NYX • Single Eye Shadow - Highlight • Eye Shadow

rated 3.5(40 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 newbri on 11/2/2014 12:15:00 PM more reviews by newbri

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Nc42 for reference. I enjoy using this as a brow highlight. I don't find it to be "in your face" at all. It's quite subtle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 9/8/2012 3:24:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this eyeshadow because I hit pan on my UD Blunt eyeshadow-- was too broke to repurchase ($18 really?!) and this color has similar tones. I would describe it as a semi-matte golden bisque shade and while it lacks the sheen of Blunt, I find that it's a good alternative otherwise. I use it along my browbone for highlighting purposes and it makes me look more wide awake and polished. It's also very wearable as a lid color for everyday. My skin is light-medium with a golden undertone and I prefer highlight shades that have a golden undertone, but this product may not be for everyone because of its warmth. The only gripe I have with it is the texture can feel somewhat gritty at times! It lasts through my 8-hour shift without creasing and makes me look more awake, and it's a steal for less than $5! I will repurchase this over UD from now on because it is a very similar product. This is coming from an Urban Decay junkie, so I'm uber impressed with NYX!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NerdyLibrarianGirl on 7/15/2012 8:41:00 PM more reviews by NerdyLibrarianGirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this because NYX lists it as "matte". I thought it could be a good blending out colour and a matte highlight. It really isn't matte though. It definitely has a sheen. As you work it as you're blending, that seems to bring out the satin quality even more, and it actually looks quite pearlescent and shiny on me. Not at all what I was looking for. It's too light to use as a lid colour on me as it wouldn't show up enough on my fair skin. Not sure what to do with it. Not a useful shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darling20 on 8/17/2011 1:01:00 PM more reviews by darling20

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm surprised by all the negative reviews! I've been looking for a more affordable alternative to my MAC Ricepaper eyeshadow, and had heard that the NYX Sahara eyeshadow was a good dupe...and it is, although it contains a bit too much shimmer for my taste - at least for a base color. So I purchased NYX's Highlight eyeshadow on a whim, and it's exactly what I've been looking for! Very similar to Ricepaper and matte enough for a base color. It's basically a peachy nude color with a slightly yellow undertone, which I love because it neutralizes any blue/purple veins in the eyelid. I can understand why people wouldn't want a yellowy highlight color to wear on the brow bone, but as a base color, it's awesome! My only complaint is that it's rather powdery, so you should use a dense, flat eyeshadow brush to apply it or particles will fly everywhere.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jtrnphd on 7/9/2011 8:37:00 PM more reviews by jtrnphd

Age: Unknown   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Saw this color on a make-up blog and can tell you this is a great highlighter with a shoft color that works better than stark white or shiny pink. Have repurchased several times and it works with all of the different eyeshadows colors that I have. Can't beat the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 RainbowDelight on 7/6/2011 11:01:00 PM more reviews by RainbowDelight

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Like it has been said, perfect highlighting shade for those with yellow undertones, really love it. This is one my first Nyx eyeshadows and it's so pigmented and so much product as well. I was just really surprised as how small the package was, pictures make it look so huge.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 5/28/2011 7:23:00 PM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I brought this from Cherry Culture after hearing that it would be a good blending/highlight shade for those with yellow undertones, and it is! It is 100% matte - no shimmer at all. It's great to blend harsh looking shadows to make them appear softer and also good to use as a brow highlight because of the yellow tones it blends in nicer than a beige or white shade for me. Also use it as an all-over wash of colour when I don't want to wear alot of eyeshadow. Definitely try this one out if you have yellow undertones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 clojo on 2/6/2011 10:06:00 PM more reviews by clojo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I thought this would make a good natural/neutral blending colour but it is far too yellow and has almost a jaundice effect. If you have very fair skin with pink undertones like me I would be careful with this shade.
The shadow itself it a really nice texture and blends well. Just a shame this colour doesnt work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kissjacksparrow on 2/1/2011 2:00:00 AM more reviews by kissjacksparrow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

If I would have written this review months ago, I would be hopping up and down and claiming this an HG! However, since then I discovered WnW Brulee, and this is seeming not as amazing as it did before.

The being said, I still think this is a great eye shadow. As the name implies, it is a great highlight shade. I am NC20: fair, warm with yellow/olive tones. Before this I was using MAC Orb, which is very peachy, and I was looking for something a little more yellow. This fit the bill completely.

It is a satin/ semi-matte finish that is a light, cream color. It has a bit of a yellow tinge to it, so it really helps to brighten the eye. It shimmer in it is so fine and barely there, that it looks like a matte on, but still has a bit of a glow to it. This is great for everyday looks. It is also great as a toned down highlight for very dramatic looks. I also use it a lot to tone down or blend out darker colors, especially between the crease and the brow bone, to create a softer look. For me this works much better then a white because of my coloring.

I have already out a huge dent in this, which is saying a lot, because I own so many eye shadows that I rarely grab for the same thing day after day. I can for sure see myself hitting pan and on this and buying another because it had really become a staple.

After buying brulee, however, it really gave highlight a run for its money. Brulee is a true matte, that has a luxurious texture that blows all my HE eye shadows out of the water. I have been using it like mad, and this for a while got demoted, but I still do switch off between the two, because they serve different purposes, but I do like brulee better in terms of quality.

Packing is fine - its not cheap, and It is easy to open - no real complaints there.

Texture is smooth and creamy, pigmentation is about medium.

I do, want to say, that I truly do think NYX is very good quality, especially for the price. I think the quality it very similar to MAC and I have really been enjoying the ones I have.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GeorgiasMakeUpAddiction on 1/8/2011 3:32:00 PM more reviews by GeorgiasMakeUpAddiction

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I've rated this low because it doesn't work as a highlight for me because it's the same colour as my NC15/20 skin but I use it now over concealer on my eyelids when I want them to look really perfect (not discoloured and vainy).
This colours very yellow as well so beware if you're more pink toned - definitely for darker, more yellow skin tones than mine.
Can't fault the eyeshadow formula though - good colour payoff and very buttery texture. Would definitely like to buy more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products