Alberto Vo5 • Extra Body Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 4.2(59 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.84%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 littlesparrows on 10/2/2014 2:21:00 PM more reviews by littlesparrows

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Great shampoo for about once every two weeks to give a boost to my regular shampoo (Expert Age Defy by Pantene). I cannot use this on a regular basis because it can be a bit drying. BUT for clarifying and extra cleansing, this is so good. And at 89 cents a bottle, you can't beat it. One one interesting thing about this shampoo is that even though it contains sulfates, it does not make my hair fall out; I actually have less hair fall with this than with any other shampoo I have ever used. It is not heavy on sodium chloride (salt), so maybe that helps. It is just a good basic tried and true old school standard, and sometimes those are the best. However, I do not like any other VO5 shampoo or conditioner, they just don't work for me- they either leave my hair flat or feeling like it is coated in plastic. But the Extra Body works great for the twice a month boost to take away any build up and to make my regular shampoo work that much better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sippingzoot on 8/7/2014 6:53:00 PM more reviews by sippingzoot

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this extra body shampoo for more than 10 years and I loved how it adds volume to my hair while leaving my hair clean and soft to touch. Each strand of my hair glowed with my natural highlights. But now I can't say that anymore. The formulation has changed. Now it makes my hair heavy, flat on the crown of my head, stiff, and matted together. It makes me feel like I want to wash my hair all over again -- but with a different shampoo. It does completely the opposite of volumizing! I wish they'd bring back their old formula.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jubilee on 9/13/2012 4:51:00 PM more reviews by Jubilee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

i was extremely wary before I tried this because I hated the Extra Body conditioner. I was pleasantly surprised. I came to love this shampoo. It gave my hair just a bit of bounce and noticeable body. It didn't ever weigh it down. It smelled fresh and clean. And here's the kicker - it even managed to cut through and the dirt, grime and sweat that my hair goes went through on a daily basis while I was using this. Sold!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* kself on 9/6/2012 10:17:00 PM more reviews by kself

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

For the first month I used this shampoo, I didn't like it because I thought it was causing my hair to tangle. I stopped using it and was using a different shampoo for awhile, but returned to this one when I ran out of the other. It doesn't tangle my hair anymore so I actually love it and plan to repurchase it. I use it 3-4 times a week and then VO5 Kiwi Lime Squeeze clarifying shampoo once a week.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 PanAm on 4/1/2012 12:05:00 AM more reviews by PanAm

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm singing BABY COME BACK, YOU CAN BLAME IT ALL ON ME with this product.
Seriously.
We use to use this one for years in my house because it was a bargain. Finally, my hairdresser mom decided that I was old enough to experiment with whatever shampoo and styling products I wanted. So I have tried everything (she says they are all the same in the end for your hair, anyways.)
Pantene, Herbal essences, Chi, Garnier, and top salon brands.
Nope. I like this one.
I used Pantene last THIS MORNING. and its wrecking my hair but the bottle needs to finished. I had to shower again because I got all gross before work and found this in the back of the closet.
Oh, how I have missed you, dear VO5.
My hair for the past year has been gross and lifeless, and I dont think I even realized. I used this this afternoon, and blow dried my hair afterwords and BAM big hair returned.
So, its cheap, does what it says, and makes my hair feel soft again after using pantene THE SAME DAY?
sign me up, please.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DD1969 on 3/2/2012 10:40:00 AM more reviews by DD1969

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I couldn't believe the bargain on this shampoo. My husband used to use it, and I used to think, well, he's a guy and has short hair and doesn't want to spend lots of money, but it wouldn't work for me. Not so! I recently bought some because I noticed he was running out of his Suave shampoo and conditioner, and then I tried the Alberto myself for the first time in years. I love it! I know, it's got SLS... but it smells a lot like the shampoo I used to use as a teen. And it does a very nice job of cleansing without stripping! I don't know how it would be if I used it every day - and I have to use up my expensive SLS-free shampoo so I'll probably only use the Vo5 occasionally.
Question: Has anyone else noticed that it's a little more watery than it used to be years ago??

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 luckystarre on 7/30/2011 6:26:00 PM more reviews by luckystarre

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

$.69 and it's probably one of the best shampoos I've ever used. My hair feels light and clean without feeling too dry/stripped of oils. It's SO soft! I bought the Passion Fruit Smoothie one and even after I applied heat protector and dried/straightened my hair, I am still getting wafts of the incredible scent (I also used the matching conditioner...left it on for 5 minutes and rinsed. A very nice, light conditioner!). My hair feels and smells amazing and will be repurchasing and trying other scents, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hebenn01 on 4/20/2011 9:35:00 AM more reviews by hebenn01

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Have loved this for years. Not an amazingly smelling shampoo but for 90 cents I won't complain! It effectively cleans my hair and it has body and bounce after. <3 this cheapy

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 xxhelenaxx on 12/2/2010 11:59:00 PM more reviews by xxhelenaxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I need a volumizing shampoo for my oily-at-the-roots, dry-at-the-ends, thick, coarse, shoulder length hair, and this was so-so. I wash my hair every other hair...this does provide minimal volume by it also seems to dry out my hair at the ends while making it sticky and a little greasy at the roots/in my bangs. (To be fair, I use a Suave strengthening shampoo mixed with this, and then diluted Suave Clarifying shampoo as well. When I use the strengthening shampoo alone, followed by the clarifying shampoo, I don't have the same squeakiness in my hair.)

EDIT: When I use this by itself, it's...ugh. When I use this, without the strengthening shampoo, it still seems to make my bangs greasy.

It might just be me--I have dry ends and oily roots after a day or so, but this was just "meh" to me. I'll use it up, but I doubt I'll repurchase.

I've used this without the clarifying shampoo as a follow-up and this still made my hair squeaky clean and harder to comb.

This is cheap, it isn't awful if you condition your hair and wash regularly, but there are probably better volumizing shampoos out there.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ClaireMcD77 on 11/4/2010 10:23:00 AM more reviews by ClaireMcD77

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A dirt cheap shampoo that actually does what it says! Smells wonderful to me and leaves my hair clean, and full of body! Only costs me 84 cents! I love the conditioner too! Will always repurchase. Sometimes we get so caught up in the hype of really expensive hair products and then for some reason decide to go back to basics, only to find we've been wasting money all this time on products that are way too expensive and may or may not work. Simplify!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alberto Vo5 products

More Shampoo products