Elizabeth Arden • 5th Avenue • Fragrances

rated 3.7(116 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Meshmmesha772000 on 8/31/2014 10:34:00 AM more reviews by Meshmmesha772000

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a classic fragrance though it was made in the 90's ..Imagine a professional -but kind lady in an elegant suit about town , who still likes a feminine touch in her appearance ..This could be perfect 70's scent with aldehyde and white floral notes , though it doesn't have aldhydes in its pyramid ..Very easy to wear , specially to semi-formal occasions ( I wore it once to one of them ) I LOVED its dupe from Avon (Starring ) but sadly it was discontinued so fast in my country , so I have to buy this now which isn't either cheap or easy to get as the Avon one here .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mhubbard on 8/31/2014 9:57:00 AM more reviews by mhubbard

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

This will be a permanent staple in my wardrobe. As many others have noted, it is clean, feminine, classy and perfect for everyday wear to the office, lending a subtle confidence. Suitable for the 20-90 age group, very few scents are as versatile as this. The price is also right. Fairly long lasting, never overpowering. Just perfect.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shanplum on 7/8/2013 12:54:00 AM more reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

One of the few sweet scents I can wear. I think the only reason is the lily of the valley and carnation - almost all scents that work on me contain one or both of these components. Not my fave by any means, but classy and you can always pick this one up cheap!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jessicaaakayla on 6/15/2013 1:33:00 AM more reviews by jessicaaakayla

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I just love this fragrance. This was the first proper perfume my mum ever got me. She got it for me 4 years ago for my 15th birthday. I absolutely loved it and still do. It's perfect for any occasion! I don't believe it has an overly mature feel to it at all. At the same time, it's not a youthful scent. You need to own a certain style and attitude to wear it well. Ill never forget the smell of this perfume and all the memories I have attached to it. Absolutely beautiful!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lovelyswan on 5/3/2013 9:20:00 PM more reviews by lovelyswan

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Wow. For this price I really was not expecting much...but this perfumed really surprised me. What a pretty, fresh, slightly soapy floral - not at all overwhelming, just a nice and wearable day fragrance all around. "Clean" but in a gentle, feminine way. I really like this.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sekhmet on 4/23/2013 4:11:00 PM more reviews by sekhmet

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I got a gift box of EL fragrances (Sunflowers, Red Door, and 5th Ave) several months ago, and I gave away the others and only kept 5th Avenue. Wow--this is a truly gorgeous fragrance! To me, it's a classically elegant, creamy white floral. It's the fragrance equivalent of Pavlova in an ankle-length white dress dancing to Chopin. Now I'm more of an eclectic, bohemian type, so I don't wear 5th Avenue very often, but it's great for those times when I want to accentuate my prim and proper side. Unlike other reviewers, I wouldn't recommend this for anyone under about 20 years old. Youth should have an undone, impromptu element, and this scent doesn't have an unchoreographed note. Still, it's absolutely luscious!
Note: I took off 1 lippie because this can be a little cloying. Also, the pump on my small bottle looks fragile and cheap.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissBehaviour on 4/19/2013 8:01:00 AM more reviews by MissBehaviour

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Oh, how I wish I had tried this little gem sooner! When it was launched in 1996 I was a too-cool-for-school teenager and more into fashionable unisex scents of the time a la CK One. Throughout my twenties I was aware of it but passed it over for more fashionable and current fragrances, but now I have finally seen the light (thanks to online fragrance board reviews--so useful!)

5th Avenue gets an underwhelming review in Luca Turin's perfume guide, but it's truly gorgeous. It is a seamlessly blended, slightly musky white floral that is not too flowery, sweet, musky, powdery, not too anything, in fact. It is gentle and calm, in no way unpleasant or nauseating but not too thin or whispy either. It is that rare breed of scent: reads as both modern and timeless, classy but not stuffy, eminently wearable for any woman from the age of 16-80, appropriate in any setting I can think of.

While I adore many bold and strong perfumes (Tabu by Dana, for example), this is a perfect everyday signature perfume for occasions when you want to smell fantastic but not room-permeatingly so. This will remain an absolute staple for me.

Tip for those who have trouble with the lasting power: this holds very well on fabric and doesn't stain clothes; it's also beautifully long-lasting if sprayed on hair or the nape of the neck. Love it.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stayce on 12/1/2012 2:21:00 AM more reviews by stayce

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This is frequently compared to Pleasures, Happy and even (to my nose) Jessica McClintock, but I actually like 5th Avenue better; these other ultra-clean floral fragrances all seem a little too sharp and bright to me. 5th Avenue opens up on a nicely natural-smelling bouquet of prim white flowers: a little lilac, a bunch of lily of the valley, and fresh green stems. The flowery effect blurs a bit and becomes more 'generic clean floral on a soapy-clean musk', but it stays light and pleasant on me throughout the (kind of short to my nose) drydown. I sniffed the body lotion and that seemed richer-smelling and more Big White Floral than the EDT.
Also: VERY inexpensive, and I always see it at the big chain discounters.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fcirone1 on 11/25/2012 8:07:00 PM more reviews by fcirone1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Lovely floral fragrance - has a faint cigarette smoke which i enjoy. This is my go to fragrance for work or when not sure what to wear. Not too heavy. Nice change from EL Pleasures which i wear also but needed a change as of late.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 YoHarajuku on 11/8/2012 3:47:00 PM more reviews by YoHarajuku

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Pleasantly surprised by this one. Was expecting a dated old lady scent but its anything but. Holds up quite well despite its age. Its the perfect scent for work at the office, classy but inoffensive, not to strong not to light. Would not recommend for anyone under 30 to wear it though as it definelty is not a young fragrance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Elizabeth Arden products

More Fragrances products