St.Tropez • St.Tropez Tinted Self Tanning Mousse/Whipped Bronze • Self Tanners

rated 4.1(278 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itsiliii on 4/1/2014 4:17:00 AM more reviews by itsiliii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I can't believe i've never reviewed this! So first things first, i really like this stuff!
However, it is not without its flaws!

The texture on this self-tanner makes it super easy to apply. You do have to work
it in really fast though or you will end up a streaky hot mess. Unfortunately, you do
have to spring money for the mitt, because using that leaves you looking tan and flawless.
I love how quickly it dries as well, within 30 minutes i can get dressed and ready to go.
The scent on this is also great, it doesn't give me the headache other self tanners give
me so frequently. And scent used to cover up the DHA smell is rather nice in my opinion.

I use the regular version of this mousse, and in one application it gets me (i am about an nc23-25 naturally) to about an NC30. Not bad, but I usually prefer an NC 40 tan. To get myself to NC40-42 I do have to do biweekly application. Not bad, but it does suck that i have to use more product. Again, the dark version may be better but i have not used it.
The color of tan that the st tropez gives is gorgeous! It is a yellowy/olive tan. It is just
so gorgeous and natural looking! It usually fades evenly as well

Now onto the biggest con, this stuff is pretty expensive. The 8oz bottle is 44ish dollars. Not terrible, but you can find TONS of cheaper alternatives. Overall, if you have the extra money to blow id recommend this. But there are tons of viable options out there!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 etpapillon on 12/24/2013 11:24:00 AM more reviews by etpapillon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

For the price, I definitely don't think this product is the bees knees. The only positive is that you smell slightly less than a wet biscuit, then again the fragrance seems to just be overpowering that fake bake smell. Is this product less treaky than the cheaper ones, the answer is no.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 caithni on 11/16/2013 10:25:00 AM more reviews by caithni

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I thought this tanner was ok. But the regular (not Dark) one is very very light. I'm pale-skinned so I have to make sure I don't overdo it but its impossible to with this. It really doesnt give enough colour ... I used to use Clarins Self-Tanning milk for years but its been discontinued.

The smell is inoffensive compared with other self-tanners I have used, but the color quality just isnt that great for me, compared with other much less expensive brands like L'Oreal. I think its ok, but I wouldnt go out of my way to repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kittens88 on 8/18/2013 2:33:00 AM more reviews by Kittens88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Pale people of the world rejoice!!!! St Tropez is here to save you!!!

I am ridiculously pale. So pale people stop me in the street and tell me to get some sun.

I purposely avoid the sun. Many years ago I suffered sun stroke and just never felt like having that happen again. Sunburns hurt and Solarcaine only numbs the pain for so long. And now with all this scary information regarding skin cancer, why the hell would I want to subject myself to the sun?? But my legs were pretty white...I'm sure if the suns rays bounced off them I would blind a pilot in the sky. So why not some self tanner love?

I have tried so many and always the same result. Orange. I spent so much money and finally just gave up. Even those gradual lotions did nothing for me.

Enter St. Tropez.

I read a review online about St Tropez mousse and figured why not? Summer is here and my legs shouldn't be the cause of a pilot going blind. Off to Sephora I went!

Well I wasn't keen on spending $40CDN but I had a good feeling. As soon as I got home I exfoliated my legs and took a deep breath. I squirt the foam onto my legs and noticed it had an almost green tinge to it...Enter panic...It was also quite runny to for a mousse. But it gets better! Promise!

I rubbed in quick circular motions until it was fully absorbed. Right away I noticed a light brown hue. I let it dry fully for a good 15-20 minutes before dressing. Even though it feels pretty dry after applying, I just like to play it safe.

Throughout the day it developed into a beautiful, brown tan. Not overly fake either. It was just enough to take away the blinding white and substitute it with a soft brown hue. I was sold. I applied it to my entire body later that week and was really impressed with the result. It looked pretty fantastic.

It is the ideal self tanner. I would highly recommend it to anybody needing a bit of a boost for their pale skin! Even though it is a big splurge, it does last for quite a while. On the skin itself, I found I could go four days max. before having to reapply.

It is worth every penny. And no blind pilots! Whooo!

Ps...Spend the extra $8 and buy the tanning mitt. The brown palms and nails were not exactly attractive.
I looked like a bum.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bubbles1989x on 8/2/2013 7:02:00 PM more reviews by bubbles1989x

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay . . First things first, Lets just say I have purchased almost every fake tan there is on the market. However, I have NEVER found a better product than St Tropez. The formula is sweet smelling and although not totally fragrance free smells far better than a lot of fake tans. The guide colour is light but dark enough to see where you are applying tan. I feel it goes on better with a tanning mit and it goes without saying to ALWAYS exfoliate and mositurise before application. After 1 application my skin is a very light golden colour but after a few applications it is a deep natural bronze so depending on the occasion I apply less/more layers. I feel the BEST thing about this tan is it fades GRADUALLY and EVENLY. I always moisturise and feel that even with frequent moisturisation not all tans fade evenly like St Tropez. The only downside to this product would be the price but I am a firm believer in 'only getting what you pay for' I purchased 500mls of St Tropez from QVC for 42 which I think is totally worth it! If you are looking for a natural healthy glow . . PLEASE look beyond the price & give St Tropez a go - you won't regret it!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 famouscigarillo on 6/20/2013 10:45:00 PM more reviews by famouscigarillo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Grey    

I have never used self-tanner before so I cannot compare this product with others - but I like this self-tanner a lot!

PROS:
- The mousse is a dark brown. This is just a guide colour that is meant to be obvious on the skin to ensure you apply it evenly (it later washes off and leaves a much softer tint)
- Its light texture makes it quite easy to apply
- Has a nice floral scent

CONS:
- You have to apply it to each area very quickly because it dries in less than a minute. I use the St. Tropez mitt, which helps really blend the colour into the skin and saves you the trouble of washing your hands afterward.
- The tan is extremely subtle and gradual. This is both a pro and con!
- I waited ten minutes before getting dressed, then went to bed and it did leave some brown marks on my white t-shirt.

Also, St. Tropez posted a "how-to" video on YouTube that is quite helpful, especially for self-tanning beginners! :) I took off one lippie because of the outrageous price. I am hoping it will last me a long while, but I don't think it will. :(

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Anya123 on 6/12/2013 8:04:00 PM more reviews by Anya123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Just bought this tanner and its the BEST!!!!Im basically see through im so pale and it made me brown it looks unbelievably natural im going to repurchase over and over.And for anyone debating whether to get this tanner or million dollar tan, get this one!!!!!!!!million dollar tan makes you BRIGHT ORANGE!its awful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tindra78 on 5/26/2013 2:24:00 PM more reviews by Tindra78

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have NC/NW 15 skin on my face, but on my body I'm much, much more pale, I'm surely NC/NW 10.

I bought this in the version for pale skin, and it really gives a nice even light tan. The mitt helps a lot, to spread the color and even it out. Of course you also have to peel the skin before you use it.... But it doesn't smell awful, and it dries in and disappears within seconds after you've applied it.... It actually doesn't smell much at all.

The only thing I'd complain about would be the price and maybe that the color is a little to light..? Cause you have to build this up during a few days if you really want to have a medium tan..... It takes several days.... And this stuff is expensive....

I don't use this all over my body, cause of the high price, but only on the most visible areas; arms, chest, legs if I wear a skirt.... Also I don't use it on the face, cause I have such problems with my acne there...

But recommend!! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dahlia70 on 5/23/2013 5:37:00 PM more reviews by Dahlia70

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

A definite repurchase for me, i've used quite a few different self tanners and find this one to: a) be the most natural color b) last the longest c) smell the least (can't stand that scent and this one isnt as bad as others i've used) d) easiest to use since its tinted so i know where its going and it dries the quickest.
I like that the color fades rather than disappears in splotches. Love this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 illaillanow on 5/23/2013 3:45:00 PM more reviews by illaillanow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This tanning mousse is OKAY. I'll be honest and say I haven't got much experience with self tanning mousses, only gels and creams and none of them really had a color guide which is what drew me to this mousse in the first place. In terms of color, it CAN look orange once rinsed off, the first time I used this I was a lovely bronze and the second I was just shy of pumpkin, so I'm not sure if there is a factor that changes that. Exfoliating is also NO JOKE, when you think you're done, keep going, and pay attention to those little spots (on your chest by your pits, your inner arms, boobs etc) because the guide color will catch and make you look patchy. Also, this doesn't dry as fast as they claim on the bottle and I have had the guide color rub off on sheets (bummer). I've also used this on my face without any real issues but you have to put it on before you put on your moisturizer. All in all a good self-tanner but I'm sure if I do a little bit of research I can find something similar/better for a lesser cost.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More St.Tropez products

More Self Tanners products