Bag Balm

4.6

168 reviews

92% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

8-Hydroxyquinoline Sulfate 0. 3% in a Petrolatum, Lanolin Base


on 3/30/2015 8:02:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have awful dry hands, cuticles in winter. After trying just about every product in my reach, this one seems to be working the best. What I like best is that it seems to absorb in and creates a protective layer. A little goes a loooonnng way, so just use a tiny bit & rub in well. Impressive for an old tyme product! Let's see if it heals my split nails....

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this for every thing, minor cooking burns, my dogs paws in the winter, I rub a lot on my hands heels and cuticles right before bed it absorbs really well I use this on chapped or raw skin and chapped lips. Its a great mulit use product. I don't use it in the eye area so I cannot recommend that but definitely a multi use house hold product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I absolutely love this stuff. I have terribly dry lips and hands in the winter, and this is my go to. Slap some stuff on my hands, put some socks on 'em and overnight my hands feel amazing. I don't really have a problem with the smell. It can get kind of messy put it's worth it. I think the tin packaging is very nice!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2015 12:30:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Bag balm is an old school HG favorite! My mom had always kept this in the bathroom drawer, but as a kid I had always kept my distance and opted for the fruity fun scented lotions.

As a 20 year old, I experienced the worst chapped lips of my life. Nothing would solve them! I bought 17- 17!!!!! different chapsticks/overnight lip balms to try to solve it. To no avail! Large, thick flakes of skin would peel off, bleeding and tearing- trust me, my mouth was not a pretty place.

I talked to my mom and she suggested trying this stuff. I was very skeptical- What in the world could this do that an 18$ sephora lip treatment couldn't?

BAM. 3 days of applying at night and my lips were saved! This is my go-to lip treatment, I use it every other night or as needed throughout the year for my lips.

Keeps them full and soft! The tin is huge- and the clear-yellowish goo is basically unscented.

It's a little messy sometimes but I love it all the same.

TRIED AND TRUE HG!!!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 8/18/2014 8:03:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Got a big ol' tub of this years ago at Lee Valley and it is still going strong. Not the most elegant of products to use (messy, greasy, takes a lot of time to soak in) but in the winter, when my hands and feet are really chapped, this works really well. Thing is, if it's on my hands, I can't do anything else (like turn a doorknob!), nor would I want to, since the grease would transfer EVERYWHERE (walls, light switches, furniture) and if you put it on your feet, you'd better cover those feet with a pair of socks or you'll be "slip-sliding away" (maybe that's how Paul Simon got the idea for the song!). The tin looks so nice and old-fashioned but getting the product out can be a bit icky unless you use a spatula or similar tool, otherwise, you pretty much have to dig in and then you get the balm under your nails.

This is a pretty low-tech product but like may of the products from way back (Nivea, Vaseline, olive oil, etc.) it is still surprisingly effective.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/25/2014 11:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Fourteen years ago, a friend of mine suggested I use Bag Balm on my infant son's diaper rash. I tried it and I was immediately converted. His skin cleared up in a day, and it was very easy to wipe away as well. I started using it on my extremely chapped lips and hands (I live in Nevada), and they were almost back to normal within a day. It works wonders on any sort of dry, red, chafed, or irritated skin. It is the most soothing product I have ever put on my skin. It doesn't sting at all, and it takes away soreness and pain immediately. I have converted many people to this stuff over the years. It's almost too good to be true.

The downside: it comes in a huge green jar and you have to dip your fingers into it. Also, it can be somewhat messy; it has the texture of Vaseline, and the scent is a bit medicinal. However, this stuff is so cheap that you can just toss the jar every once in a while and get a new one. It would take me years to use up a whole jar. Recently, I have starting using a clean utensil to spoon it into a small jar, and now I don't worry as much about contamination. I never leave the house without it. :)


on 1/10/2014 11:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Your dry, cracked and raw lips best friend! Slather on at bedtime and you will wake up to significantly improved lips. I love this stuff!

You can use it anywhere that is dry. It is my BFF in winter.

Has a medicinal smell, but I rather like it. It reminds me of the salve my grandma used to make. Very good stuff.

Only real complaint is it sorts of "melts" and looks bubbly and the lid can get gross on the sides. I just wiped down the lid and scooped off top layer.....good as new and works just the same. :)

Simple product, simple packaging and worth checking out. Will last for a very long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2013 2:05:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I orignally got this for my Shibas when they went outside in the snow/ice. I usually use the Mush wax but when they come in I'll rub this into their paws. They actually will sit and let me do it. Yeah they lick some off but it's not going to hurt them.

Then I discovered this stuff is awesome on dry winter feet. My feet are in work boots and socks most of the day and it leaves my feet tired cracked and sore. Put this on at night right before bed and put socks on by morning my feet are baby soft..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/22/2013 1:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Dark, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bag balm is amazing. It absorbs quicker than Vaseline and it keeps moisture in longer. The smell is medicinal but I don't mind it because of the great improvements I've seen with my skin. The tub it comes in is huge and it will last for a very long time. I've used it for my cuticles, dry patches etc and it works wonderfully. I recommend it to everyone I know and no one has been disappointed.


on 11/18/2013 11:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Similar to Vaseline or Aquaphor, but I find it to be less thick. Seems to absorb better than the others and feels nice on dry skin. I like it best for my lips, hands, and feet. I've been going through a peely, irritated nose situation after allergies and while it didn't sting the peeling areas, it did tingle a little bit underneath my nose. I have a tendency to develop little bumps there when my skin is irritated from a cold/allergies, and after applying Bag Balm to the area a few more popped up. So I'm guessing that area was just too sensitive to tolerate much, at the moment.
One of my kitties has a few scabby places from over-grooming and I'm hoping it's soothing for her and helps to heal the marks up with continued application.
It does smell very clinical - like a doctor's office to me. But, my husband likes the smell. I purchased a large 10oz. tub from Walgreen's for $10, and I imagine it'll last quite awhile. My only real gripe is that the tin can be difficult to open sometimes.


Popular Lotions / Creams


Nivea Creme
1157 Reviews
Summer Glow
55 Reviews
Creamy Formula
80 Reviews


Back to Top