Neutrogena • Extra Gentle Cleanser • Cleansers

rated 3.7(348 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 ashmaaa on 4/7/2014 1:05:00 PM more reviews by ashmaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been suffering from acne for the past 13 years and over the years, my skin has become highly reactive and sensitized. As such, while acne-fighting and foaming cleansers have worked in the past, i find them just too drying and harsh now. Prior to this, i was using the cetaphil cleanser which was still too drying. This cleanser, as the name says, is extra gentle on the skin and leaves it feeling moisturized and clean instead of squeaky clean and parched. I would recommend this product for anyone with sensitive/sensitized/dry skin. Would also recommend for anyone using harsh/skin-compromising acne treatments such as BP, AHAs, BHAs, Retin-A etc as it rebalances the skin. Also loving the pump and fragrance-free formulation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kkwil on 3/15/2014 6:27:00 PM more reviews by kkwil

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I've been having some issues with my skin this winter.. It's been so dry and nothing has been working. I was looking for a face cleanser at target and came across this. I've only used it 3 times and so far my dry skin is completely gone.. In fact my complexion just over all looks better. I would totally buy this again, especially at 9 dollars you can't really go wrong! And especially for anyone that has dry / sensitive skin then I would highly recommend it. It doesn't sting or make my skin red like some other cleansers do and it doesn't feel tight or dry after you wash your face!! 5/5 lippies 💋

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VeruskaRai on 3/10/2014 10:39:00 PM more reviews by VeruskaRai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Perfect product for someone with sensitive skin like myself. I have been using this at least a year to wash off my makeup at night. My skin is left very clean with no residue. I also use it when I get my face waxed, my skin gets red and sensitive afterward and this stuff really cleans it and soothes at the same time. Highly recommended for gals with sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 periwinkle92 on 2/28/2014 11:32:00 PM more reviews by periwinkle92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff has been a Godsend to me this winter. I developed dry itchy patches on my forehead and cheeks this due to the extreme weather and I guess just changes in my skin. It was so ridiculously bad that I could wear ANY foundation because my skin just looked awful. I was on the search for good gentle cleanser and happened upon this one at my local Jewel Osco.

My skin didn't like it at first. It stung my patchy skin and I got a little discouraged by continued with it anyway. I paired it with Avon's Nurtura moisturizer and now my flakes and patches are under control. and no more stinging!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kellitor on 2/19/2014 2:14:00 PM more reviews by Kellitor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I use the Equate "dupe" of Cetaphil's Gentle Skin Cleanser on a regular basis. Every once and awhile I like to change it up and go for something to see if I can find a product my face likes better. The price was the first indicator that I probably wasn't going to get it again. My Equate face wash is much cheaper, but I figure if it is a superior product, it might be worth the money!
I will say, if you are worried about parabens and sulfates, this Neutrogena product is the way to go. It was actually what attracted me to this product in the first place!
However, I didn't feel like this product was cleaning my skin at all. I started to break out about a week after using it, and it stung my eyes. I was highly disappointed with this "gentle" product being able to sting my eyes and break me out.
You live and you learn.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SnowQueen on 1/29/2014 9:38:00 PM more reviews by SnowQueen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I always seen to have really dry flaky skin, even exfoliating doesn't help. This product is amazing, it made my dry skin really soft and didn't irritate it. I use it after removing my makeup. I highly recommend for those with dry and sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emandemsinalamb on 12/19/2013 2:01:00 AM more reviews by emandemsinalamb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've purchased and repurchased this many, many times. I have dry skin, and I like to avoid putting fragrance on it whenever possible. This is a great cleanser.

Pros:

- Fragrance-free!
- Despite being fragrance-free, it has no strong or discernible odour.
- Creamy, but light.
- Doesn't strip the skin of moisture. For me with my dry skin, this is a huge plus.
- Cleanses gently, and well, without giving skin a tight or "squeaky clean" feeling.
- Hygienic packaging.
- Non-greasy.
- Very affordable! (Ranges between $7-$11 CAD, depending where you shop.)

Cons:

- I only wish they manufactured it in a larger bottle! The current containers are a little on the small side, but for the price, I don't care so much.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 12/12/2013 2:59:00 PM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been a Master Esthetician for 15 years that has dry, sensitive skin. I recommend reading my reviews for Cetaphil, and CeraVe. Neutrogena is the only drug store brand left I would recommend. My comments for this are the same, and anytime anyone (especially sensitive skin) switches facial products or makeup, you're skin might break out, that's normal, it will go away. I never do even a hour long facial before a wedding, or special occasion for that reason alone. If for some reason it doesn't work for you, you're not out a lot of money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aliciasuzanne on 12/6/2013 11:08:00 AM more reviews by aliciasuzanne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

My face recently got really dried out after spending a night at a football game in extreme cold and wind. My normal cleanser was drier my skin out, so I switched to this. I absolutely love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mccfrausto on 12/3/2013 7:40:00 PM more reviews by mccfrausto

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This cleanser is about as gentle as baby shampoo and great for my combination oily/dry skin type. I'm prone to chronic breakouts on a daily basis but I'm able to keep my skin clear so long as I keep the right regimen. Most cleansers either leave my skin too dry or with too much buildup left behind but this one is well balanced, cleansing, and non drying. So far it's been working very well in the dry cold fall and winter weather. Just lather and rinse twice for best result.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Cleansers products