NYX • MegaShine - Natural 122 • Lip Gloss

rated 4.4(148 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 cjsabile on 4/29/2014 4:28:00 AM more reviews by cjsabile

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Natural, says what the shade is supposed to be. This stuff is amazing! The scent and consistency of the product is great. The color is an amp up to MLBB, a neutral natural color great for any eye look. I've been using this shade for years. Highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* OMGURTEEF on 3/17/2014 10:09:00 AM more reviews by OMGURTEEF

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I do like this gloss. Like the Milani Brilliant Shine gloss in Bare Secret, I find this NYX gloss is a great nude shade without looking milky or frosting-like. It's a very flattering pinky brown which compliments my fair complexion beautifully.
I find this gloss is neither hydrating nor drying, so it sort of reminds me of the glosses I'd use in high school back in the 90's before the idea of lip care really occurred to me. It's not bad - it's just not really up-to-par with the hydrating benefits of most modern lip glosses.
I do like that it manages to not feather even though it's not a particularly thick gloss. It's VERY lightweight and creamy and feels like a dream on the lips. It doesn't last long because of it's lightweight consistency, but it's inexpensive enough for me to not really be too put-off by having to reapply it rather frequently.
The smell reminds me of childhood. It's a fake cherry scent that triggers happy memories of the cruddy candies my grandmother would put out for us. They didn't taste amazing, but they were sugar and as kids, that's all that matters. The scent of this gloss fades quickly for me, which is good because after a while, I imagine it would be a bit cloying.
Packaging-wise, it's pretty basic. The bow on the cap is adorable, but would have been better suited with a little gem or something to get it to stand out more. The tube itself does have a bit too much print on it, which I find to be common among NYX's products. However, this tube is NOT DURABLE. If you drop this, it will break inside the cap and gloss will get everywhere. I've never experienced this. I don't drop makeup very often really, but one drop from about two feet destroyed the package and I already had to replace it. Being that it happened on the first day, I was a bit sad, especially since the break was undetectable at first until it leaked all over everything in my makeup bag. So yeah, not good for throwing into your purse.
As I said, I did repurchase this gloss after the first tube broke, so I do like it enough to buy it again. It doesn't hold a candle to my beloved Milani glosses, but it's a nice change of pace if I want something creamy and light as a feather on my lips, but still want a good wash of opaque glossiness.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* taylor123 on 3/1/2014 2:11:00 PM more reviews by taylor123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I dont understand some of the negative reviews for this product. This is my go to lipgloss!

im quite dark and very tanned. I get up to an NC40. its hard for me to find lipglosses and lipsticks that flatter my skin without washing me out. the color Natural is perfect for me! its got the perfect amount of brown and pink to flatter my skin color. Doesnt look too nude, but the pigmentation is enough to give me a little something. The texture is great, not too sticky but stays put for a few hours, very creamy and easy to apply, doesnt bleed or get cakey. I personally LOVE the smell, to me it smells like the Hawaiian fruit punch I used to drink as a kid. Some people call it medicinal cherry, I personally am not offended by the scent but I guess if your sensitive to certain scents go smell them in person before ordering online. You get a great amount for the price, great packaging. Nyx is my favorite brand for lip products and as far as the mega shine glosses theres a color for everyone. Natural just happens to be one of my faves. Great product! Will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shoma2k on 2/17/2014 3:34:00 AM more reviews by shoma2k

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Just bought this color today. It's a nice neutral color. It's not too dull nor too bright. The pigmentation isn't too much or too little, for me it's just right. The texture is nice too. It's not too sticky like some other lip glosses. It feels good on, gives a good amount of moisture, and it's stays on for quite some time. Not too shiny not to dull, a good balance. It's a nice brownish pink. I'd definitely say it's a bang for the buck.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 GlitterSprinkles on 11/22/2013 8:31:00 PM more reviews by GlitterSprinkles

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really wanted to love this lipgloss. It looks beautiful on and comes in a LOT of really gorgeous colours, but I cannot get past the smell/taste. Smells exactly like cherry medicine. Like Dimetapp, to be exact. It's really strong, so you notice it on your lips, not just out of the container or while you apply. I'm not even someone who is sensitive to scents, so I can imagine that if you are you would GAG when you smelled this. I wish they would change the formula to smell like a light vanilla or something less offensive. It's a very sickly fake cherry smell. Blech! Great pigmentation, good feeling on lips, great in every other way except the scent. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ichigocutie on 11/1/2013 9:51:00 PM more reviews by ichigocutie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my first introduction to NYX mega shine lipgloss line. I'm more of a matte-lipstick-with-sheer-gloss-on-top kinda girl but I don't like to tote a long makeup bag full of makeup in my purse so I decided to give this lipgloss a try and I must say I'm not disappointed. This is a warm brown-pinky nude shade that lean toward mauve/rosy. This shade look very flattering on me,I can wear it with any look. I have a yellow undertone around NC 27 to NC 35 when I tan during the summer. I love that it's a pigmented lipgloss with no shimmer,cos I think shimmer looks better on sheer gloss and its defenatly not frosty just very glossy. One thing that I'm not a fan of is the stickiness,I make sure I put my hair up in a bun during the windy days or my hair will stick to my lips,yuck!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* countrybearjamboree on 10/29/2013 9:35:00 AM more reviews by countrybearjamboree

Age: Unknown   Skin: Very Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have naturally mauve pinky pigmented lips so Natural looks MLBB on me. For reference, MAC Modesty which is the same color family as NYX Natural gloss is very similar to my lip shade. I find this gloss looks very nice on me. I love NYX glosses in general but some are more pigmented than others. I find Natural to be pigmented. As for the finish, it has a pearl shimmer to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Maneejih on 10/23/2013 6:25:00 PM more reviews by Maneejih

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I am tanned (my foundation is 170 in Makeup forever HD Foundation) and I do not recommend this colour for tanned ladies. It will wash you right out. The colour looks very ashy on the lips. Mind you I am seeing on the reviews here that even fair skinned ladies say it washes them out. This was an epic fail and even though I love NYX products wish they had better Mega Gloss shades. All the shades are too frosty and ashy. Not flattering at all. I love their lipsticks and lip cream though. They are awesome. This is a colour that would not flatter any skin tone and I say don't waste your money. Still on the look out for the perfect nude lipstick that is not too chalky and ashy looking on tanned skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 10/17/2013 10:29:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Bought this due to all the positive reviews and am super disappointed by it! It's goopy, frosty, and sticky, everything I dislike in a lip gloss and the color doesn't do my skin any favors. I'm NC25 for reference and this color is an odd frosty pale pink that washes me out. The fragrance is a deal breaker as well, smells like cold medicine with a sickly cherry scent..ill pass on buying any other shades of Nyx megashine but I do rec their butter glosses and they smell a million times better!:) major gloss fail, for me it's not usable for any occasion.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Danielle2006 on 10/16/2013 11:49:00 PM more reviews by Danielle2006

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Dark   Hair: Brown, Curly   Eyes: Brown    

my favorite nude lipgloss ever. only complaint would be the smell. i wished it smelled like the butter glosses. but the color and consistency of it is perfect. you could wear this gloss with any look!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Lip Gloss products