Estee Lauder Pleasures

3.4

393 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

This turned out to be ghastly on me. I wore it on a night out and spent the entire night trying not to breathe in the fumes of this cloying, somewhat rancid fragrance (and hoping no one else could either). I haven't had good experiences with Estée Lauder perfumes in general - they don't stand out or make me feel fresh.



on 5/21/2015 11:59:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Opposite of my type, this is clean, sharp, laundry-fresh, Windex-fresh. Verging on antiseptic, like a doctor's office or a dentist's office. Lots of pop, great throw, lasts very well, a lot of bang for your buck.

Cool, crisp, and icy clean, it cuts through heat and humidity -- crystal clear & uplifting. I don't even think of it as floral (even though it is) -- to me, it's more elemental, like air & water -- it almost has a watery, aquatic, beachy vibe, to me. I picture being on the beach on a cool day, breathing the fresh clean air -- rather than being around flowers. It's bracing.

IMHO, this is in the same clear crispy-clean category as Romance, Amazing Grace, Adidas Moves, Quartz, Oui, Tommy Girl, Freedom, Eternity, a couple Sungs, L'Eau d'Issey, Happy + flankers, A&F #1 Perfume, Bn9 Union Square, Banana Republic W, Body by Victoria, J'adore, Chloe EDP and other (often screechy IMHO) rains & squeaky-cleans -- they are usually clear liquids, in clear or white-trimmed bottles.

I've never really favored "fresh" or "clean" types at ALL, usually find them too sharp & like olfactory needles or jagged cut glass (with the exception of White Linen, which was a holy grail for me in the 80's-90's and my husband's all-time fave on me).

I generally much prefer warm, deep, sensuous scents -- complex gourmands, deep woody orientals, florientals, vanillas, musks, earthy boho perfumes. Pleasures Delight, a fruity-vanilla gourmand flanker, would have to be my favorite version of Pleasures.

However, being a lover of sensuous skin-musks (Egyptian musk, TBS white musk, etc), what saves original Pleasures for me is that it does eventually musk down on my skin, and I love its clean, almost white-musky finish.

When I wear this to bed and then the next morning (forgetting what I sprayed the night before) sniff my skin, it smells absolutely delicious -- almost like Body Shop White Musk, but much less earthy and much fresher. I think to myself, "Mmmmm, so good -- what did I spray last night??" -- and then I remember with surprise that it was Pleasures (??!!), and I gain a whole new perspective & appreciation for this scent.

I don't like its sharp, antiseptic, ozonic, Windex-y initial spritz too much, but I do love the drydown -- on my skin it turns into a (mostly) delicious fresh white musk, to my nose. It's strong, it's EDP, it has great throw & lasting power, and even though it's a super-clean fresh scent, you must spritz with care.

CELEB TRIVIA: I once read in a magazine that celebrity Vanessa Minnillo Lachey (married to Nick Lachey, who is a former 98 Degrees singer & ex-husb of Jessica Simpson) wears *only* Pleasures and has since 9th grade? (I think the mag said).

A Rouge18.com "What's On My Vanity" article confirms this: Vanessa Lachey says Pleasures is all she uses, and she keeps a bottle of Pleasures spray -- plus Pleasures lotion -- on her vanilty. (I kind of envy that -- I wish I could be loyal to a single perfume for many many years!)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 5/19/2015 12:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Barf! Not to be racist but all Asian ladies love this for some reason, I don't understand why as it smells like a cleaner.


on 5/18/2015 12:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Took me awhile to get on board... and now it's love. I've sampled this fragrance numerous times through the years. I guess only now am I ready for this class act of a fragrance. It's floral ... all floral elegance and so feminine. I've always been attracted to fruity fragrances. But I needed a change! Enter this classic beauty. Just got this for my birthday from my husband - the first birthday as his wife! This is a very sentimental gift and this fragrance represents a new chapter in my life - a very happy one:). This fragrance is very grown up but never dated. Transitions beautifully from blue jeans and tee to a black dress and pearls. I can definitely see myself reaching for this year round. This is the first ever Estée Lauder fragrance that I have owned so it's really exciting! I hope to try the other Pleasure fragrances and now my husband will always know what to get me for special occasions!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Green

This is the most feminine, most beautiful perfume I have ever smelled. My mother-in-law is an Estee Lauder fiend! She buy double wear when you get the gift with purchase, and she gave me a tiny bottle of this that came with a gift. I was blown away at how much I loved this.This smells very floral, but not artificial floral. It smells like fresh cut roses, lillies, and peonies. 2 sprays will last all day long, especially on your clothes. I get compliments every single time I wear this. It is expensive, so I like to wear this on special occasions; such as, nice dinner parties, church, formal events. I could be dressed like a hobo, and 1 spray of this will make me feel so beautiful! 2 thumbs up!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/20/2015 3:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I just can't wear this perfume. I've tried numerous times over the years and have enjoyed smelling it on others but every time I have worn it I get a headache and slightly sick to my stomach. I love the bottle and the clear liquid. I think it's beautiful in its simplicity and I can see the appeal of this scent... a straightforward, super clean floral scent. On my coworker it radiates softly in a warm, clean, jasmine type scent. On me it's so screechy and makes my eyes ache. I gave this a 3/5 since for me it's a no-go but on others it works.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/15/2015 10:49:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

During my brief detour into florals, I wore Pleasures for a stint. Its a clean, white floral. This was the late 90's after all and I never did fall in love with the scent. There was an underlying rose scent to this as well that I wasn't crazy about. But this certainly wasn't my grandmothers rose perfume. But all in all, not enough of favorite to find a spot in my collection. It was swapped off rather quickly.


on 1/20/2015 10:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

An enduring love since the '90s; a versatile, clean, and lovely everyday fragrance (and my husband's favorite). As the ad copy states, "never sweet, ever fresh, it delights your senses."

People often knock Pleasures for being minimalist, soapy, and common, but in this case I think Pleasures suffers unfairly from being lumped with lesser contenders in the category (soapy, "sheer" florals) that Pleasures itself created! Those of us who experienced this fragrance at its launch 20 years ago remember what an incredible innovation it was. The early '90s had been a continuation of the '80s trend of big, baroque, sweet florals and heavy Orientals. Calvin Klein's Eternity and Escape weremaybe the closest thing that era had in the way of "fresh" scents, but even those two could be quite bombastic and loud.

Enter Pleasures-- a sleek simple flacon of rainwater-clear juice that conveyed cleanliness with absolute, incisive clarity. Yet, being a Lauder, this wasn't just a soap or bubble-bath scent (though that effect was clearly layered into the fragrance with great intentionality): one also sensed an almost-holographic, gossamer but defined, bouquet of peonies and lilies and their greens, all dripping with morning dew. Me and the other young women at the magazine where I worked would pilfer sample vials of the stuff (we couldn't afford a whole bottle on our salaries) and then waft down the halls in our minimalist mid-'90s neutral pantsuits and chunky heels, leaving a trail of something familiar-- flowers and greens-- yet so new in its conceptualization. It was damn sexy in its beckoning cleanliness-- such a relief from fogging about in a cloud of Opium or Angel or Knowing all day.

I am glad those blocky-heeled loafers and flare-legged brown pantsuits are a thing of the past, but Pleasures is a classic through and through. It's soothing yet powerful, clean yet elegant, with that signature peony top and patchouli base that makes one wish an actual soap would ever smell so good. Well deserving of its 5-star rating by Luca Turin, and a permanent spot on my dresser.

Well--
Actually, in my fridge. This is one fragrance that
does "turn" rather quickly, becoming yellow and weedy-smelling, so my tip is, keep it in the box and in the fridge, and you will be rewarded with years of Pleasures!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2015 10:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

For my body chemistry, Pleasures smells incredible on me. I remember my grandmother wearing Pleasures. She was always perfectly put together and classy. That's what Pleasures represents to me. It is intensely clean floral that smells like a high-end department store fragrance. I layer different body washes and lotions for slightly different undertones to it. Pleasures is always one of my favorite smells and makes me feel clean, balanced, and well put together.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2014 12:17:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I think you need to like strong florals to like Pleasures, that said, it is a stylish scent very womanly, classy, it is white flowers dominant, a crisp clean floral scent, but it isn't screechy, or sharp..unless you overspray...it has a timeless quality to it, it isn't one I wear lots, but still, it has a distinctive quality that lots remember..nice creation.!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top