Dermalogica • Skin Hydrating Booster • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.1(83 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 pianoBUTTER on 4/2/2014 1:41:00 PM more reviews by pianoBUTTER

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I apply every night on my dry cheeks and even after a year they're still dry and flaky like before. I won't be purchasing this again.

I recently switched to Mario Badescu Vitamin C Serum and I will continue with it as it hydrates and suits my skin better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsPsylocke on 3/25/2014 8:51:00 PM more reviews by MsPsylocke

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really like this for my combination skin. I like to add about 4 drops of this to my CeraVePM and in the AM my skin looks so much better. I don't have acne but I still have such redness. I don't know if it's because I'm super fair and just more prone to it. It's a constant struggle for my skin to look even toned. This totally helps me with that. It has pretty simple ingredients and Hyaluronic Acid is the second ingredient so that is very good. I also mix a couple drops with my Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Serum for extra moisture and i find it helps reduce my fine lines and my skin is more even toned.

This is very pricey stuff but you only need the smallest amount so that's where it's good because this will last a long time. I would repurchase but Makeup Artists Choice has 95% HA serum for 30 something. So time will tell as to which I like better in my case as to if I will repurchase. I do recommend it though because it has some very good ingredients that are excellent for many skin types. me being Combo I find my skin is getting to that happy medium where I don't produce so much oil anymore. I find using this with the CeraVe really gives my skin the boost it needs. I use Mandelic acid and have not flaked or gotten dry at all. So for me this is a really good product! If your around Dermalogica this is one of the products I would want to have in my skincare arsenal:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 IrisFvH on 7/31/2013 8:46:00 AM more reviews by IrisFvH

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

If you have sensitive skin.. do NOT buy this!

I swear, DON'T!

it ruined my skin COMPLETELY. My skin isn't that sensitive at all, but after using a tiiiiny amount every evening for a week i got a thousand of tiny bumps on my face. it felt like my face was on fire.

I googled and looked around if there was something wrong about my skin. but no, it was all this product. according to Paulas Bourgon (i don't know for sure how to spell her name) who is an expert in skin ingredients there is an aweful lot of Lavender in this product which a sensitive skin won't like.

The bumps are slowly fading, ive had them for 3 weeks now. the burning and pain gets less and I hope my skin repairs soon...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Silfor on 7/4/2013 4:26:00 AM more reviews by Silfor

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Great for dry spots, or just the whole face. It is a little sticky after putting on but does the job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juliawachsmuth on 6/29/2013 6:35:00 AM more reviews by juliawachsmuth

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this one, never had something like this before. It takes away all the dry areas and feelings of my skin and you only need ca. 4 drops for the whole face so it lasts long. Well worth the price, would absolutely buy it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Victoriajane89 on 6/26/2013 5:29:00 AM more reviews by Victoriajane89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Was given this as a sample and thought I would try it over my nose as that is the only part of my face that is dry and not oily, i applied a small amount before bed, after cleansing and toning, then put on a night moisturiser.

After using for 2 nights I noticed the results and wow, my nose doesn't look dry at all and now when I apply my foundation and powder I don't get the caked look.

I only use this once/twice a week and will definitely repurchase (but maybe when I go to America to get it cheaper!) this product is expensive but it does the job and haven't found any other product that works as well as this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 gingertoes on 1/5/2013 3:29:00 PM more reviews by gingertoes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I went on a Dermalogica spending spree last year, and I REALLY wish I hadn't. My skin was very dry and red at the time, and I was desperate to find products that would help. I didn't like any of the products I purchased, but I persisted with the Hydrating Booster as it seemed like a waste not to.

I used 3 drops every night under my night cream until the bottle ran out...which took at least 6 months. It sank into my skin well and didn't cause any irritation, but it didn't produce any noticeable plumping effect. It ran out 2 weeks ago and my skin doesn't feel any worse for it.

I think this is only a very light HA formulation and it doesn't do much. I saw my fine lines get worse during the period I was using the product, so I don't think it packs any punch as an anti-ageing skin treatment. It's also very expensive for a product that doesn't do anything.

The bottle is small and handy, but I generally don't like Dermalogica packaging, it looks cheap to me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ohkrasavica on 1/3/2013 1:50:00 PM more reviews by ohkrasavica

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

The price makes me cringe, and for such a tiny bottle? Geez.. But it does last quite a long time.

I love hyaluronic acid, it's such a magical worker. From having dry dull skin to plump and fresh. A must have if you are dry and/or combination.

I honestly would even recommend this for those with really oily skin, because people with oily skin tend to use harsh and quite stripping products. And even though it feels like your face is clean and that those harsh products help.. they might not be the best for you in the long run.

When I started using this product I had oily skin, it definitely balanced it so now I have combination (still oily t-zone). I've learned that really foamy cleanser and too light creams don't help. You need to get some moisture back into that skin!

Also perfect for those who hate that feeling of thick and heavy creams and use light ones but still want to get that moisture.. just perfect..

In the beginning you might not notice a change, but as soon as I don't use this for a couple of days I can feel my skin craving this product. Doesn't brake me out and is lovely for sensitive skin. To boost the effects use gentle exfoliants, I use Dermalogica Gentle Cream Exfoliant and MD Formulations cleanser and glycare lotion. These together got rid of my dry patches. Doesn't matter what cream I use, if I don't exfoliate my skin doesn't look good no matter what products I use.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sunnyraingene on 12/16/2012 11:14:00 AM more reviews by sunnyraingene

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've gone through two bottles of this and have recently ran out. Gosh, I really miss using this product because the new (free) product from another brand gave me rashes and raised bumps on my cheek.

This serum works wonders on my sensitive, dry, flaky skin. Upon the first application, I found my skin plumper, and with regular use, my skin became clearer and of course, more moisturized. My flaky skin (especially on my nose), went down by a lot. I highly recommend this to my fellow dry-sensitive skin people!

I use this in the morning and night, about 5 to 6 drops each time on my face and neck. It's on the pricier side, but it is free of alcohol denat. Many other brands I tried (even those that are paraben free, silicone free etc.) still contains that evil ingredient, which my skin just can't handle. So I'm going back to this, my HG serum.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lushyluxe on 12/4/2012 4:03:00 PM more reviews by lushyluxe

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've now given it sufficient review time, and its with great relief that I now conclude that this is a satisfactory product. I bought it in winter when nothing would quench my parched skin. I added it to different trials of moisturisers and ended up either with breakouts (Clarins super restorative) or having to reapply at 2 hour intervals (Decleor hydra floral). I ended up shelving it for summer, and its a good thing I didn't toss it cos this baby was made for summer. Its light, fast absorbing and doesnt seem to do anythingelse but hydrate your skin. It works best for me in summer when mixed with a light moisturiser, so I mix a drop of the booster with 3 pumps of LP's Advanced Marine Biology Emulsion. I layer this mix on top of LP Retexturizing booster and I apply sunscreen on top. No breakouts, no midday dryess on my cheeks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Dermalogica products

More Treatments (Face) products