Paula's Choice • Essential Non-Greasy Sunscreen spf 15 • Sunscreen

rated 3.4(156 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 stefstefs on 2/20/2013 11:27:00 AM more reviews by stefstefs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It's an okay sunscreen if you have combo/oily or even dry skin. It's lightweight, and has watery liquid texture so it's lovely and easy to apply.

It makes my skin feels 'healthy', too. BUT, it also makes my face so SHINY (not in a good way), my face looked drenched. my friend once actually screamed when I walked in, she said "WHAT R U USING ON UR FACE, IT'S SO SHINY"

so yeah, I love this but it made me looked drenched, so I use skin balancing sunscreen from paula's choice instead. and it works wonder. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lagenia on 6/1/2012 1:36:00 PM more reviews by lagenia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have sensitive skin and often get acne and this is one of few sunscreens I can use. I prefer to use liquids or sprays, but the idea of a sunscreen that could leave a matt finish and not be greasy appealed to me. Also I have heard great things about Paula's brand and the reviews here seemed positive so I gave it a try. It keeps my face moist, and does leave a matt finsh and seems to protect for a long time. However like other people have mentioned it goes on initially kind of sticky, but the greasiness seems to soak in after a while. But since it does not break my skin out this product is definitely one of my standbys, although I still prefer a lighter sunscreen. What is however distressing to me is that it contains parabens. I was drawn to Paula's choice products because of the naturalness, so it was disappointing to see these ingredients were included.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lizzea on 5/17/2012 6:58:00 PM more reviews by lizzea

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Let me just start off by saying I'm really not a fan of any sunscreen... I know that sounds terrible but having had cystic acne for well over 10 years, I hesitated to put anything goopy on my face like sunscreen with fear of breakouts (which I often would in the past). I have a much better education (and calmer skin) about my skin now and know SPF protection is an essential part of my regime, acne or no acne.


Traditional sunscreens I've tried in the past for both face and body have been really goopy, smelly, thick and very white. They'd often leave my skin looking ashy and smelly and generally uncomfortable. I'd always have a breakout after using them on my face too, even the ones that were formulated for the face area.


This sunscreen is light weight, feels almost 'watery' (in a good way) but still has great coverage, doesn't smell *too* sunscreeny (it still retains a subtle sunscreen smell but tends not to linger like others I've used) and a little goes a long, long way. I haven't had any breakouts and the sunscreen basically feels like it disappears rather than sits heavily on my skin. It may feel a little slick for very oily skin, but I think this is a lot better than the gooey, sticky sunscreens that are around and won't break you out (well didn't break me out despite my cystic acne).


It's a bit expensive in Australia but given the HUGE tube it comes in and the fact you don't have to use much, it's well worth it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 caradiangela on 1/28/2012 9:31:00 AM more reviews by caradiangela

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is pretty basic and is suitable for both face and body.
For the very oily types this might be a little much for the face.
I have combination skin and just try to use little product.
It sinks in fast, leaves skin soft and healthy lookin and overall, I'm pleased with this product. It's a pretty big tube, also.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 patriciaarce on 8/26/2010 11:08:00 AM more reviews by patriciaarce

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use this on my face and body and I couldn't be more pleased. I was concerned about this being too greasy for my face (I've got combo skin with an oily forehead), but it dries to a satiny finish. I just wished it came in a bigger size!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 karolussen on 5/15/2010 3:22:00 PM more reviews by karolussen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

A very good sunscreen and thin moisturizer - I use it every day in the spring and summer, while I use the pure mineral one for the colder days of fall and winter. It is also very good blended with mineral foundation for a quick face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 IllTakeIt on 4/28/2010 2:13:00 PM more reviews by IllTakeIt

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I hate every single skin care and beauty product by Paula Begoun. She can criticize but she can't make a better product ! Her stuff made me face fell sticky and caused redness! Eww I hate it!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 beasley on 4/27/2010 11:07:00 PM more reviews by beasley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am glad I purchased this for my daily sunscreen. It has just enough moisture to keep the flakes at bay but doesn't make me feel overly greasy. My makeup goes on really smoothly after applying this and it doesn't sting. I agree that it makes your face shiny but I lightly blot during the day and use powder and that seems to take care of it (the shine really is only a problem on my forehead and sometimes my nose). Doesn't make me break out which is a HUGE plus. Will buy again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 elin22 on 4/27/2010 10:52:00 PM more reviews by elin22

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I was disappointed by this sunscreen. I wear sunscreen every day and I liked the idea of one with extra antioxidants. But soon after I put it on my face my skin turned red and I could feel it tingle. I'm not sure what it was but it was causing some irritation. I tried it on a few separate occasions but it never felt nice on my face. In the end I used it on my neck and body and that was fine, but it expired before I used it all up.
I also found that it left my skin shiny and smelt really horrible. I wouldn't have minded these problems if it agreed with my skin, but it didn't.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Miffny on 1/17/2010 11:25:00 PM more reviews by Miffny

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

I stopped using Paula's choice SPF15 for normal/oily skin a few years ago as my skin had become so dry I needed so much more moisture from my sunscreen, the past few yaers have been a bit of a challenge as if I found one either it was smelling great but making my skin greasy or felt good smelt vile & caused outbreaks so I took up the offer of members 15% off until the end of January& re-bought the essential non greasy SPF 15. I am so glad I did no bothers of oily breakthroughs, no pimples, no irritation,no more thick gluey or too light no moisture this gives my skin just the right amount of moisture of use as a base for mineral make-up plus the protection I need in fact it's the first time in years I have not been burnt so that in itself says something.I would love if Paula's choice would include a small refillable tube or something I can carry in my handbag as the tube is massive but than again that's value for money.

I am giving this five stars as it is fantastic for my skin even though my skin is mature & on the dry side this is still perfect for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Sunscreen products