Pureology • Texture Twist • Styling Products

rated 4.2(41 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Boxerface on 10/6/2013 9:30:00 AM more reviews by Boxerface

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Let me give you some background on my hair. I have Deserted Island Hair. This means it can look great wet, dry, unwashed and slept on. If I were on a deserted Island for three weeks my hair would still look great. I was blessed with great hair. ( Dont hate me as my skin is horrific) My hair is medium length, course, color treated, thick, heavy and hightlighted hair that only needs color/foils to look stunning. I almost never blow dry my hair. I am happy to wash and go. So with that said I am truly the last person on make up alley to really review any hairstyling product. Keep that in mind as you read my review.

Do I love this product? Sure. Love? No. Like? Most definitley. This is a practical, easy to use hair product that can only improve your style. If you are looking for a product to create drama, or texture or force your curl to behave this it it. A little goes a long way. Imagine tiny spider web thin dip. Sticky and not creamy. Use the pump to give yourself a dime size dollop and press your thumb and finger together to create the think web like texture. Keep your fingers pumping the product to get the consistency you like. Gently dot the webs on different areas on your hair. You do not need to use this on wet hair as the product suggests. In fact I found it was much nicer on dry hair. Of course you can use this on wet hair but a little goes a long way. You will hate your hair if you use more than a quarter size. Just a small amount. This is perfect for those who want to avoid heat styling and can get almost as good a look. Be creative and don't rush the process.

Will I buy this again? No, I am not a hair product person. And in all honestly I have had this same bottle for 5 months as this is how little I use it. $25 for 3.0 oz. Decent price for a fun product to use. And one bottle will get you through 3-4 months easily.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sufferingfromvertigo on 1/21/2013 12:05:00 AM more reviews by sufferingfromvertigo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am so in love with this product. I had come across the reviews on MUA a few times and decided that I should order it, and if I hated it I would give it to my sister haha. I have fine, easily greasy/weighed down hair. It's not straight, nor curly, but more of a wavy-in-a-bad-way. I've been blow drying and straightening my hair for years, but now that I'm growing it out I wanted to find a product that I could use without heat that would give me a style. This is it. Once my hair dries, I use a little less than one pump (the pump gets stuck sometimes which is annoying), spread it between my hands, clap once, and then scrunch it into the length of my hair, staying away from the roots. Then I'll put my hair up in a loose bun with a scrunchie, changing the placement and direction of the bun every thirty minutes or so until it's dry. I'm left with gorgeous, beachy waves that aren't crunchy but are soft and make my hair look full and long and healthy. I've tried to apply it when my hair is wet but don't get the same results as when it's damp/dry. This product is a bit pricier than my normal styling budget, but you don't need to use a lot and it still looks good the next day (once I add a little dry shampoo) so it will last me for a whole. I highly recommend this product and will absolutely repurchase; I can't wait to have these glorious waves in the summer!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nata779 on 9/26/2012 3:36:00 PM more reviews by nata779

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is amazing. I did not expect this product working like that. My BF who never notices a thing on how I look would say as soon as I came home: "Wow, you styled your hair very nicely". The first time I used this product I made a big mistake of forgetting that the amount should really be a pea size and put 2 pumps on my hair. So I ended up putting my dirty locks in a clip. Next day was a triumph.It gives you that natural volume and polished look with no greasiness and dull long pieces along my face. That truly is a keeper. Hopefully whatever they invented to replace this product will be at least of the same quality.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 torontogal1953 on 9/10/2012 3:11:00 PM more reviews by torontogal1953

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Wanted to buy this after reading rave reviews....very disappointed to learn from Ulta personelle that it has been discontinued!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cheechi on 8/23/2012 1:11:00 PM more reviews by cheechi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

omg...where do i start? For reference, I have fine, thin, bra-strap length, straight hair. This is seriously probably the worst product I've ever tried in my hair. Last night, I used a TINY amount as suggested, worked it into my damp hair, did a blow-dry. My hair looked flat, as usual, but actually even a little flatter/more weighed-down than normal.

So, I figured that I didn't use enough product. This morning, I re-wetted my hair and used a nickel-sized amount of product. QUE HORROR. Seriously. Never has my hair been so flat, dull, or greasy-looking. It looked like i put olive oil in my hair, then some baby powder on top to make it dull. HORRIBLE. I am returning this. I can't even say I like the packaging, because I imagine that if I were to continue to use this, it would be hard to tell how much product I had left.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cashmerensilk on 3/4/2012 1:55:00 AM more reviews by Cashmerensilk

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Texture Twist is the absolute best! My curls behave & no more wild crazy gray sticking up. I do have to use a bit, but its well worth the price when you have hair like mine. I use it after my hair has dried otherwise its too watered down & I end up using too much product.
Being part African American (most people can't tell as I'm also white Irish) my hair is wiry, coarse & curly hair. Even on my short cropped do I used to use tons of product for control & was still never happy (not to mention some products just made my scalp hurt). Texture Twist has made all the difference in the world.
My gray is very white (that's even coarser than my non-gray hair) so I have a weave to lighten the dark & my gray is highlights (& there's a lot lol). The best part is my hair is soft & no more problem with being weighed down with products. My stylist & I must've tried every product we came across & now I can finally toss all the others out!
LOVE Pureology Texture Twist!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 11/1/2011 1:08:00 PM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this product in dry hair but it doesn't work for my chin-length bob. So clearly it's a wet-hair type of product (as per the usage instructions). This styling paste goes from feeling incredibly thick, sticky, gooey, & heavy, to feeling light, silky, glassy-smooth, & so sooooft....that's how it makes my hair feel after blowdrying. But I must apply it to wet hair AND blowdry it, which I don't like to do anymore & have avoided using a blowdrier for the past year. For the most part I prefer to air-dry my hair, so I'll have to reserve this awesome paste for the special occasions when I bother to blowdry... this limitation is pretty much its only downfall. Gives blowdried hair wonderful VOLUME, lightness, shine, softness, touchability - nothing sticky, crunchy, heavy or stiff whatsoever. Just a small pea-size dab is enough (my hair can probably stand to use less than that, I'll have to experiment more). But for texture in my usual air-dried hair I'll have to stick w/my regular products which unfortunately dry stiff (gel) or stay greasy (texture creams).


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Melanie227aud on 10/30/2011 7:30:00 PM more reviews by Melanie227aud

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

After reading so many good reviews, I SO wanted to like this. Sadly, it did not work for my hair. I have very fine, short hair. This stuff was extremely thick and sticky. It weighed my hair down and made it look greasy. And it has parabens in it. Not good. Will not be purchasing again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hawaiian_tropic on 8/21/2011 9:46:00 PM more reviews by hawaiian_tropic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Love this product! Gives my hair body,controls style,smooths,defines.Love the smell too. This seems to be similar to Redkens Rewind but this product is a notch up....so many uses for this product

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Windyhill on 7/16/2011 11:21:00 AM more reviews by Windyhill

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

HG!! Finally a product that really does what it says it will do. I am completely inept at hairstyling my short, choppy with a few curls, hair. This makes me look like I know what I'm doing.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pureology products

More Styling Products products