Estee Lauder • Pleasures • Fragrances

rated 3.5(382 reviews)

Average Rating.3.5
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 FeminineWoman on 10/14/2014 2:59:00 PM more reviews by FeminineWoman

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I have worn Pleasures since it first hit the market in 1995. If you're looking for a floral scent for mature(mature as in a grown woman with responsibilities and knows what she wants in life) women, recommend sampling this perfume.

Dry down is classy, crisp, feminine, well blended florals with musk sprinkled throughout. I always spray fragrance in the air, and then walk through it. Was it Estee Lauder herself who did this? Not sure. Anyway, If I spray a fragrance directly on my pulse points, it will be too strong and overbearing, or smell like chemicals. Did spray Pleasures once on the front of my body, and had to endure a chemical/plastic smell until dry down. I will stick with spraying fragrance (all fragrances) in the air, and then walking through it while it disperses in the air and gradually wafts to the floor.

Pleasures brings to mind a woman walking through a field of lilies and peonies in a feminine, casual summer dress, which subtly enhances her curves. However, she is not naive and/or a push-over. There's strength in her reserved demeanor and femininity.

As much as I adore Pleasure, no longer wear it every day. However, it will always have a place on my mirrored tabletop tray.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gmstrack on 10/11/2014 11:30:00 AM more reviews by gmstrack

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Pleasures by Estée Lauder falls in a fragrance category I like to call “washing the dishes while wearing a chastity belt.” This category actually has a positive connotation and is not associated with sterility or repressed housewives or whatever. Let me explain: I have several sweet or gourmand perfumes in my collection and once in a while it is great to wear something that scrubs all of the sticky honey, vanilla, and chocolate away. I just want to smell like I am clean, well scrubbed and ready for wholesome activities. So, of course Pleasure fits the bill with plenty of soapy white floral notes and a steely, musky base. Men should try this fragrance, especially if one enjoys the floral note in Timbuktu (Karo-Karounde) or enjoys a clean, freshly-scrubbed result.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 auricblaze4 on 8/29/2014 2:45:00 PM more reviews by auricblaze4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

This was the first perfume I've ever owned--my mother bought it for me when I was about 13 and perfumes just weren't "in" for people my age. We were all using body spray because it was trendy. As high school was coming to a close my tastes changed and I enjoyed the sophisticated feeling of perfume so I whipped this rather plain looking bottle out. I used Pleasures every morning before school and then before class at college: two squirts on my neck. It seems to combine well with my natural chemistry and lasts all day.

This perfume smells VERY floral to me, mainly of jasmine-like scent. It's a little woodsy. It has wonderful memories attached to it but when I ran out I ventured to what I thought would be "younger" scents like Viva La juicy--which never worked for me.

I guess these "old lady" scents are what suit me the most, which I'm TOTALLY okay with. I just came home with a new bottle of Pleasures last night and I am in love once again. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 goldenjoy on 6/19/2014 3:13:00 PM more reviews by goldenjoy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous clean soapy floral with a hint of green. I only use this In The hottest weather since that is when it goes best with my chemistry. Otherwise it can be too much of a good thing and it can feel heavy and overwhelming. I only spray this twice and it lasts all day. Estée Lauder makes quality amazing fragrances and this is one of my favorites. I'm in my mid 30s and I remember smelling this when it first came out and it still smells the same. It's not a signature perfume for me but I will always have it around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Ta2dqt21 on 4/18/2014 4:39:00 PM more reviews by Ta2dqt21

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Scent reviews are difficult to get an accurate experience of the product. Scent is so subjective, and so many factors (body chemistry, age, etc.) have to be taken into account. To break this fragrance down as best as possible, Pleasures is a lovely floral, with a fine balance of freshness and class. It is green, but more floral than green. I don't picture this scent on a teenager, which may be why so many low reviews fell into the "18 and under" age bracket. No, this is more mature, and would probably appeal to the 25 and up crowd... 30's and 40's, definitely. The scent has serious lasting power, which is not surprising given the quality of the brand. The packaging is simple but lovely. The price... Well, we all know that prices on perfumes leave much to be desired, but the longevity of the product makes up for the price point. I have been able to find some rather nice gift sets within the Lauder brand, which also helps to offset the price. I would recommend this perfume, but I would recommend TESTING before you set on buying it. What may be pleasurable to one may be a nightmare to another.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 3/16/2014 4:23:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

Classy!! I received this as an Xmas gift set from my parents this past year. It has a lot of sentimental value. It's classic & conservative...if it had a color it would be navy blue. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 McSwimmer on 2/3/2014 6:19:00 PM more reviews by McSwimmer

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Sorry to those of you who love this, but this is horrible! The worst! I have a little sample bottle and I've tried wearing this several times. Not only did it make me nauseous; it caused a headache too. And I'm not usually sensitive to anything of this sort. This is a overly strong, harsh, sharp and bitter green scent. Perfumes sometimes don't last on my skin long, yet this one I couldn't get rid of with 3 washings! I can't imagine something like this even being on the market all this time. It smells like a cross between bug spray and an industrial cleaner. It practically makes my eyes water.
Some younger ladies call these fresh scents as "old lady" scents. I guess I'm considered an "old lady". And, this particular "old lady" doesn't like Pleasures! (And, BTW girls, "mature lady" or "mature woman" is insulting enough so "old lady" is really not complimentary. LOL. Just remember, you'll be "old" someday). :-)

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 bonbon1281 on 10/30/2013 11:38:00 AM more reviews by bonbon1281

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This perfume was a hit when I was in High School in the late 90s as my friend would constantly wear it. it always reminded me of her. I have tried to wear it since then but ended up wasting it by throwing it away. Its very strong and ended up wearing me instead of the other way around. Its nice on others but I don't think I could ever buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Olfactoria on 9/29/2013 11:57:00 PM more reviews by Olfactoria

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I have to give Pleasures credit, it blazed trails back in '95. The absolutely pristine, sparkling, soapy-green freshness of it was intoxicating when I first smelled it on a coworker. It was as if she had not only just stepped out of the bath, but was wearing around her neck the bar of expensive soap she'd used. There was a citrusy, leafy sharpness at the opening, followed by dewy and immaculate lilies and peonies. Pleasures, in its silkily cool perfection and its minimalist flacon, blasted our nasal passages clean after the heavy-handed Orientals and sweet, indolic florals of the '80s.

However, I can no longer wear Pleasures because its "revolutionary" outlook has been copied so very many times-- RL Romance, Clinique Happy, Curve, Miracle, Amazing Grace and half the new fragrance launches and flankers each year-- to the point that it feels boring, cliched, and really rather sterile. In attempting virginal cleanliness, Pleasures ultimately overshoots the mark and becomes sharp and pungent and quite synthetic. As do the many fragrances that borrowed Pleasures' idea. Pleasures may have been uber-modern 20 years ago, but ironically, it has driven me back to older classic fragrances that have a fleshier, warmer, more romantic feel.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Nahee on 8/11/2013 1:11:00 PM more reviews by Nahee

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I do not like it so much.
For me the smell is so strong that i instantly got a headache.
It is too old for an teenager like me. (I am very social and energetic girl)
I think this fragrance would suit older woman who is very gentle and calm.
But if my mom wears it, i would disagree.
It gets me real painful headache.
For mr it didn't get much pleasure at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Estee Lauder products

More Fragrances products