Estee Lauder Pleasures

3.5

386 reviews

53% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/20/2015 10:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

An enduring love since the '90s; a versatile, clean, and lovely everyday fragrance (and my husband's favorite). As the ad copy states, "never sweet, ever fresh, it delights your senses."

People often knock Pleasures for being minimalist, soapy, and common, but in this case I think Pleasures suffers unfairly from being lumped with lesser contenders in the category (soapy, "sheer" florals) that Pleasures itself created! Those of us who experienced this fragrance at its launch 20 years ago remember what an incredible innovation it was. The early '90s had been a continuation of the '80s trend of big, baroque, sweet florals and heavy Orientals. Calvin Klein's Eternity and Escape weremaybe the closest thing that era had in the way of "fresh" scents, but even those two could be quite bombastic and loud.

Enter Pleasures-- a sleek simple flacon of rainwater-clear juice that conveyed cleanliness with absolute, incisive clarity. Yet, being a Lauder, this wasn't just a soap or bubble-bath scent (though that effect was clearly layered into the fragrance with great intentionality): one also sensed an almost-holographic, gossamer but defined, bouquet of peonies and lilies and their greens, all dripping with morning dew. Me and the other young women at the magazine where I worked would pilfer sample vials of the stuff (we couldn't afford a whole bottle on our salaries) and then waft down the halls in our minimalist mid-'90s neutral pantsuits and chunky heels, leaving a trail of something familiar-- flowers and greens-- yet so new in its conceptualization. It was damn sexy in its beckoning cleanliness-- such a relief from fogging about in a cloud of Opium or Angel or Knowing all day.

I am glad those blocky-heeled loafers and flare-legged brown pantsuits are a thing of the past, but Pleasures is a classic through and through. It's soothing yet powerful, clean yet elegant, with that signature peony top and patchouli base that makes one wish an actual soap would ever smell so good. Well deserving of its 5-star rating by Luca Turin, and a permanent spot on my dresser.

Well--
Actually, in my fridge. This is one fragrance that
does "turn" rather quickly, becoming yellow and weedy-smelling, so my tip is, keep it in the box and in the fridge, and you will be rewarded with years of Pleasures!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.



on 1/6/2015 10:46:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

For my body chemistry, Pleasures smells incredible on me. I remember my grandmother wearing Pleasures. She was always perfectly put together and classy. That's what Pleasures represents to me. It is intensely clean floral that smells like a high-end department store fragrance. I layer different body washes and lotions for slightly different undertones to it. Pleasures is always one of my favorite smells and makes me feel clean, balanced, and well put together.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/23/2014 12:17:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I think you need to like strong florals to like Pleasures, that said, it is a stylish scent very womanly, classy, it is white flowers dominant, a crisp clean floral scent, but it isn't screechy, or sharp..unless you overspray...it has a timeless quality to it, it isn't one I wear lots, but still, it has a distinctive quality that lots remember..nice creation.!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/19/2014 3:04:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Sorry ladies but this perfume is just horrible. It is overly strong, over the top, in your face, and it was so strong that I wanted to throw up. I am very sensitive to perfume so I am very careful with the amount.


on 10/20/2014 3:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Kinky, Fine

Eyes: Black

This is how I imagine Bree Van de Kamp of Desperate Housewives smells like. Really clean, fresh, floral, green non offensive, feminine perfume. I have a friend in Kenya who wore this as her signature scent. She always smelled really good, really fresh even in high humidity & hot sticky weather. This is a good perfume for spring & summer. It has quite a high sillage so easy on the trigger finger. Just one spray on the neck that you dab around your wrists & chest is enough. This is not one of those "interesting " perfumes that are challenging to wear. This is very easy breezy, polite, not trying too hard to be cool perfume.


on 10/14/2014 2:59:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I have worn Pleasures since it first hit the market in 1995. If you're looking for a floral scent for mature(mature as in a grown woman with responsibilities and knows what she wants in life) women, recommend sampling this perfume.

Dry down is classy, crisp, feminine, well blended florals with musk sprinkled throughout. I always spray fragrance in the air, and then walk through it. Was it Estee Lauder herself who did this? Not sure. Anyway, If I spray a fragrance directly on my pulse points, it will be too strong and overbearing, or smell like chemicals. Did spray Pleasures once on the front of my body, and had to endure a chemical/plastic smell until dry down. I will stick with spraying fragrance (all fragrances) in the air, and then walking through it while it disperses in the air and gradually wafts to the floor.

As much as I adore Pleasures, no longer wear it every day. However, it will always have a place on my mirrored tabletop tray.


on 10/11/2014 11:30:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Pleasures by Estée Lauder falls in a fragrance category I like to call “washing the dishes while wearing a chastity belt.” This category actually has a positive connotation and is not associated with sterility or repressed housewives or whatever. Let me explain: I have several sweet or gourmand perfumes in my collection and once in a while it is great to wear something that scrubs all of the sticky honey, vanilla, and chocolate away. I just want to smell like I am clean, well scrubbed and ready for wholesome activities. So, of course Pleasure fits the bill with plenty of soapy white floral notes and a steely, musky base. Men should try this fragrance, especially if one enjoys the floral note in Timbuktu (Karo-Karounde) or enjoys a clean, freshly-scrubbed result.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2014 2:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was the first perfume I've ever owned--my mother bought it for me when I was about 13 and perfumes just weren't "in" for people my age. We were all using body spray because it was trendy. As high school was coming to a close my tastes changed and I enjoyed the sophisticated feeling of perfume so I whipped this rather plain looking bottle out. I used Pleasures every morning before school and then before class at college: two squirts on my neck. It seems to combine well with my natural chemistry and lasts all day.

This perfume smells VERY floral to me, mainly of jasmine-like scent. It's a little woodsy. It has wonderful memories attached to it but when I ran out I ventured to what I thought would be "younger" scents like Viva La juicy--which never worked for me.

I guess these "old lady" scents are what suit me the most, which I'm TOTALLY okay with. I just came home with a new bottle of Pleasures last night and I am in love once again. :)


on 6/19/2014 3:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Gorgeous clean soapy floral with a hint of green. I only use this In The hottest weather since that is when it goes best with my chemistry. Otherwise it can be too much of a good thing and it can feel heavy and overwhelming. I only spray this twice and it lasts all day. Estée Lauder makes quality amazing fragrances and this is one of my favorites. I'm in my mid 30s and I remember smelling this when it first came out and it still smells the same. It's not a signature perfume for me but I will always have it around.


on 4/18/2014 4:39:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Scent reviews are difficult to get an accurate experience of the product. Scent is so subjective, and so many factors (body chemistry, age, etc.) have to be taken into account. To break this fragrance down as best as possible, Pleasures is a lovely floral, with a fine balance of freshness and class. It is green, but more floral than green. I don't picture this scent on a teenager, which may be why so many low reviews fell into the "18 and under" age bracket. No, this is more mature, and would probably appeal to the 25 and up crowd... 30's and 40's, definitely. The scent has serious lasting power, which is not surprising given the quality of the brand. The packaging is simple but lovely. The price... Well, we all know that prices on perfumes leave much to be desired, but the longevity of the product makes up for the price point. I have been able to find some rather nice gift sets within the Lauder brand, which also helps to offset the price. I would recommend this perfume, but I would recommend TESTING before you set on buying it. What may be pleasurable to one may be a nightmare to another.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


Popular Fragrances


Coco Mademoiselle
1352 Reviews
Light Blue
1406 Reviews
Pink Sugar
1875 Reviews
Chloe (EDP)
335 Reviews
Back to Top