LUSH • Celestial • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(222 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Leslie29 on 12/6/2014 10:05:00 AM more reviews by Leslie29

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Let me start with the positives. Yes, this does moisturize and leaves your skin feeling soft. It does have an oily sheen, but that didn't bother me, as I only used it at night. It looks like a small bar of soap. The heat of your hands "melts" the serum, which you apply to your skin. I just kept mine in a small Tupperware container.

But holy smoke.... do not get this stuff in your eye. It burns like the devil. I had to leave a wide circle around my eyes, and wash my hands so I didn't accidentally rub my eye with it. That's a deal breaker for me. I want to use a moisturizing serum under my eyes, and on the back of my hands.

Sorry Lush... I wanted to love you.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Mamasilverside on 12/6/2014 12:56:00 AM more reviews by Mamasilverside

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Early in the testing phase, but I may have found my HG moisturiser! It's fab as a primer too, my foundation has never went on so smoothly before - worth it for that reason alone, although it's far from the only reason I'm enjoying it so. Lovely scent, not too heavy and a tiny bit goes a long way. Only downside is packaging, and I see I'm not the only one to complain about that. Lush, give Celestial the pump bottle it deserves!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 dyjaee on 11/11/2014 8:48:00 PM more reviews by dyjaee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Good lord.. I REALLY love Lush products but this just broke me out SO badly everywhere. I never get cystic acne but this is giving me cystic acne... The associate said this would go great under makeup but just NO... I looked like a grease ball all day...
Just a big No for me.. However, I do love the gorgeous moisturizer so still loving Lush.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loraborealis on 9/29/2014 6:50:00 PM more reviews by loraborealis

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

When I first received Lush's Celestial for my birthday about a month ago, I was surprised at how my container looked half empty and used because all the product was stuck all around the edges of the container. Lush, please do something about this container. It's just not a good design... Especially if anyone were to tote this moisturizer around in their handbag, gym bag, or on a trip. Those are just no-go's if you want to save every bit of product and not have it creeping out of the edges of the container.

Disastrous packaging aside, I am in love love love with this moisturizer!! At first I was using it in the morning but found my skin much too shiny for my liking. Started incorporating it into my nightly routine instead and oh it's so luxurious! It IS a tad on the greasy side for me (given I normally just use Cerave lotion), but a little patting it in with the palms helps the skin soak it right up. I personally really like the smell- adds to the fanchy-ness :)

Am totally planning on repurchasing when I run out. Love. It!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SaraCee07 on 9/26/2014 5:27:00 AM more reviews by SaraCee07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

I was on the hunt for a new night moisturizer as my HG has now been discontinued. I love LUSH cleansers so thought I would give their moisturizers a go as well. I had tried Skin Drink as a sample but I just wasn't impressed enough to buy a full size. Went for Celestial instead as I was thinking I could maybe use it for a day cream as well when my day cream (also discontinued from same company) runs out. I am still undecided as to whether that will happen. I really do like it as a night cream, it smells amazing, vanilla and cheesecakey, and I only need a small amount for my whole face. It takes about 10 minutes to sink in and it makes my skin nice and soft. It may just be a bit too oily/creamy for day use but maybe if I blot it before applying my makeup to take off any excess oil..? I don't know. But it is a good cream! Bit expensive for such a small pot, but as said up there, I only need a small amount.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 treradical on 8/5/2014 1:36:00 AM more reviews by treradical

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

This stuff was so awful and definitely NOT good for my sensitive skin. I used this for quite a few months before realizing that this product was not good for my skin. It never felt like it properly moisturized my skin, and I remember my skin would turn red upon application. Would never re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Slcatlow on 6/24/2014 5:23:00 PM more reviews by Slcatlow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Only thing that let's this down is the packaging. Wasting cream that constantly gets stuck around the lid. But the cream is luckily the best face cream I have used. It's gentle on my skin and doesn't break me out. Helps with combination skin and it makes it really smooth. Yes it's very rich and some people would prefer it just as a night cream..but using a small amount in the morning is great for me. Might not be the best if you want a matte look but I prefer a dewy glow.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pickmepinup on 6/22/2014 7:38:00 PM more reviews by pickmepinup

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Celestial is a super thick but gentle moisturizer for anyone seeking something safe to turn to for nurturing their dry skin. I bought it because I thought it would be "light" for summer but that isn't at all what it is like, it is some heavy duty stuff and most likely not for oily skin. It is gentle and softens up your skin with this nice, supple glow but only use a little. If you want something mild and soft with a thick feel, it will be your best friend.

Let me start off by saying it smells heavenly. I can't really describe it all that well because it's so airy and nice and subtle. It has this dreamy, creamy cool vanilla scent that is sweet and light without being too sugary. I can kind of smell the cocoa butter, but it isn't harsh at all, kind of like an underlying note in the fragrance.

Lush made a video for this product where the lady talking about it called it a "cooling cloud for your skin," which I think is a pretty accurate description. No warm notes in the scent which by the way is not perfumed at all.

Just a tip for those of you ladies who think this might be too heavy, think about buying a toner before you give up on this one! I had so much of an easier time getting this moisturizer to soak into my skin when I bought the Tea Tree Water Toner. My skin eats Celestial right up if I remember to tone my skin before applying the moisturizer.

I know just about everyone and their mothers hate the pot packaging like it is the devil himself but I actually quite like it. I can see just how much product is left and get the perfect amount every time. If you make sure you wash your hands or are fresh out of the shower when you apply it, you don't really need to fret about it being unsanitary. Just remember to keep your hands clean and screw the cap on tight when you're finished.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 angelc on 6/20/2014 6:38:00 PM more reviews by angelc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a difficult one to review, because I used it for over a year, but recently discovered it has been drying out my skin badly. The moisturizer really isn't anything to rave about, but I kept using it because my skin didn't burn or sting when I applied it like many moisturizers do. People with sensitive skin may want to give it a try if they can't find anything non-irritating. But beware that it may cause flaky, dry skin in the future.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 acatcalledbellatrix on 6/7/2014 11:37:00 PM more reviews by acatcalledbellatrix

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I've only ever had sample pots of this but it's always worked really well with my skin and I've been meaning to purchase a full sized pot just because it's rare that a moisturiser works so well with my sensitive skin.

It does have a strong vanilla scent which is tolerable and the consistency reminds me of icing but it sinks into the skin really well and doesn't leave a slippery or tacky residue. It works especially well as a base for makeup and with Lush's 'Gorgeous' moisturiser as a night cream.

I'm not crazy about the pot packaging as I don't like sticking my fingers in a pot over and over again but I'll be purchasing a full size pot of this as soon as my current day cream runs out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Moisturizers products