MAC Matte - Corduroy

4.3

41 reviews

82% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 6/27/2015 8:26:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So not a good color for my skin tone. While others find this red, its quite yellow on me, and not attractive. I do better with Quarry, Handwritten, even Blackberry. I dont find this to be warm like others have mentioned, I actually dont see any red on my skin, it just looks dirty on me.



on 1/22/2015 11:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I've owned this shadow for 20 years and come back to it again and again and again. It was recommended to me by a MAC SA as an everyday brown that would bring out the green in my hazel eyes, and I haven't found another shadow that accomplishes this task so well. The great thing about the color is that it's got a red undertone rather than the yellow/orange one that many "warm" browns have (and which looks dreadful on me). The red makes it a sort of neutral, so I could see it working on many skin tones. Color payoff is standard for MAC shadows - blends well, but needs a primer to go the distance and a gel to make it work as eyeliner (I use it this way frequently). Overall, one of my shadow staples.


on 11/1/2014 1:47:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I use this color to slightly deepen just the very outer corners or to smoke out brown liner. When smoking, I use a very small, thin smudge brush. It's a very dark, cooler brown and needs a lighter hand/precise placement.

Pros:
* great setting/smoking color for MAC Fluidline in Dipdown
* cooler tone is ideal for neutral eyes
* long-lasting
* fits well in many palettes (I purchased the standalone pan)

Cons:
* a bit dry; can be harder to blend than other MAC shadows


on 3/20/2014 1:20:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Hate the colour! I have fair-to-medium complexion with slight pink undertones. This shade looks muddy on my eyes, even with the MAC neutral eye primer that I use which keeps all other colours true.
I went in to buy a brown that was lighter than Brown Down for a no-makeup day look. Mac rep told me this was the most popular brown and would suit my needs. I had eye makeup on so I didn't try it on my lids but it looked ok on my hand. It's way too dark for a natural look - even darker that Brown Down and, on me, a grayish purple colour. Haven't been back in to find a better shade yet.
Seems that MAC doesn't have as many natural shades as they used to - particularly browns. May have to look at a different line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/22/2014 9:02:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Corduroy is such a pretty brown that blends really nice and has a neat ruddy reddish undertone that I find to be very flattering. A great brown for people that love to work with warm tones.


on 3/10/2013 9:45:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I do like the color of this eye shadow and when I bought it a couple months back, I hoped that I could use it to make day time looks. But I've barely used it since, because I find it hard to apply and blend. I can fade the color, but blending it in any direction seems impossible. I don't know if it's because I'm doing something wrong, but I definitely regret buying this.


on 10/20/2012 7:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this shade I been using this for a longtime. I use this for my eyebrows and this is a great for the crease too.


on 1/28/2012 10:18:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Deep Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Corduroy is a dusty reddy brown IN THE PAN but on my skin it reads really cool, muddy & ashy with a strong grey cast NOT FLATTERING. The texture is that of a matte squared but on my deep dark chocolate skin it takes alot of product for it to show up on the outer "v". It's also way to dark & muddy to be used as a crease color. Overall, corduroy is a good brown to have for medium deep, tanned & olive skin. I honestly prefer embark, handwritten or even sketch for nice definer shadow on my deep dark skin so I wouldn't repurchase. Mac matchmaster 8.5 btw

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/17/2012 2:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I bought this when I was in need of a new medium-brown, staple eyeshadow. I was originally planning to get either Cork or BrownDown, but both were out of stock - the makeup artist at Mac suggested I try cordoroy as it would match my reddish brown hair, blue eyes and give my complexion some warmth. She was right! This is the perfect medium-dark brown shadow for me, very warm and flattering on my pale skin, soft enough for every day but perfect for a smokey eye at night. Very blendable and buildable, never fades, looks fantastic in the inner-crease and as an eyeliner.

This is also the PERFECT shade for filling in my eyebrows, bar none. This realisation was somewhat bitter-sweet considering the money I've wasted on a multitude of eyebrow pencils and powders that I'll never use again, but still, I feel blessed to have finally found my HG brow product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/13/2011 3:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Corduroy is a matte brown shadow that I use for my crease. It basically the same shade as my skin. Good staple to have.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

94 reviews
Back to Top