Alba Botanica • Terra Tints • Lip Treatments

rated 3.4(69 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zernelle on 10/17/2012 8:00:00 PM more reviews by zernelle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I picked these up on a whim when I saw them on clearance at a grocery store, and I quite like them. They offer some mineral sun protection, moisturize my lips, and add a bit of color. I have Bloom (a sheer, shimmery mauve-pink) and Blaze (a sheer, shimmery, warm berry red). Because of the sheerness, the colors are easy to wear, though I wish they were a bit less shimmery. Overall, though, I'm glad I bought these.
Active Ingredient: Zinc Oxide 5.1%. Other Ingredients: Coconut Oil*, Olive Fruit Oil*, Candelilla Wax, Beeswax*, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Mica, Titanium Dioxide, Peppermint Oil*, Castor Seed Oil, Calendula Officinalis Flower Extract, Echinacea Purpurea Extract, Iron Oxides, Polyhydroxystearic Acid, Tocopheryl Acetate, Triethoxycaprylylsilane, Limonene*, Linalool*.
*Certified Organic Ingredient

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 9/27/2012 2:48:00 PM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Most of the shades look browny orangey looking which looks horrid on fair skin. Bloom is a bit better, its a neutral berry shimmer. Its sheer and adds a hint of color and gloss to make lips look naturally glossy, smooth and slightly fuller. It wears well, feels silky smooth, not gritty and doesn't collect into lines, doesn't feather, and doesn't highlight dry flakey lips. Actually it treats and smooths away dry flaky lips so its great for a holiday bag when you dont' have room for a separate balm and lip color.


Minor annoyances with this brand. 1. Most shades are SPF18 but Bloom is only only SPF8 why the difference? was going to spend any significant time in the sun. 2. It is *slightly* sticky so you will want to tie back long hari on windy days. 3. It is scented like fresh peppermint and wax crayons. Its tolerable and fades to barely noticible after half an hour but I prefer something more neutral or no scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Euphoria93 on 3/1/2012 4:53:00 AM more reviews by Euphoria93

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Texture:
I don't know why people complain about the texture. It goes on smoothly and does not give a caky look as other claims. But I have very soft lips, if that has something to do with it. If you have very dry and flaky lips you should exfoliate them before using this.


Packaging:
First I liked the packaging, but after a while I had trouble rolling the product up and down the tube. I guess this is because it melted a bit in my pocket, but still annoying. Make sure not to heat the product by accident by putting it in your jeans pockets etc.


Colour:
I have it in bloom, and it's a very natural berry kissed colour for me. I have very pigmented lips, and this is very dark for a tinted lipbalm, so I guess it could be a bit too dark for those with very light lips.


Smell, taste:
It smells like peppermint mouth wash, and when I applied it in the car my mother asked me if I had brushed my teeth recently because of the minty smell. It gives a cooling effect when you put it on your lips, and the taste is not that bad either. Would have preferred a neutral taste, but it's durable.


Price:
I ordered it from iherb for under 3 dollars. Cosmetics is very expensive in my country, so this is dirt cheap in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 jenbuggy85 on 8/9/2011 10:26:00 PM more reviews by jenbuggy85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I found a whole pack (12) of them on ebay for $9 in the color Bloom. I did alot of looking around and it seemed to be a natural color on alot of people. I bought the whole pack (stupid...but it was $9!).

The color is nice, I'll give it that. But the texture/smell/after taste made me sick... yuck! I had to wash it off and brush my teeth. That after taste was just so nasty.

It was cooling on my lips, but didn't make them any softer. This product IMO is to thick/pasty. It clumped up on me.

I'll be passing this lot around to friends/family.

The only pro was the color... sorry Terra Tints! Nice try though!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BrunettePrincess on 2/17/2011 6:31:00 PM more reviews by BrunettePrincess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have the shade Dawn which is a pale icy pink full of shimmer. It has a peppermint taste and feels cool on ur lips. I love it summer-winter. It's fab on it's own and layered under gloss or lipstick.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ferriswheel777 on 11/1/2010 11:28:00 PM more reviews by Ferriswheel777

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this for awhile now and even brought it to the tropical place when I went on vacation. I like the color and the protection it gives, but the only down part on this product is that it's too expensive for a lip balm. I guess you pay for what its worth for. But I can always use this when i'm in a hurry and don't have time to put lipstick on and still want to have a little color on my lips. The color lasts a little longer than any other lip tints. If only it will go on sale, I would stock up on this. The grainy part btw don't really bother me and there is a hint of minty taste to it too which, for me is good because it gives a coolness on my lips even when the weather is too warm.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 herbgurl82 on 7/20/2010 11:30:00 AM more reviews by herbgurl82

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Words cannot express my loathing for this lip tint. I bought this in the color Bloom at the health food store. I thought, "this looks nifty, an all natural lip balm that tints your lips!" I bought it, and instantly regretted my impulse by the first time I put it on my lips.
Why? Because of the thick waxy grainy texture on my lips, the way that it caked in every dry spot on my lips, the thick goopy lipstick like texture that was glittery and did not look natural, and the garish purplely color that looked nothing like the color of the tube. Yuck!
Never ever purchasing again! The only redeeming quality was the cooling peppermint sensation when I put it on my lips. I will stick with my Nivea Kiss of Moisture lip balm from now on, thank you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 TwinklePrincessBoo on 3/31/2010 9:37:00 AM more reviews by TwinklePrincessBoo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is a great product, it goes on smoothly and is a really good tint, lasts a long time. It's a little grainy on the lips which can be a bit of a bother, but it's got a tingly sensation that feels so fresh. I'll definitely be buying this again, It fits so much of my criteria, The price is great, It's Vegan and not tested on Animals and Blaze is a great colour for my NC25 skin. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Jacop on 2/5/2010 2:02:00 AM more reviews by Jacop

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product since it doesn't dry my lips as much as others do. It also has a sheer pinkish tint and it's 70% organic so I love love that part. The only prob is after a time, my lips look quite pale. I'll buy this product again but in a darker shade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Fantomia on 2/1/2010 10:51:00 AM more reviews by Fantomia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Iíve got a new love Ė organic lip tints. Applies and feels like lip balms (you donít need mirror), and add colour for a fresher look, but not make-uped like lipstick. Even easier to apply than lip-gloss, and wears longer than lip-gloss too, I think, and my hair doesnít stick to my lips as when I wear lip-gloss.
Iíve tried this type + KissMyFace Sheer organic Shimmers and MyChelle Little Kisses, and love this + Sheer organic Shimmers for the fresh minty taste, but this feels even better on as it is softer (but I think Sheer organic Shimmers lasts a little longer because of the dryer consistence Ė but never mind, they are so refreshing to reapply so I do it all the time anyway). And colurwise I prefer Little Kisses because they re richer pigmented with less shimmer than those two.
I like darker colours, and blaze is just dark enough for brighten up my face; itís a quite lovely bright but natural red-ish colour. I want to try the Garnet too to see if it is a darker plum colour.
And what a wonderful prize on these!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alba Botanica products

More Lip Treatments products