Aubrey Organics • Blue Green Algae with Grape Seed Extract Facial Cleansing Lotion • Cleansers

rated 3.4(20 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.55%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 pal185847 on 3/15/2012 9:42:00 PM more reviews by pal185847

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I have acne-prone skin with dry spots and this cleanser is perfect. I no longer need to moisturize. My face isn't dry after using it and my skin has gotten much better than using harsher cleansers with salicyc acid, etc. The only con is that it takes a little longer to wash off as it's creamy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fuchsiaheart on 1/27/2012 1:20:00 PM more reviews by fuchsiaheart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This works really well for me as an exfoliator when I start to break out around that time of the month. It keeps my skin smooth and the acne at bay. The smell is very medicinal, almost overwhelming when you first squeeze the stuff out of the tube, but I deal with it. The cream is really nice--it's a shimmery pearl color. Unfortunately, the packaging is ugly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsLove on 2/22/2011 8:48:00 PM more reviews by MsLove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have skin that doesn't fit into one category. Sometimes its normal, other times is combo/acne prone, other times its extremely dry. I live in the DC Metro area, where we go from beautiful falls and springs to harsh, dry cold winters and humid sticky swamp like summers.

This is an excellent year round cleanser regardless of climate. It removes all the gook from the day, and leaves your skin feeling very very VERY soft. As I approached my 30s, my skin began to require more gentle cleansing - not the harsh drying strip everything away acne cleansers of my hormone raging youth. Somehow I lucked into finding this, and it is a great product. This cleans without suds, and anything that it doesnt remove on its own, I always use coconut oil to take off my mascara and nourish my eyelashes, this washes it right away.


Highly recommended for healthy, balanced skin if your skin is all over the place like mine. Also, if you ever liked Noxzema cleansing, this is an organic alternative without the tingle, without the feeling that there is still cleanser on your skin when you rinse, and a very fresh light scent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sweetbabylace on 12/22/2010 4:21:00 PM more reviews by sweetbabylace

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This sucks at removing makeup! Doesn't remove a thing. I gave it a 2, though, because it's non-drying, smells clean and doesn't strip the skin. It is NOT a makeup remover, and I don't even wear long-wearing makeup. Off to add to my swap list...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* staci01 on 2/7/2009 3:18:00 AM more reviews by staci01

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I'm already a fan of Aubrey's Natural Herbal cleansing lotion as it get's my face clean and my skin doesn't break out from it. Decided though to switch to the Blue Green Algae cleansing lotion since my skin's been getting dry from indoor winter heating and I thought this would be more moisturizing. Cleans well and leaves my skin moisturized and soft but unfortunately it clogs my pores like no tomorrow and I'm suspecting it's the castile soap that's in this product. Won't continue using.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emysiu on 9/6/2008 8:33:00 PM more reviews by emysiu

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

[Update: I've used this for a year now and I've decided that this really isn't for me. I finally figured out that this was one of a few culprits in my skincare routine that was healing my blemishes but making more at the same time. Because my skin is dehydrated, I've been sticking to just plain water to help my skin become normal. This change along with a few visits for facials and avocado oil has improved my skin dramatically.]
After using this for the last 2 months, I decided to put in my own review on this. When I bought this, I was searching for some kind of miracle to heal my blemished and acne scarred face. After using this diligently along with a rose water toner and the Aubrey Organics Sea Buckthorn moisturizer, I feel like my face is finally on the road of recovery. What separates this cleanser from a lot of others that I've tried is that it didn't strip my combination skin to a dry flakey pulp. It's a nice creamy texture that feels nice on the skin and actually removes all my makeup and dirt. I like its mildly medicinal scent as well. The packaging is simple, a bottle you squeeze out of. I do agree that when you get a new bottle it's difficult to "shake well." Just do what a previous reviewer said and squeeze the bottle a bit before shaking.
When I first started using this, my skin definitely felt a little bit drier after cleansing and even seemed to break out some more. Be patient if you're using this! Now, my skin's not dry anymore after cleansing, it's smoother, and my blemishes are finally going away. When I started seeing the improvement in my skin 3 weeks ago, I sighed with relief that something was finally working. I hope it keeps on into the colder seasons, and then it'll really be worth 5 lippies!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* micdeajones on 7/9/2008 8:51:00 PM more reviews by micdeajones

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The ingredients are really nice but for my acne-prone skin, it didn't work. My pores appeared to get bigger. It just wasn't a suitable product for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 baba99 on 5/7/2008 10:03:00 AM more reviews by baba99

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Blue    

Been using this cleanser for ages now and swtiching back because I think DHC is givng me breakouts.

Smells fresh and natural - although quick hard to deal with at first.

I also remember when I first used it, it made my skin breakout a bit, but that was due to all the nasty chemcials I use to put on my skin. After a while, it all cleared.

Very thick and creamy texture -so quite hard to squeeze out if its from a new bottle. But just hold your breath and squeeze the bottle beforehand to mix up the ingredients.

When you add water it foams up - giving my skin a really good clean. Skin feels quite normal after cleasning but sometimes a bit dry.

Finally, I love it for all the natural, organic ingredients it has and the fact its sooo much better than branded names plus you dont get the expensive price tag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glossnmascaragal on 6/2/2007 7:47:00 PM more reviews by glossnmascaragal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Cool   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love the whole Blue Green Algae line and this cleanser is no exception. It has the consistancy of a thick lotion and it cleans without leaving my face feeling dry and stripped. My skin glows and my face is so clear, I can't stop looking at my skin! The smell isn't bad at all, considering that it's all natural with no artificial scents. I will use this forever.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 telos7 on 1/2/2006 2:40:00 AM more reviews by telos7

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination skin and have been using this cleanser for a few weeks. My breakouts have definitely reduced in frequency and duration while using this. It does leave a slight residue, but that's probably the coconut ingredient and/or natural oils leaving a moisturizing barrier. Anyway my face feels clean afterwards and not dried out. I'm eager to try the Green Tea & Gingko cleanser so may not repurchase if I end up preferring that. All in all, though, this product has been a pleasant surprise.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aubrey Organics products

More Cleansers products