Laura Mercier Secret Camouflage

3.9

595 reviews

69% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(SC-1 – SC-8): Diethylene Glycol, Diethylhexanoate/Diisononanoate, Paraffin, Hydrogenated Polyisobutene, Octyldodecanol, Ethylhexyl Isononanoate, Euphorbia Cerifera (Candelilla) Wax (Candelilla Cera), Polymethyl Methacrylate, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax (Cera Carnauba), Phenoxyethanol, Glyceryl Stearate, Tocopherol, Isopropyl Myristate, Oleth-10, Retinyl Palmitate, Ascorbyl Palmitate, Water (Aqua), Silica, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Honey Extract (Mel), Potassium Sorbate, Hexylene Glycol, Caprylyl Glycol, Tetrapeptide-14, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77492), Mica (CI 77019). May Contain ( /-): Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77499), Ultramarines (CI 77007).


on 5/27/2015 11:10:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a wonderful product... If you know how to use it!
The best way I've found is to mix it on the back of your hand and use the product on your hand to apply to your face, don't take it straight from the pan whatever you do! Less is more, and apply AFTER foundation otherwise you'll just rub it all off.
Many other people have recommended watching Lisa Eldridge's demonstrations, which are definitely very helpful.
While some people might find it a pain, I love that I can mix my own colour because it means I can customise it to the exact colour of my foundation, or to my bare skin (my body is slightly darker than my face because I tend to forget spf everywhere but my face).

I'm only giving it a 4/5 because it's a bit tricky if you're new to using makeup.

1/5 for the price because I live in Australia and all makeup is ridiculous compared to US prices!

I use this every day and even take it in my handbag, not that I often need to touch up- I like the mirror :)



Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This is a very good concealer. The price might seem high, but it lasts forever. I used one pot for about five years, being very careful with keeping it clean.


on 4/23/2015 12:27:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Yes, I also bought this because I trust Lisa Eldridge and also Goss and others

This is a great product of you

1) Really only use the tiny brush and apply directly to the area and pat out

2) moisturize first

3) set it

It is SO natural and the coverage is great

DO NOT apply over large areas.

I DO use tiny amounts under my eye but really extremely little on areas of darkness. I use the same eyeliner point brush for everything

Really enjoy using this.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Okey, so i bought this yesterday and i'm already in love. It's just fantastic. I'm very pale so the color sc-1 is good for me, not perfect but close enough. I use it with a brush from real techniques (the small one in the Core Collection) and that works really good! I take a dab from the light side and then a dab from the dark side and then start to cover up small imperfections, you need very little. Because of my pale skin i've got a lot of blue around my eyes and a lot of veins (?) around my eyes that always have bothered me but not anymore, it can easily be to heavy around the eyes if you take to much but i've heard that you can mix the LM concealer with your foundation for a good under-eye concealer so i will try with that! And yes of course it was from Lisa Eldridge i heard about this product for the first time!


Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I finally succombed to the bandwagon on secret camouflage and my only regret is waiting so long to have done so. I purchased the SC-6 and tend to only use the darker color , the lighter almost seems orange. It took some time to get the hang of the texture and how to apply , once I had that down then it's easy to have that almost perfect skin. I use a mixture of brushes depending on the area I want to cover and then I use a clean flat head brush to blend everything. Blending is the key with this concealer if not it can settle and can be obvious.

I did not give it full lippies because I do think that it's not that easy to to use, and getting the right balance of color can be tricky. The one big drawback is that the surface area is wide so which means that it easily dries out , I'm not sure what the perfect presentation would be but there has to be something better.

I'm a big fan of Lisa Eldridge and it really is true, you do photoshop yourself :) I strongly recommend this product, but give yourself some playing time with it before.




on 4/3/2015 10:43:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First SC1 lasted 2years, just bought new one (SC2) after trying other brands.

If you are not satisfied, I highly recommend that you watch makeupartist Lisa Eldrige video on youtube about concealing. It sums up pretty much the proper way of using this and other concealing products. If still doesn't work for you, well, good luck in finding what does :)

1) Blemishes/acne scars/pimples - coverage perfect, nothing seems to hide redness as this. I use lip brush for pinpoint concealing + powder for fixing.
2) When I have severe darkness under eyes, I use a tiny bit mixed with reflecting under eye concealer. I have dry skin so I do this right after eye cream to avoid the cakey look.
3) I use it daily on my whole upper lid (it tends to get dark also) and fix it with powder. This creates a perfect non-creasing eye shadow base and completely makes me look more awake if I don't use eye shadow that day.
4) For days/events when I have full coverage, I also blend a bit right after foundation on places that tend to be a bit red (nose, chin...)

*SC2 works good with pale skin that tends to become easily dark in summer and has olive/yellow undertone (I would say mediterranean skin)


on 3/27/2015 12:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

After debating for a long time whether I really needed this or not, I took the plunge. I chose SC-2 for my light skin with olive undertones (I’m Asian-Caucasian). For years I’ve been using bareMinerals Well Rested and Bisque for my concealers (Well Rested for under-eye circles and blemishes, and Bisque to give my eyes a brighter, neutral base). Secret Camouflage has a surprisingly dry texture and I use my middle and ring fingers to apply it, patting it into place. I used the more pinkish/salmon shade of the concealer to tackle the blue-based under-eye circles as recommended and the yellowish/neutral shade for reddish blemishes and evening out skin tone. The first time I used it I noticed how much better it works than Well Rested, though I wasn’t convinced if it could really replace Bisque as well. I also forgot to apply translucent powder over the concealer (my favorite being Make Up For Ever HD loose power), so the concealer creased within two hours! I was horrified, but after a week of trial and error, I figured out the right application method for me [apply the concealers (pink on the blue circles, neutral on the redness, blemishes, and dark marks), then lightly “blot” off excess with a clean finger, apply bareMinerals Bisque to the under-eyes and lids, and bareMinerals Matte Foundation lightly to the rest of my face, neck, and décolletage, and finish with MUFE HD powder, making sure to get the under-eyes]. It may seem complicated, but the Laura Mercier concealer has never creased since. I did notice when my skin went through a dry, flaky phase that this does not apply well and emphasizes flakes, so the skin must be smooth. This has not replaced Bisque, but it has replaced Well Rested and it makes my skin look naturally flawless. It’s expensive, but a little goes a long way and I will buy this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/1/2015 8:05:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had high expectations for this from all of the good reviews! Absolutely dissapointed! You have to know how to use it and the proportions of both of the shades and I already knew how to but it creased badly within 4-5 hours like tiny skin-coloured ice bergs on my forehead and it was embarrasing! My friends ( including my crush) went to the beach and this is the only thing covering my acne and under the sunlight my friends told me that my concealer cresed and I applied some of my concealer on my other's friend face too and It also creased on hers! I should have tried the Nars creamy concealer.. Utterly dissapointed


on 2/18/2015 11:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This concealer is just meant for me! I have quiet a few of blemishes and occasionally acne due to my oily / combination skin, but I don't like heavy make up to cover them up. So this product will do the cover right on the spot, and I can still wear light makeup on the rest of my face. Use it with the secret camouflage brush to give a perfect result. It's pricey but given the amount of the product on the pot and the tiny amount I need to use, I think it will last forever :p. I would repurchase when I run out of it.. which I don't know when.


on 2/11/2015 9:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Having bought this product a little over 10 years ago when it was first a cult favorite, I have to say, I wasn't really that impressed, however, I do think I bought the wrong color. So I threw it out, never to be looked at again.

I have some dark sun spots on my face and regular concealer wasn't staying put throughout the day, so I thought I would give it another try.
Holy heck, this product is great! I read one review that said the product was a little hard in the beginning but once you get past the first layer, it's the creamiest concealer.
The 2 shades work very well together, and my concealer didn't budge at all! This will be a staple for me in the future.

I think the price is very good for the amount you get, there is a ton of product, and since you don't need much product to cover spots, you're good for a while. My only con is the packaging seems a little unsanitary, however, I am using this only on myself. If I were to use this on clients, I would absolutely scoop this out in a spatula.




Back to Top