Alberto Vo5 Extra Body Shampoo

4.1

64 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 7/13/2015 5:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok so I tried all brands of everything. Sulfate free shampoos are not for me. My scalp needs to be clean every single day and I fear no sulfates can cause hair loss. Oil on scalp cannot stay for too long without the risk of clogging pores which can result in hair loss. I have used this before, but its drying. That much I will admit. But I'd rather that and add conditioner on my ends than to lose hair. And for all you boomers out there it smells like the old Agree. Love it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.



on 6/24/2015 2:10:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I bought this from a local dollar store. I used it when I was younger, but never cared about what shampoo I used, being young and not caring. I recently bought it, because of the price if I'm going to be completely honest. I'm a college student with low funds. Anyway, the first time I used it, it made my hair feel very stringy, dry and VERY heavy. I thought it was just because I was used to using another shampoo on a regular basis. The next time I tried it, it did the same thing. I'm going to try it with conditioner next time. If this weird feeling continues, I will not use/buy the product again. The smell isn't great either, which is a big deal for my shampoo decisions.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't beat this as far as a volumizing or clarifying shampoo for the price ($.89). The packaging isn't gorgeous. but it works as well as more expensive varieties on my fine-textured and straight hair. The scent is mild, inoffensive and, also, unisex in my opinion (my boyfriend also likes this one).


on 1/29/2015 5:03:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Edit: has made my hair limp after subsequent use. It does make it silky, but to the point where it has no grip or body. This has happened w/ other Vo5 shampoos as well. I think a lot of them have added proteins (silk, collagen, etc).

Article on protein and how it works on hair;
http://science-yhairblog.blogspot.com/2013/09/more-about-protein.html?m=1

Ingredients
Water (Aqua), Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Sodium Chloride, Ammonium Chloride, Hydrolyzed Collagen, Tocopheryl Acetate, Biotin, Thiamine HCl, Ascorbic Acid, Panthenol, Polysorbate 20, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Citric Acid, Tetrasodium EDTA, DMDM Hydantoin, Fragrance (Parfum), Blue 1(CI 42090), Yellow 5 (CI 19140), Red 40 (CI 16035).

---
Pretty good so far. Adds some volume (no cones here) and doesn't over strip. Smells of weak cologne, but that goes away.

I got this for $3 at drugstore.com, under a buck elsewhere.


on 12/25/2014 10:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Well, as some of you know, the internet hoaxes of Vo5 causing illnesses and all that bad kinda stuff. 95 percent of Shampoos has Sulfates and other Chemicals, its not bad if its been around for years otherwise millions of people would sue...Now, my thought about Vo5 extra body. This Shampoo and Conditioner is by far one of the best! I have very curly hair and this formula adapts well to my locks! I do love the other VO5 scents as well. The Shampoo cleans very well without stripping, it does leave a silky feel when rinsing out..the conditioner is awesome! I feel like it melts into each strand. My curls look unbelievable using vo5. I always repurchase, cant beat the price! Recently bought 20 for 20$$$

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2014 4:20:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Very clarifying shampoo - really gets everything out for me. My scalp had some itchiness and it seemed to relieve that too, and that I really like. Not too sure about the 'extra body' claim, but i guess since it cleans out my hair, it gets more weightless --> more body?
My hair - specifically the roots - are on the oily side, so this is a good shampoo for me. But it is really cleaning, as in my ends get very tangly and dry feeling after washing. I wouldn't want to try this without conditioner. I pair this with Herbal Essences Hydralicious De damage boost conditioner for clean roots and moisturized ends, great combo

The scent is okay for me, not something I really love though. The best part about this shampoo is the itchiness relieving factor (i guess my hair gets itchier when it's built up with oil/dirt/whatevers). The worst part is the overdrying, but I guess it's normal. Wouldn't recommend for dryer hair though. Would personally repurchase, or try the Kiwi Lime Squeeze next. Or both, the price is great!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/7/2014 6:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I've been using this extra body shampoo for more than 10 years and I loved how it adds volume to my hair while leaving my hair clean and soft to touch. Each strand of my hair glowed with my natural highlights. But now I can't say that anymore. The formulation has changed. Now it makes my hair heavy, flat on the crown of my head, stiff, and matted together. It makes me feel like I want to wash my hair all over again -- but with a different shampoo. It does completely the opposite of volumizing! I wish they'd bring back their old formula.


on 9/13/2012 4:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i was extremely wary before I tried this because I hated the Extra Body conditioner. I was pleasantly surprised. I came to love this shampoo. It gave my hair just a bit of bounce and noticeable body. It didn't ever weigh it down. It smelled fresh and clean. And here's the kicker - it even managed to cut through and the dirt, grime and sweat that my hair goes went through on a daily basis while I was using this. Sold!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 9/6/2012 10:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Blue

For the first month I used this shampoo, I didn't like it because I thought it was causing my hair to tangle. I stopped using it and was using a different shampoo for awhile, but returned to this one when I ran out of the other. It doesn't tangle my hair anymore so I actually love it and plan to repurchase it. I use it 3-4 times a week and then VO5 Kiwi Lime Squeeze clarifying shampoo once a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2012 12:05:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I'm singing BABY COME BACK, YOU CAN BLAME IT ALL ON ME with this product.
Seriously.
We use to use this one for years in my house because it was a bargain. Finally, my hairdresser mom decided that I was old enough to experiment with whatever shampoo and styling products I wanted. So I have tried everything (she says they are all the same in the end for your hair, anyways.)
Pantene, Herbal essences, Chi, Garnier, and top salon brands.
Nope. I like this one.
I used Pantene last THIS MORNING. and its wrecking my hair but the bottle needs to finished. I had to shower again because I got all gross before work and found this in the back of the closet.
Oh, how I have missed you, dear VO5.
My hair for the past year has been gross and lifeless, and I dont think I even realized. I used this this afternoon, and blow dried my hair afterwords and BAM big hair returned.
So, its cheap, does what it says, and makes my hair feel soft again after using pantene THE SAME DAY?
sign me up, please.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top