Paula's Choice Barely There Sheer Matte Tint SPF 30

3.8

175 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Titanium Dioxide 5%; Zinc Oxide 5% (mineral-based sunscreens). Other Ingredients: Water, Cyclomethicone (silicone slip agent), Propylene Glycol (water-binding agent), PEG/PPG-118/18-Dimethicone (silicone-based emulsifier), Octyldodecyl Neopentanoate (thickener), Talc (absorbent), Dimethicone (silicone slip agent), Phytantriol (water-binding agent), Tocopherol, Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate (antioxidants vitamin E and C), Boron Nitride (absorbent), Glycerin (slip agent), Palmitic Acid (thickener), Dextrin Palmitate (emulsifier), Sodium Hyaluronate (water-binding agent), Sodium Chloride (stabilizer), Sodium Dehydroacetate, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Propylparaben (all preservatives). May Contain: Iron Oxides, Ultramarines (FDA-approved cosmetic pigments).


on 4/25/2015 9:37:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This a pretty great but it unfortunately oxidizes a bit on my skin and ends up having a little yellow cast, which is not really acceptable since my skin is very fair with a cool tone. Here are the pros and cons:

-- Good sunscreen protection! I would prefer SPF 40+ but this is the minimum acceptable for me
-- Very lightweight
-- Sinks right in to my combination skin without emphasizing pores or lines
-- Natural, NOT matte, finish verging on luminous. Makes my skin look very healthy. I do have to use a mattifier (OC Eight) dabbed very lightly on my t-zone to not look shiny
-- Pigmented just enough to even me out without making it look like I'm wearing makeup
-- Does not rub off
-- Not very hydrating (which is fine by me); I wear it over moisturizer
-- Oxidizes and gets a slight yellow cast (I use shade 1. I wish they made a shade 0.)


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 10/14/2014 9:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is my holy grail foundation. It provides SPF 30, very light hydration and sheer, naturally glowy coverage. Most women will use concealer. It has a semi-matte finish, so you may need a moisturizer.


on 10/7/2014 12:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

My oily skin feels dehydrated and extremely dry after applying this moisturizer.
I love other Paula's Choice products though.
Too bad this one didnt work for me...


on 9/11/2014 2:14:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've had this for forever and after first trying it I thought it was so sheer and didn't do much. I've been trying to go through my makeup collection and re visited this. It's boring but in the best possible way. Doesn't irritate my skin and while it's very light coverage, almost looks like I'm wearing nothing, it makes my skin look incredible and stays matte. I haven't noticed it wearing off and think it still looks great at the end of the day (I'm not the type who would ever touch up my makeup). It's also great to mix a tiny amount into sunscreen to get rid of white cast.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/30/2014 12:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I HAD THE SAMPLE BUT IT HAS LASTED QUITE A WHILE.
Barely there is medium coverage so you will be able to notice you have foundation on . In the beginning this is a foundation that goes on smoothly but over time it tends to oxidize. This does not shine so it won't draw unwanted extra attention to areas like acne and this stays put once you put it on. However, it has more of a warm tone and doesn't cover up redness and/ or acne. It is unlikely to conceal dark spots,or pigmentation issues. There are not many options for really pale or dark skin tones. Hence,the 4 stars.


on 6/22/2014 6:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I totally love this TM for my summer routine. It can act as a reliable SPF if applied liberally and overall one's face. It melts in so nicely so I can hardly see it on the skin. At the same time it evens out the skin tone, tones down redness and stay put for a long time. I can't agree this is a matte finish product as the result look rather dewy and luminous but in a pleasant way. I have dry to combination skin in summer so I can say it is moisturizing enough for my skin's needs. PC team says it can be applied instead of a moisturizer. I don't do this. But I can imagine someone with an oilier skin skipping moisturizer underneath.
It has all the good ingredients in it and relies only on physical (mineral) sunscreen which is a true find among SPF products. I have occasional rosacea flares so this feature is crucial for me.
Overall impression is so good and I give this product 5 stars/lippies for all the benefits it has.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2014 8:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

HG tinted moisturizer. I'm on my second tube, have another standing by, and have got my friends hooked on it, too. Perfect for combination skin. If you're pale and having trouble finding a TM that doesn't turn orange, definitely try the lightest shade. Goes on beautifully with just your fingers.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Nice enough tinted moisturizer, but if you are perennially shiny like me, you will still be shiny and need powder after using this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/31/2013 10:10:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This product is a good TM or light foundation. Warning - like most TM and BB creams it is LIGHT coverage. Don't expect this to be like foundation. It is a matte but not flat look - some that like super matte may not find this matte enough. It doesn't last all day like my PC All Bases Covered foundation but that is too be expected. Easy to touch up with a little powder or I can add more of the product without it looking cakey. I would suggest ordering sample for color help. Since it is sheer/light coverage, you have some wiggle room with color.

I love that this has PHYSCIAL SPF in it. It seems like most BB/TM have chemical s/s which irritate my skin.

UPDATE: I took a lippie off. I am NC20 (though leaning more neutral) and the Level 2 is just waaaaay too yellow. I would try the Level 1 (which looks to light) but they have been out of samples forever! Besides the color (even if the Level 1 matches) the wear time on this product is just too short.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/10/2013 3:49:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a great option if you want light (more than sheer) coverage with SPF 30. I have usually have oily skin, but sometimes my Diferin makes it a little dry in places; this TM works very nicely.
I bought this in Level 1, and my coloring is Loreal True Match N1 or W2.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top