Bobbi Brown • Powder Blush - Desert Rose • Blush

rated 4.4(74 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* iLoveYoutwo on 8/2/2013 8:14:00 PM more reviews by iLoveYoutwo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am NC20, Fair, warm skinned chinese girl. I have an obsession with blushes because I like making my face look healthy and more colored. I used to try to like shimmery blushes like the much talked about NARS Orgasm, but after years I realized that it gives me too much radiance to my already radiant (or, oily) skin. I started lusting after matte blushes that wasn't red or pink (I am prone to have redness on my face) If I were to choose blush, I would choose a peachy-pink instead or something else.

I LOVE my Shiseido Petal, which is pinky-peach, but then I was looking for a more sophisticated, natural, but warm blush that would make me look very healthy. Desert Rose is it. The SA in BB tried this on me and I fell in love, it's SO flattering on warm skintones and it doesn't look like you are wearing makeup, the blush MELTS into skin (blending well) instead of sitting on top like the MAC blushes I own. (No more MAC blushes for me!!!)

Bottom line: If you are oily and warm fair-skinned and love matte blushes, you need this, and shiseido petal.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 aprilg23 on 7/10/2013 9:56:00 PM more reviews by aprilg23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is my all time favourite blush, for reference I'm nc25-nc30. The blush is quite small and extremely expensive in NZ ($79) but it lasts and lasts. The colour is a gorgeous matte and very natural mauvey pink which goes with everything. Desert Rose manages to brighten my face up and give me a pretty flush and I think it would look lovely on paler skin too. I also think it would compliment berry or purple based lipsticks like MAC Plumful and Rebel very well. Pigmentation is good, packaging is sturdy and this does not break me out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 LondonKazza on 11/21/2012 6:33:00 AM more reviews by LondonKazza

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is a lovely blush. I have a very pale complexion and find that this is a perfect blush for everyday use. I tend to wear a more peach coloured blush at the weekends but I love this one for the weekdays. Its a very pretty colour. I have taken one point off as it doesn't last the whole day but then I am lazy and should reapply!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* princessplumjade on 9/14/2012 1:18:00 AM more reviews by princessplumjade

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

For reference, I wear BB "Warm Ivory" foundation, am Latina, and have very fair "lukewarm" olive complexion. I also have some redness from rosacea. My coloring is the type where I usually need a warm-toned yellow foundation but cool-toned cosmetics (red, pink, mauve, plum cool beige or taupe) to look healthy and attractive.

Extremely dissatisfied with this product and with poor customer service. I went to the BB counter looking for a nice matte pink blush. The SA got all "professional" with me, insisting I'd look better in Tawny "to help neutralize the redness" in my cheeks.

Tawny looked horrible, very bronze and unnatural. Again, I requested a cooler, rosier blush. The SA held up the Desert Rose against the Tawny and insisted I shouldn't go any cooler than that. Compared to Tawny, Desert Rose looks pink so I bought it.

Desert Rose makes me look worse than sunburnt. Instead it looks like FAKE BRUSHED-ON SUNBURN! More a brownish-pinky-peach than anything else. It appears to be good quality with a nice matte finish, but the lovely natural matte effect is ruined by the obvious unnatural color. The only way to make it suitable is to layer a cooler pink or plum blush on top of it to "cool" the color down. I dislike layering products and I feel strongly I didn't get my $'s worth. BB cosmetics are too expensive to waste $ on unflattering, unwearable colors.

At home, I contacted the on-line MUA at bobbibrowncosmetics.com and explained the problem. Instead of offering me any type of assistance to exchange the product for a true pink blush, the MUA suggested I purchase bronzer -- and GLITTERY BRONZER at that -- "to help warm up" my complexion to better suit the blush. I am in my forties, I don't like bronzer, and have no intention of buying/wearing bronzer. I explained to the MUA multiple times I was uninterested in a makeup look featuring bronzed skin with sunburned blush and I wanted a true pink blush. The MUA insisted the bronzer was the way to go.

Q: Why do I pay more $ for expensive, department store cosmetics?

A: I'm paying for service and assistance. No department store makeup line has any products meriting their inflated costs. What justifies the expense is access to expertise and assistance. If the SA's are determined to disregard my specific requests for particular colors of makeup and insist on selling me things I dislike, I may as well not shop there.

BB has lost all my interest at this point. Following this unpleasant experience, I visited the NYX cosmetics website and purchased several lovely blushes in beautiful, rosy pink and mauve. In future I will be sampling the Laura Mercier foundation line.

The Desert Rose blush is a great choice for people with distinctly warm coloring. If the blush gives you a sallow (yellowy) appearance, or looks like a burn or a rash, it's not right for you.

6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bellaw13 on 2/24/2012 12:52:00 PM more reviews by bellaw13

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Grey    

THis is a really great colour complements skin tone and is nice and light not too over the top. I wear it for a subtle rosy hint of colour. Really lasts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 phxgirl on 2/13/2012 11:46:00 AM more reviews by phxgirl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love Desert Rose! I wear it daily. It's just the perfect blush on my fair skin, doesn't turn orange or brown. I can apply it lightly or layer for more color. I will gladly pay the price because it lasts FOREVER. It's matte but blends beautifully. LOVE!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Mashmash on 11/26/2011 2:11:00 PM more reviews by Mashmash

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

My favourite! The colour is just right. Lasts all day. The best blush in the world for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Vittoriak on 2/4/2011 12:59:00 PM more reviews by Vittoriak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

It is my favourite favourite favourite blush! Personally, I prefer matte blushes but sometimes they are just not pigmented enough (especially Bourjois!). But this one is extremely pigmented, comparable to NARS. The colour gives me (NC20/25) the most natural blush and makes me look healthy. I always reach for it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tempalina on 1/17/2011 7:29:00 PM more reviews by tempalina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is one of my all-time favorite blushes. Everytime I wear it, I always get compliments about how good my skin looks. It meshes well with my skin tone (NC35) and blends in perfectly. All I wish is that it comes in a bigger container. Def repurchase =)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 1/17/2011 7:17:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Gorgeous blush! I am light skinned, cool toned (NW15) and most blushes are either too brown so I end up looking muddy or too pinkish-red so that they bring out the redness in my skin, also not a good look. This is just right. Finely milled, the usual Bobbi Brown quality. Will repurchase. Retails for $24 and is worth every penny in my opinion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Blush products