fingerprint dab to get used to it, but now my face drinks up the moisture. Its as though my skin "trusts" me now, when before it would freak out with ANY moisturizer. I really think its the depency of nasty chemicals of mainstream products that caused my skin to mistrust anything good and natural. Celestial is the most basic recipe so its worth trying this for a month. Just the smallest amount!! Now that my skin is balanced, I can tollerate more masks and treatments.


Back to Top