Blistex • Lip Conditioner SPF 20 • Lip Treatments

rated 4.0(56 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 AllyDean on 3/29/2014 6:54:00 AM more reviews by AllyDean

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my "go to" product when my lips are chapped and dry, especially in winter. It might not be the only product that works, but it is the one (for me) to work the fastest in ensuring i have smooth lipstick applicable lips. Although it does provide a tingling sensation post-application which some may not enjoy.

In Australia, I am currently paying over $10 for one pot, although it will last around a year.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ChanelLove07 on 1/27/2014 4:23:00 PM more reviews by ChanelLove07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I repurchased so many times! Really love this lip balm. I use this every morning and night with clear hands because I do think it is a little unsanitary to stick your fingers in the pot if your hands aren't clean. This gives your lips a cooling mentolly feeling which I love. My sister had a period where her lips where really dry and chapped and this really helped her restore the moisture back into them. Applying this at night and waking up the next morning really gave me baby soft lips. My HG lip balm

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sepolayla on 3/21/2012 7:37:00 PM more reviews by Sepolayla

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I have been through so many tubs of this stuff. I have completely lost track of the number. But it's not my HG - I haven't found that yet. I'll go through the pros and cons. My lips are very dry and they chap easily. I exfoliate them several times weekly.


Pros
Soothing - if lips are so dry it's become painful this will ease the pain.
Smoothing - formula smooths out the lips and flaking lips will take on a smooth appearance a few mins after application.
SPF - and it is an effective SPF. As someone who has actually experienced sunburnt lips I consider a high SPF essential.
Pot - means you can use all of the product. I circumvent any hygiene issues by making sure I always was my hands before applying, never re-dip a finer and never share it with anyone.
Finish - gives a wet look effect without shimmer. I have lips with a naturally deep colour so I don't feel like I am wearing this product at the expense of my look.


Cons
Smell - like a hospital. Vile.
Taste - like it smells. Vile. Like sucking on a vaseline lollipop soaked in dettol. (On the other hand, these clinical stinks do reinforce the message that it's working.)
Smoothing - formula frankly produces a burning sensation on the lips. Also that constant stretching of the skin cannot be good for it and I'm sure that constant use will loosen the skin on my lips over time and make fine lines a bigger problem than they have to be. (A recent realisation; I have cut down on using it lately for this reason.)
Superficial solution - not actually getting moisture into the lips, just smoothing their surface.
Packaging - tracks on the lid poorly designed. It is way too easy to close the lid on this product in such a way that it's impossible to get it off ever again.
Effect on skin other than lips - creates bumps around the lipline sometimes. Like blackheads on steroids or something? Don't quite know what they are but they're not good.


So, yeah, more pros than cons. But, methinks, beware long term high-frequency use.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hannahr20 on 2/8/2012 8:22:00 AM more reviews by hannahr20

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Love this lip conditioner! I put this on every night before bed & throughout the day in winter when the cold drys my lips out. I paid 90p for this in Tesco when it was on offer. YES 90p! I stocked up & bought about 4. It's smooth & silky on my lips & not at all sticky. & each pot lasts ages... Love them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 anniewood72 on 8/30/2011 2:57:00 AM more reviews by anniewood72

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this because it reminded me of living in Hawaii as a child. I loved it then but now I think otherwise. It seems unsanitary to stick my fingers in a pot. I do love the smell and texture. I swear if I wear it overnight I wake up feeling very ill and I have the poops. I finished up the rest of the product as a dab on type of perfume behind my ears because I love the smell so much.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Someone1 on 5/31/2011 3:31:00 PM more reviews by Someone1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The best lip balm ever! Could hardly survive without it. It's the only thing that heals my dry, cracked lips. And for that price.. But other Blistex lip balms are not as effective, this one really helps.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alee26 on 5/5/2011 5:15:00 AM more reviews by alee26

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use this lip-balm religiously before I discovered Lucas Paw Paw Ointment, so that has become my HG lip-balm, but this isn't too bad. If you have relatively dry lips this will do a decent job and has a nice menthol scent and cooling sensation when you apply it. Only thing that I don't like is the packaging. I prefer tubes or sticks since they are more hygienic and since I have long nails, makes getting the product out a bit more difficult.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 soupz on 4/28/2011 7:29:00 AM more reviews by soupz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is awesome!! I'm on my third pot now, its dirt cheap and amazingly good :) I love using this stuff as a lip buff as well as everyday balm. I would slather a thick layer on once a week and leave it for about 5-10 minutes, wipe it off and the use a towel softly buff away the dead skin; its amazing at melting it away and leaving your lips juicy :P and everyday balm its pretty good, much better than any of the other blistex products in my opinion. As for packaging, the compactness is nice but it's crappy really.. I always have to poke it out with my nail (like scooping it but the other way) and well... I guess i just prefer my balm on the balls of my fingers; not a huge biggie. definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xpinkangelx on 4/27/2011 11:46:00 AM more reviews by xpinkangelx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

Recently rediscovered this from my old make up bag and I really don't know why I stopped using it! It's soo creamy and soft on the lips, really moisturising and when left overnight makes my lips lovely in the morning! Will not be wasting money on any other balms from now on!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkfrost52 on 2/14/2011 4:36:00 PM more reviews by pinkfrost52

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I absoutely LOVE this product. A must have staple in my makeup bag especially for colder months. Keeps my lips nice and soft and stops them from flaking. Have purchased this over and over again and will continue too. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Blistex products

More Lip Treatments products