Paula's Choice Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

3.7

177 reviews

58% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 5%; Zinc Oxide 5% (mineral-based sunscreens). Other Ingredients: Water, Cyclomethicone (silicone slip agent), Propylene Glycol (water-binding agent), PEG/PPG-118/18-Dimethicone (silicone-based emulsifier), Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate (thickener), Talc (absorbent), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Phytantriol (water-binding agent), Tocopherol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (antioxidants vitamin E and C), Boron Nitride (absorbent), Glycerin (slip agent), Palmitic Acid (thickener), Dextrin Palmitate (emulsifier), Sodium Hyaluronate (water-binding agent), Sodium Chloride (stabilizer), Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben (all preservatives). May Contain: Iron Oxides, Ultramarines (FDA-approved cosmetic pigments).


on 7/18/2015 8:50:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have repurchased this several times over the years but my original review was 2004. Since then the SPF was increased from 20 to 30 and the colors have changed.

In the original I wore a color called Sheer Fair that no longer exists and Light 1 is the closest thing they have now. It's a good color but I prefer "Light Plus" in MAC Prep+Prime Beauty Balm which is such a perfect color for me that people just compliment my skin and don't seem to realize I'm wearing anything on top of it.

When I have not been out in the sun at all, Paula's Choice Light 1, a nice ivory, is the best shade for me, however; I can get away with Light-to-Medium 2, which is a light yellow-based beige, slightly too dark. I'm not in love with either color, though. She should keep these shades but also expand the color range. I suppose I could mix Light 1 with Light-to-Medium 2, but then I'd have to buy two tubes. I think wearing Light 1 but applying one of my powder foundations over it is probably the way to go.

Coverage is sheer to light. I have to apply concealer and use powder on top of this. But if I do that, it lasts pretty well throughout the day. My skin is combination and sensitive, not super oily. It doesn't settle into lines or emphasize problems but it's not the best at covering redness, hence the concealer. If you have oily skin, this may not be "matte" enough for you.

Fragrance free. If my skin is already irritated from contact dermatitis, there is a slight tingling but it doesn't burn. If my skin isn't already acting up, this applies comfortably. Once dry, it feels weightless.

The price is $20 for an ounce, which is cheaper than the MAC one I've been buying and the Stila TM I used to have. I think it's a good buy, if you like the colors.

Tube packaging is my favorite for trips, overnights, etc. It's nice having the convenience of SPF 30 in a lightweight formula that provides a little coverage, but I don't consider this a foundation. If you love this but want more coverage I'd recommend dusting a good powder foundation on top of it.

It's a great little TM. It's not my holy grail, mostly because neither shade 1 nor shade 2 in Barely There Sheer Matte Tint is quite as perfect a match as my MAC, but it's good enough to buy again. If she added a few shades, like a really great one-and-a-half color, I might raise my rating from 4 to 5.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/23/2015 9:50:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like everything about this TM except that it is definitely not matte, which is why I bought it. I'll keep looking for a matte TM I guess.


on 6/19/2015 3:14:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

it.s sheer and it shows my flakes
doesn.t break me out


on 4/25/2015 9:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This a pretty great but it unfortunately oxidizes a bit on my skin and ends up having a little yellow cast, which is not really acceptable since my skin is very fair with a cool tone. Here are the pros and cons:

-- Good sunscreen protection! I would prefer SPF 40+ but this is the minimum acceptable for me
-- Very lightweight
-- Sinks right in to my combination skin without emphasizing pores or lines
-- Natural, NOT matte, finish verging on luminous. Makes my skin look very healthy. I do have to use a mattifier (OC Eight) dabbed very lightly on my t-zone to not look shiny
-- Pigmented just enough to even me out without making it look like I'm wearing makeup
-- Does not rub off
-- Not very hydrating (which is fine by me); I wear it over moisturizer
-- Oxidizes and gets a slight yellow cast (I use shade 1. I wish they made a shade 0.)


3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 10/14/2014 9:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my holy grail foundation. It provides SPF 30, very light hydration and sheer, naturally glowy coverage. Most women will use concealer. It has a semi-matte finish, so you may need a moisturizer.


on 10/7/2014 12:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

My oily skin feels dehydrated and extremely dry after applying this moisturizer.
I love other Paula's Choice products though.
Too bad this one didnt work for me...


on 9/11/2014 2:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've had this for forever and after first trying it I thought it was so sheer and didn't do much. I've been trying to go through my makeup collection and re visited this. It's boring but in the best possible way. Doesn't irritate my skin and while it's very light coverage, almost looks like I'm wearing nothing, it makes my skin look incredible and stays matte. I haven't noticed it wearing off and think it still looks great at the end of the day (I'm not the type who would ever touch up my makeup). It's also great to mix a tiny amount into sunscreen to get rid of white cast.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2014 12:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I HAD THE SAMPLE BUT IT HAS LASTED QUITE A WHILE.
Barely there is medium coverage so you will be able to notice you have foundation on . In the beginning this is a foundation that goes on smoothly but over time it tends to oxidize. This does not shine so it won't draw unwanted extra attention to areas like acne and this stays put once you put it on. However, it has more of a warm tone and doesn't cover up redness and/ or acne. It is unlikely to conceal dark spots,or pigmentation issues. There are not many options for really pale or dark skin tones. Hence,the 4 stars.


on 6/22/2014 6:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I totally love this TM for my summer routine. It can act as a reliable SPF if applied liberally and overall one's face. It melts in so nicely so I can hardly see it on the skin. At the same time it evens out the skin tone, tones down redness and stay put for a long time. I can't agree this is a matte finish product as the result look rather dewy and luminous but in a pleasant way. I have dry to combination skin in summer so I can say it is moisturizing enough for my skin's needs. PC team says it can be applied instead of a moisturizer. I don't do this. But I can imagine someone with an oilier skin skipping moisturizer underneath.
It has all the good ingredients in it and relies only on physical (mineral) sunscreen which is a true find among SPF products. I have occasional rosacea flares so this feature is crucial for me.
Overall impression is so good and I give this product 5 stars/lippies for all the benefits it has.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2014 8:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

HG tinted moisturizer. I'm on my second tube, have another standing by, and have got my friends hooked on it, too. Perfect for combination skin. If you're pale and having trouble finding a TM that doesn't turn orange, definitely try the lightest shade. Goes on beautifully with just your fingers.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top