Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab • Old Venice • Fragrances

rated 3.6(24 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 hallospaceboy on 12/20/2007 11:08:00 PM more reviews by hallospaceboy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I only *wish* this were a lush, complex floral on me. I get almost the exact same thing as edenssixthday: a boring, forgettable floral bouquet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* edenssixthday on 1/13/2006 4:04:00 PM more reviews by edenssixthday

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

With a description as lush and beautiful as the description for Venice and the various notes included, I thought it would be an unforgettably gorgeous scent. Unfortunately, it isn't. It's floral and powdery and pretty boring on me. There's nothing special about it at all. I'm not even going to bother trying this one in a scent locket, that's how thoroughly boring and unimpressive it is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Scarlettfish on 8/12/2005 12:58:00 AM more reviews by Scarlettfish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very lush, complex floral, with citrus giving it a bit of bite and preventing it from becoming too sweet. It is very well blended so no one note stands out, rather they just mesh together beautifully. It definitely evokes images of the city, and is very kinda decadent in its complexity. It is pretty much the same wet as it is dry on me. This is absolutely lovely!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 schiehallion on 7/28/2005 4:59:00 AM more reviews by schiehallion

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

I love Old Venice. A lot of BPAL doesn't work on my skin, but on me, this one just sings.

It's a slightly musky, fruity floral - feminine without being girly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 helarctos on 6/2/2005 12:45:00 PM more reviews by helarctos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

On me, the jasmine and lemon in Venice just seem to curdle one another. They smelled almost like neroli, which is terrible on me. Hours wore away the strength of that scent and left an unremarkable floral blend. This one's not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 KymbaKhan on 5/7/2005 5:09:00 PM more reviews by KymbaKhan

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

there's supposed to be something in this beyond just lemon, right? on me it just sings LEEEEMOooON! after dry down it's a nice nondescript floral, but nothing standing out identifyably, and the hint of citrus always nearby, threatening..
this isn't really anything special, i'd try other HG BPAL's first.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BerryDelicious on 4/10/2005 12:11:00 AM more reviews by BerryDelicious

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wanderlust - A complex, voluptuous scent that captures the robust beauty and of the Italian Renaissance: lemon, red currant, wisteria, red rose petals, heady jasmine, Florentine orris root, waterlily, red sandalwood, violet plum, and violet leaf.
Venice is one of my favourite places in the world and I love the images I get with this scent. Lush, bright colours; red, yellow, purple and green. Vivacious, buxom women, faces hidden behind vivid masks, their contagious laughter rippling through St Mark's Square as they dance to the live orchestra with their partners...a mixture of floral scents drifiting from their warm, ample cleavages... Beth's Venice is bold and intoxicating: floral, green, slightly aquatic, a touch sweet and fruity. Roses, jasmine, violet...and also the strong lemon zest and red currant mixing in. Despite those fruity notes though, Venice seems to be all floral, all the time on me, and I just can't do most big florals. I find it a bit sharp too. I love the imagery, but ultimately, this one is not for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lisabrock1 on 3/23/2005 12:00:00 PM more reviews by lisabrock1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This didn't even get as far as my wrist as the scent was so off-putting in the imp that i rejected it straight away. Its a very heavy, cloying sickly perfume which reminded me of YSL Paris and I truly detest Paris! Not a good BPAL purchase but thankfully only an imps worth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Elyse on 1/13/2005 6:27:00 PM more reviews by Elyse

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is a pleasant aquatic floral, it would be good if you are a fan of that genre.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dreamstorm on 12/16/2004 4:51:00 PM more reviews by dreamstorm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A far too jasmine-heavy rose scent for me -- reeks of perfuminess. One of the more artificial/generic smelling BPAL blends I've tried.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab products

More Fragrances products