LUSH Celestial

3.9

237 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Vanilla Water (Vanilla planifolia), Almond Oil (Prunus dulcis), Almond Milk (Prunus dulcis), Glycerine, Fair Trade Cocoa Butter (Theobroma cacao), Fresh Dove Orchid Extract (Dendrobium), Cetearyl Alcohol, Stearic Acid, Triethanolamine, Methylparaben, Propylparaben,.


on 5/14/2015 9:22:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm so glad I gave this a go! It is a gentle and promising moisturiser that glides on, keeps the skin plump and moisturised without an oily sheen. It's excellent for my combination skin. Also, the scent is very light I picked up hints of vanilla bean. I like this even more than my Avene Rich Hydrating Cream now.

While the tub is fun to use and cute I think I might prefer the cream in a pump bottle for hygiene reasons and for a consistent amount to be dispensed every time I use it.



on 5/14/2015 3:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

love love love this cream!!!! My skin is acne prone and sensitive, and when i say sensitive i mean I'm allergic to a lot of chemicals (e.g. glycerol), if not I'm allergic to aloe vera and argan oil, which makes it really hard for me to find a moisturiser that works but also in a low - medium sort of price range. Used to use La Roche Posay when my skin was really irritated but it just wasn't enough for the dry australian weather. Then I came across celestial, read some review here and there, went through the ingredients list thoroughly, and decided to give it a try! And OMG it works, it moisturises my skin so beautifully my skin starts to feel smooth again, and not just smooth in the morning when i wake up, but actually throughout the day, without making my skin oily. I only use it as a night time moisturiser and i see that a lot of people have trouble to use it as it is quite thick. One trick I've found to use it is to put the cream in my palm (clean palm of course) and it will melt because of my body heat and turn from a thick cream to a watery consistency, that's when you apply it to I apply it on my face and it seems to sink in better. I've also filled mine into a squeezy tube because who likes to dip their fingers in and out the jar everyday?!

Overall, love the product, will purchase again, love the smell, maybe not the packaging


on 5/8/2015 3:26:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very nice moisturizer. Good for sensitive skin. Does not burn or cause redness. However, not moisturizing enough for my extremely dry and flaky skin. Would recommend though.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got a really bad sunburn and my skin went extremely dry, (combo skin) and I used some of my moms celestial. I bought it right away. My skin went from being oily and pimply to ridiculously soft and actually a little dry now (yes I was cleansing it too much and not moisturizing, but I could never find a moisturizer that didn't break me out)!! It doesn't even give me blackheads! I've gotten do many compliments on my skin, and it smells like a cupcake. My pores are even less noticeable! when I first tried it tho, I did get done angry red pimples on my forehead and hairline, but they're gone. I know that it's moisturizing and for dry and sensitive skin, and I've been avoiding it in lush for years because of that, but I am literally so happy with it. I beg of you, get a sample, or at least use it as a night cream.


on 4/2/2015 1:04:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using Kiehl's for a while but I am a converted lushie. I picked up this moisturizing cream along with the Angels on Bare Skin and after the first use my face feels amazing! I have eczema, pitryiasis alba, and atopic dermatitis but with no acne. The cream itself smells exactly like almond milk and makes my skin feel so much better. It has vanilla water which is good for lessening the appearance of pores which in my case are quite noticeable especially when I smile. Overall, Lush is a great brand and I can't wait to pick up some more.


on 3/19/2015 12:53:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Lush products have completely changed my skin. I purchased this about a year ago. It's such a great moisturizer to put on before makeup. I use this during the day or for a special event at night. It smells so good too! I have dry skin but somewhat oily t zone (with makeup only) and this makes my skin nice and supple. I love Lush! My makeup would cling to dry spots and just look at hot mess with other moisturizers. I tired them all, Clinique MAC Murad etc. At night I use another moisturizer ( Skin's Shangri LA) If you have sensitive skin/ combo skin try this. The Lush girls are always helpful and generous with samples. I would drive about 45 miles to get to my closest Lush wouldn't complain because the products are that awesome.


on 3/17/2015 3:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I got a sample of this because it is a bit pricey and I used it once and I could already see a difference it made my skin look so smooth and feel so soft and you only need the smallest amount to cover your whole face I also love that it didn't have a ton of ingredients it's nice and simple. Also to me it didn't have a scent and that's fine is just creamy and good


on 3/6/2015 4:15:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

Smells great. It is thick to apply but doesn't make me break out even though I have normal-oily skin. Although on hot or humid days it can feel too much. I tend only to use it in winter. I haven't noticed much of a difference for my skin by using it but it's better than supermarket moisturizers .

I give it a four because it's pricey and only okay, but still better than moisturizers I've tried. I'm not blown away by results though


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Wow! I'm pleasantly surprised by this moisturizer. I've been skeptical of Lush skincare products for years, because I have very sensitive skin and products with plant extracts and essential oils often produce some sort of irritation. I popped into the Queen Street location the other day in my quest to be open-minded (I was looking for a new moisturizer) and the whole experience was fantastic. The service was great! The sales associate was very patient and took time to explain the difference between the various products as well as give me a demo of a few of them. She offered to give me some samples instead of me having to purchase the product in case of any skin reactions. I've now used the Celestial twice and I already see a difference in my skin! It's difficult to explain in words, but I will try...

The texture of this moisturizer is creamy, but not greasy. It doesn't claim to do anything other than moisturize so I wasn't expecting some anti-aging miracle. It absorbs quickly and leave like this velvety feel to my skin. It's just beautiful! And the scent is heavenly--like a marshmallow/vanilla mix. No breakouts, not irritations, just soft, supple, bright, hydrated skin. My makeup is even applying on better.

Just got back from purchasing the full size for $24, which may seem a little pricey, but a little goes a long way. And I love that there are no chemicals in this stuff. More importantly, it's not tested on animals, and I'm an animal lover, so that's a huge bonus!

If you've never tried this line before, and you're looking for something natural, preservative-free and fantastic, check out the store and ask for help, the staff are great! Yay for my new go-to day/night moisturizer!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/7/2015 10:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I was loyal to this moisturizer for a long time, but recently broke up with it. It has a lot of oil in it which is both a pro and a con: it's great for keeping skin moisturized, but not helpful on acne-prone skin. I decided to try a non-comedogenic brand, and I'm glad I did, but Celestial is definitely not without its merits!

Pros
-By far the most moisturizing product that I've ever used. I used it primarily as a night cream, and I was set for the entire next day.
-Never made me look "oily".
-It smells amazing!
-Because it comes in a tub, you can use it down to the last drop.
-Natural ingredients that never irritated my skin.
-Works well as hand/body cream in a pinch--it's great for traveling.
-LUSH is socially conscious, dedicated to protecting the environment, and vegetarian (and often vegan!). They also only use recyclable/compostable/previously used materials for packaging, and they never tests their products on animals.

Cons
-It was extremely difficult to clear acne while using this product, as the oil contributes to congestion. My skin cleared up very quickly after discontinuing use, and for me that's reason enough to move on from my love affair with this product.
-It tends to get stuck around the sides of the lids--it's not a huge deal because you can just scoop it out, but it's a bit irritating.

Here's my advice: if you have dry skin and little to no acne, I would definitely give it a shot! If you're like me, though, and you're struggling to keep your skin clear, I would pass.


Popular Moisturizers


Moisturizing Cream
1267 Reviews
Strobe Cream
432 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
197 Reviews
Back to Top