MAC Satin - Smut

4.5

137 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 3/7/2015 11:17:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Smut is one my HGs. I like to smoke out my eyes with Smut since black can be a bit too harsh. I like the fact that this blends well with other shadows and there is no fallout. I'm sure this shade is dupeable if you're unable to get a hold of it. I will repurchase.



on 2/22/2015 1:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The pigmentation of this shadow isn't the best. It's quite chalky and powdery. There are two very similar shades in the urban decay naked 3 palette, which I have, so this will probably be added to my back2mac pile.


on 11/11/2014 6:56:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the perfect color to smoke out your eyes with without going full out black. Mind you its still quite dark but it blends nicely with other eyeshadows which is good considering i usually apply this to my outercorners and sometimes crease.


on 5/15/2014 11:57:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I really like the colour of Smut - a deep grey with a taupe tone, but on me it's gone by lunchtime. Other MAC shadows stay on me but Smut just disappears. Such a shame, it's a very useful colour but it's lack of staying power means I won't buy it again.


on 2/2/2014 9:39:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Super pretty alternative to black or brown for smokey eyeliner.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/4/2014 6:34:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Being a student I don't have much time to make my eyeshadow complex with many different eyeshadows, so this is my go to. In the morning i just sweep this across my lids with a 239 then take a 217 to blend it out and if given the time add a highlight. It goes nicely with my black eyeliner to make it look like less intense smokey eye. I use to use satin taupe as my everyday color but then switched and started to get compliments so i just stuck with it. It stays pretty well because i put painterly paint pot under just to make an easier application. Stays pretty well through the day can wear away but overall pretty good. Though the clear plastic circle in the lid popped out somehow. Would recommend!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2014 5:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

Smut is the after dark version of Satin Taupe with less of the lilac undertone. I LOVE my Satin Taupe and was very excited finding the perfect shade to smoke it out and really is brilliant for that. Why not 5 lipsticks then? Well, there's a catch. For me, it lacks in terms of blendabily and you might think it's super pigmented but it isn't. The good news is that:
- The color is great for smoking out as stated above.
- Can be built up for a smashing smokey eye on its own.
- As a liner it won't give you a crisp line when used dry but this way it looks a tad smudged and it's great for daytime.
- Lasts all day or night over TFSI.

Overall I'm glad I got Smut because it gets lots of use but would be outstanding if the texture was smoother.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/28/2013 9:29:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

OMG! What r u gurls talking about!! Let start off by saying the economy is tough now and have to save money but DARN IT!! Do I LUV MY EYESHADOWS!!!! I have so many from several palettes of UD, bobbi brown, Clinique to lancome. I never want to spend money if I have a eyeshadow at home that might be a duplicate. Lets just say that smut there is nothing out there close to it. I am a picky buyer and I just made my Mac palette with colors that are not duplicate took some time but I got it done. Smut is such a beautiful smoky lovely color. I'm a nc40 brown eyes and it looks AMAZING. Lids blan type creAse soft brown n sable and outer v satin taupe. WEPA!!!


on 10/17/2013 11:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Smut is actually a velvet eye shadow that looks like a dark brown plum color in the pan. On my eyes it ends up looking like a deep dark charcoal brownish black (nothing like the color charcoal brown though). The plum doesn't show up as much on the eyes but there is that something that makes the shadow pop more and I suppose that's it. It is a lot less harsh than plain black or even grey/charcoal so it doesn't wash me out as much since I'm on the fair side right now. I just bought smut so I have only tried one look with it so far but it was enough to love the eye shadow. I smoked out smut around my lashline and up to almost half way or a third up on my lid. I then put saddle and texture lightly above that and in the crease. Then kitten as a highlight and in the inner corners of the eye and twinks on the outer v. Once I put twinks on the plum/burgandyish shades in smut started to show a tiny bit. Loved the smokiness smut gave my eyes and how well it looked with twinks. I did have to do quite a bit of blending as it isn't the easiest to apply but when done right it's well worth it. Smut just may be my new dark shade I use for eye shadow looks.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/10/2013 9:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I wish I had known about Smut years ago. I picked it up only because it was recommended by a beauty blogger for fair skin, and it turns out the rec is right on. I'm around the 15-20 skin shades in MAC, and I tend to find blacks and heavy grays too dark for me. Smut is a cool toned, smoky charcoal that blends beautifully. I use it to emphasize my crease, create smoky eyes, and to line my lashes. It looks beautiful with grays and purples, and you can use just a little for definition, or use a lot to really deepen your eye look.

Smut never caught my attention before, but I now consider it a necessary shade because it's incredibly versatile by being both natural and bold, depending on how you use it.




Back to Top